Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


133 of 135 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Energy flows where attention goes
I have bought many different energy based books, and used different energy based techniques, with great results.

Quantum Touch taught me the importance of breath and how to move energy, and the principles of resonance and entrainment. EFT taught me how to release negative emotions within two minutes by tapping on specific energy points. Reiki taught me the...
Published on 5 Jun. 2009 by L. Power

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just not for me
This book sounded very promising, but for me it was very basic, so I sent it back. It would be good for anyone new to the subject, I thought it was over priced for what it was.. To the point....
Published 24 months ago by S. J. Black


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

133 of 135 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Energy flows where attention goes, 5 Jun. 2009
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy (Paperback)
I have bought many different energy based books, and used different energy based techniques, with great results.

Quantum Touch taught me the importance of breath and how to move energy, and the principles of resonance and entrainment. EFT taught me how to release negative emotions within two minutes by tapping on specific energy points. Reiki taught me the importance of healing touch, and using Universal Life Force energy effortlessly.

Matrix Energetics taught me the importance of intention, and active imagination. I could go on, Qigong, Reiki, Touch of healing, Yoga, Tibetans, Huna..

Here we have a visually stunning book, with great diagrams throughout. It offers a complete energy system overview, and numerous diagrams, and chapters on anatomy, and the different medical systems. It's important to understand how energy correleates with anatomy, and this book does a great job of that.

It gives an overview of different practices. I particularly liked reading about shiatsu, which was discovered by a 7 year old Japanese boy who healed his mother of rheumatism, and I loved the explanation and diagrams of Reflexology. In addition, the description of chakras and how they work, and what each one means is displayed in a very easy to assimilate format. Visually compelling.

You can also learn about Reiki, Qigong, and many others.

In educating us on many different practices within one volume, we get the big picture, and so it is not a specialist book. For example, you will learn what EFT is but not the tapping routine. If you're like me, there are a couple of places where you might like more detail. If it had a bit more detail such as the tapping routine, I would definitely give it five stars.

If you wish to explore energy medicine more, I recommend:

The Energy Medicine Kit by Donna Eden, which shows energy testing being demonstrated, energy zipups and more advanced techniques, including a five minute daily routine to boost your energy.

Quantum-Touch: The Power to Heal (Third Edition) by Richard Gordon.

Life Energy: Using the Meridians to Unlock the Hidden Power of Your Emotions by John Diamond MD, one of the best books I have read on energy medicine, and a complete manual.

The Touch of Healing: Energizing the Body, Mind, and Spirit With Jin Shin Jyutsu by Alice Burmeister. It's Jin Shin Jitsu, a complete system, very easy to learn and use.

The EFT Manual (EFT: Emotional Freedom Techniques)by Gary Craig is a simple tapping process useful for letting go of troubling emotions. Imagine easily letting go of issues such as anger, anxiety, fear, forgiveness, stress, procrastination, traumas. [...], and buy various books on Amazon.

I hope you find this review helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice., 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy (Paperback)
This is a nice book and very well produced. Why only 4 stars, because this like most books saying anything concerning the chakras makes one fatal error, which by the way would make all tantric practice useless or impossible.....and that is.....the chakras are NOT, let me repeat NOT NOT NOT forward facing, they are at RIGHT ANGLES to the upright human body & the nadis branch out horizontally from them, and the petals of the lotus represent the major nadis branching from said chakra, so, turn them 180 degrees and one has a truer representation.....this is an important fact to be remembered....otherwise, an excellent book.

Imagine a vertical pole, and at various junctures a group of channels group together and brach outwards horizontally, these junctures are the chakras through which thoughts and pranas (as in Tantra/Vajrayana thoughts & prana flow together & are never separate) or lung, chi, ki and so forth flow to the rest of the body, these chakras are sometimes called "knots" in these east, and these knots shorten ones life span when negative thoughts/prana or energies flow through them, one does NOT awaken the chakras anymore than a gland in ones body, they need loosening so prana is free flowing and of a positive nature, this has been how the chakras have always been understood in both Hindu & Buddhist Tantra.....all this vortex of energy flowing outwards is a load of new age nonsense, sorry folks, but thats the way it is, all started by the silly theosophists......(and to update) as one commentator to this review said..."...heart chakra moved to the right(when looking at diagrams)...", well, this is just another ridiculous erroneous misunderstanding...

Update 16 June 2014. I would still recommend this book as a GENERAL introduction to the subtle body and its various traditions around the world as long as the caveats mentioned above are born in mind. Hopefully in the next edition the author will update the info and drop the daft forward facing presentation of the Chakras which is totally erroneous, believe me when I say this is extremely important because you can really mess yourself up if using the western model of forward facing Chakras plus it just makes no sense considering the Nadis.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just not for me, 31 May 2013
By 
S. J. Black (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book sounded very promising, but for me it was very basic, so I sent it back. It would be good for anyone new to the subject, I thought it was over priced for what it was.. To the point....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great energy reference book, 8 Dec. 2011
By 
Joanne Mattin "Cherry Blossom" (Herts,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy (Paperback)
I purchased this book after reading the other reviews, can't say I'm disappointed. It is really fascinating and useful. The meridians are particularly useful, nice to see clear coloured pictures and relating emotions. My clients really like it as well. My therapist friends have ordered themselves a copy so as you can see I would have no hesitation in recommending this book. If you are like me and like to look for patterns or work with Reiki energy then you will find this a useful reference book. I really like the overall view of the different cultures relating to energy, often we have this knowledge scattered amongst a few books on the shelf but it makes life much easier for quick referencing. I have also found the part and the picture of teeth extremely useful in gaining insight to blockages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The book is nice. It gathered a lot of information into a ..., 21 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy (Paperback)
The book is nice. It gathered a lot of information into a single place. It's a good starting point...but only as a starting point.
The problems with this book:
- Things are not very well organized. Same subject is split among several chapters while other several subjects are crammed into a small chapter (it needs a serious reorganizing)
- Illustrations even if they are nice they are sometimes inaccurate (Oh! The Chinese Qi Meridians are simply a mess)
- On aspects I have more knowledge I discovered severe inadvertence (example: using Volts instead of Ohms to measure resistance of the skin, etc)
- Sometimes it's a non stop sequence of small ideas extracted from other sources...without entering into details....making it hard to follow.

All in one - it's decent book to simple broaden your view but nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Only Book You Will Ever Need, 11 Oct. 2013
By 
Angela M. Simpkiss (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The subtle Body gives a good, clear overview of the energetic systems in the body, written in an easy to read style. There is excellent coverage about all sorts of Energetic Theories down to the Quantum Level. Cyndi Dale discusses in detail: The chakras, meridians, nadis, kundalini and all aspects of Energy Practices for example; reiki, reflexology, acupuncture, colour healing, reflexology just to name a few. This book is extraordinary in its approach to Energetic Anatomy and written in such an easy to understand style. The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy by Dale, Cyndi (2009)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars subtle body, 10 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy (Paperback)
The subtle Body gives a good, clear overview of the energetic systems in the body, written in an easy to read style. It covers on a basic level, all the steps/stages of the systems and chakras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read and reference, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book covering all sorts of Energetic Theories down to the Quantum Level Recomend this on the Kindle Fire HD with its colour graphics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, easy to read book for beginners but also for those only specific knowledgable in one subject to see connections, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy (Paperback)
Although I did not yet read the book completely, its a simple, easy to read book which connects different approaches and philosophies with regard to human healing. The book has a lot colourful illustrations and has a nice type setting.

I rate it 4 because it lacks certain interesting in-dept and background information though this would be difficult to supply without doubling or tripling the content. The part of quantum physics is a standard mainstream text which could have incorporated more daring theories like that of Milo Wolff (space resonance). This theory is controversial but that goes for more in the book and it defines everything as a standing wave pattern solving many issues around "is it a partikel or a wave?". Another addum could be the discovery of professor Bong Han Kim about the primo vascular system (PVS) in 1961 and is confirmed to exist only a few years ago in 2010 by professor Kawang-Sub So. A book is for sale here but alas very expensive. The PVS is a system like the blood vessels and lymphatic system. Because it was only recently confirmed to exist very little is known about it and less research has been done. Bong Han Kim however found already out that this system nearly coincides with the meridians as we know from Tradition Chinese Medicine (TCM).

But anyway, I myself busy with energetic healing and TCM would recommend the book for background reading to all physical healing methods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THANK YOU!, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy (Paperback)
EXCELLENT BOOK! Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy
The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy by Cyndi Dale (Paperback - 1 Mar. 2009)
£36.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews