Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dissent and Debate
Purple Cow is a very tightly-written, well-paced, enjoyable and thought provoking read. While it develops the ideas introduced in the author's earlier works, Ideavirus and Permission Marketing, it is perfectly readable from scratch. And, even though I dislike Godin's unceasing rubbishing of all other approaches to marketing in defence of his own, I do recommend you read...
Published on 4 Feb 2004 by Rory Sutherland

versus
235 of 250 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Brief Essay Stretched into a Short Book
Purple Cow is probably the most overrated business book published in 2003.
Let me save you money and time. Read the summary below rather than buying and reading this book:
Marketing should begin with a differentiated product or service that gets attention (like a purple cow does among a field of brown ones). Be sure that those who care deeply about that...
Published on 4 Jun 2004 by Donald Mitchell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book could well be a Purple Cow itself!, 1 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable (Hardcover)
Another fantastic offering from Seth Godin. He is the master of marketing, explaining things in easy to understand language, using well known examples.
With practical advice and tips, you could do much worse than read this. Hugely enthusiastic on the subject - it's infectious. I couldn't stop reading it, even missed my train stop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 10 Dec 2011
Very good book with a lot of good arguments and a lot of examples. The examples are a bit US american, but make the point clear. Completely revises traditional marketing approaches and is still true, even if it was written 5 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting... A Bit Jargony, though..., 26 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Purple Cow was recommended to me by a friend who was raving about it. I didn't get into it until page 40. After that it just kinda 'took off'. This book is not necessarily for people who don't have the first idea about marketing, but it does give the entrepreneur/business person some food for thought about how to make their business 'remarkable'. And as a UK reader, some of the companies mentioned didn't do a thing for me, but I had to get past all that to get the real meaning, hence the 4 stars.

Despite all that, this book has given me some really good ideas for my own business. I had to 'think' way outside my comfort zone - mainly because Seth Godin doesn't give any advice, so I 'have to' think outside the box, excuse the cliche. He doesn't tell you what to do. There is no 7-point plan or secret to marketing success. He just tells you which marketing plan has worked and which hasn't. He talks about taking risks and not being afraid to be disliked in order to transform your business and become remarkable.

If you're serious about running your business and you want to take a different approach, seriously consider buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Seth's blog and books, this one too is not bad, but very repetitive. I got a bit bored reading it. May be I am too late to read it now, hence, the boredom. The book itself and its message are not a purple cow to me anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not backed up by a lot of facts, 10 Aug 2009
By 
Being European, the Purple Cow is for me the Milka logo.
Saying old marketing is dead, is just not right and isn't really backed up in the book. A bit dissapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable (Hardcover)
I love this book. I have studied marketing for years, but this book is a real game changer. Read it before your rivals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An easy read, 8 May 2013
A previous reviewer has summarized the book - and I had never gotten around to reading The Purple Cow previously ... although as you can tell by this review - finally I did. I liked the book! It is an easy read and even though it's 10 years after the launch of the book, I think it's still highly relevant.

Whether you run your own business or have an employer if you have an interest in marketing, this is a great little book about creating a product or service that is REMARKABLE.

I haven't given The Purple Cow 5 stars because as a UK reader, the examples are American, and don't easily translate for a UK audience - however a search engine will fill in any missing gaps - although in most of the examples getting the gist is probably enough. The ideas and concepts do translate and are very applicable in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes the less than obvious... OBVIOUS, 16 Feb 2013
A great book, based on a simple but often overlooked principle.

In some respects, a whole book isn't necessary, but the book itself was necessary to highlight the importance of being outstanding. Whether you're in business, or just wanting to do something better, this is a great read. He does many talks on the internet, like the free TED Talks, so if you watch those, you might not need this. It's still excellent though. A purple cow of a book! Seriously impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blue elefant, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have picked this book by recommendation of Derek Sivers - best selling author of "Anything you want".

Great core idea. Create extraordinary products. Do not market very good and safe products extraordinary. Very good is modern unsatisfactory. It is waste of time. I like that. That makes sense to me. Loved his CDs. Listening them for the 2nd time now. I like him reading it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. State the obvious cases but that's what you need sometimes! Nice casual writing style so easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable
Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable by Seth Godin (Hardcover - May 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews