Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anti-Metal Machine Music
This album has one thing in common with Metal Machine Music: there are four instrumental tracks. There the similarities end. Metal Machine Music was the result of two hours of harsh feedback sped up to twice the speed to garner the final effect. It was also deceptively promoted as a Rock N' Roll Animal type product, which led many purchasers at the time to be disappointed...
Published on 24 Aug 2008 by Charles Miller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hey man what's happenin'
The disk arrived very well packaged and with no damage to the cd spindle, which is a common problem I've found when ordering cd's online. The music is very Ambient and I'm going to have to sit down in a darkened room to really get into it. Probably wasn't a good idea to buy this along with Lulu! Very heavy metal! Anyway for late evening playing this should be good. I...
Published 5 months ago by Gerald


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anti-Metal Machine Music, 24 Aug 2008
By 
Charles Miller "objective clarity" (Baltimore, Maryland U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hudson River Wind Meditations (Audio CD)
This album has one thing in common with Metal Machine Music: there are four instrumental tracks. There the similarities end. Metal Machine Music was the result of two hours of harsh feedback sped up to twice the speed to garner the final effect. It was also deceptively promoted as a Rock N' Roll Animal type product, which led many purchasers at the time to be disappointed with what they got (and the album was pulled off the shelves after three weeks). Of course now, in hindsight, Metal Machine Music was a brilliant study in "noise" music and has been reissued many times for a more appreciative audience.

Hudson River Wind Meditations was originally written by Lou Reed for himself to accompany his Tai Chi and meditative practices. Since so many friends asked him to burn copies of it for them, Mr. Reed apparently decided that it might have some commercial success if released to the general market.

If one takes it for what it is, music for meditation, there will be no disappointments. But remember, like Metal Machine Music, this is not the Rock N' Roll Animal. In fact, there really are no true rock tunes here, but rather, repetitive melodies that slowly change, but never evolve from their original intent. If one were to hear this without knowing who wrote it, Brian Eno or other champions of the "ambient" genre might come to mind, but while similar, this is not quite from that school of thought. Indeed, it is what it is... what a meditative, instrumental album would sound like if it were written by Lou Reed.

One is immediately impressed with the amount of bass response there is (especially on the first track). In fact, it will be a true test of your speaker system. Do not crank up the volume before you push the play button as it could blow out your woofers. And this album grows on you. I like it more each time I play it. On my first listening, I would have given it 3 stars, but now, it is definately ranks at least 4 stars. Perhaps after many more hearings, even 5 stars would not be out of the question.

Basically, of the four tracks, the first two are the meat of the matter in that they are approximately 1/2 hour each. After being lulled into the soundscape created by the first track, one is almost disappointed or jarred when it ends and the second begins. This isn't to say that the second track is not as good as the first, as it too leaves one wanting more when it ends. Surprisingly, the very short third track is the only "loud" piece on the entire album, and a little out of place here as it does not seem to belong to the "meditative" experience the album as a whole generates. Finally, the fourth relatively short track seems to be a reprise of all that has gone before.

This is certainly to be recommended to any fan of the "ambient" genre, those interested in an alternative to the usual sappy meditation discs out there, and to any Lou Reed completist. But if you're looking for the Rock N' Roll Animal, don't buy this because there's no toe-tapping music here. All that said, I would heartily recommend this latest outing from Mr. Reed to anyone who understands they are not getting a rock and roll follow-up to any album that has gone before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relax, It's Lou Reed, 27 Jun 2007
By 
Art rocker 'Lou Reed' has taken time out from making rock'n'roll records and has produced an album that's a guaranteed stress-reliever for anyone who needs some valuable time to re-energise the body and soothe the mind.

On 'Hudson River Wind Meditations' Reed invites the listener on a relaxing journey to what he defines as the "hidden territory of the inner landscape."

After 20 minutes of listening to the album, you'll suddenly begin to feel your body and mind gradually fall into a state of total relaxation.

'Hudson River Wind Meditations' shows the former Velvet Underground front man presenting his first meditation album created specifically for quiet contemplation. The album is perfect for anyone who has an interest in meditation, bodywork and T'ai Chi.

A practitioner of T'ai Chi for many years, Reed brings his unique sensitivity and knowledge of a broad spectrum of music genres, and provides a tranquil blend of soothing harmonics for the heart and mind. The sound pieces on the hypnotic album relieves tension and negative energy with sparse instrumentation and subtle waves of electronic sound.

Don't be fooled by when people say 'Wind Meditations' is a follow-up to

'Metal Machine Music'. It's not. As Lou points out on the CD's liner notes, "This is music to play in the background of life - to replace the everyday cacophony of life with new and ordered sounds of an unpredictable nature."

This ain't rock'n'roll, this is meditation music for the body, spirit and mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lou at peace? nah, rock and roll's in his blood. Outstanding effort., 24 Jun 2007
Technically, and ONLY technically speaking, this is ambient/yoga/meditation music. The end.

But hardly a stretch for the mercurial Reed. The obvious comparisons in contemporary music criticism these days is Hudson River is a Metal Machine Music Part 2. And of course, they are right. Guitar feedback, synth loops, atmosphere, and I truly believe these are conjurings, of a new age (new age, get it? one of the VU's best songs) of Lou's Hudson River and Lou's NYC.

But this is a quiet, arty affair. And Reed, the quinessential schizo simultaneous fish-out-of-water/fish-in-the-water artist explores ambient soundscapes in 4 tracks. Supposedly "new" for him but to lifelong fans, it's not out of the ordinary and quite special. No vocals. The first two are long and hypnotic and very different. One is spooky guitar feedback executed in a quiet and original way, and the other a very demented heartbeat drone. 3rd and 4th songs are shorter: the 3rd begins to synthesize the two stunning long tracks before giving into a totally awesome approximation of the wind beating hard and wild and fast upon the Hudson. Track 3 is startling.

The last song, song 4, is the total synthesis of the sensitive, quiet guitar feedback and that demented heart beating together and way too short.

Typical lovable Lou: Drown them in brilliant noise/sound then make a move like you are going to reach peak and resolve--but back off.

If you can't live with his attitude, too bad, he's a punk rocker at heart and always was. We don't even know (but we can guess) what two or three intruments comprise this wonderful CD and he doesn't tell us.

To be honest I cannot meditate, do yoga, space out to this. I tried to fall asleep to this after a stressful day but I could not. But I listen from begining to end while paying bills, doing laundry, etc. It's not your typical background noise record, but it's a Lou Reed album all the same: you pay attention. The titles of the 4 songs are purposefully awful and not worth repeating.

The beauty of Lou Reed's art is he seems to despise selling it and keeps a chip on his shoulder. That chip comes off in his actual work. Lou Reed is a truly singular and great American artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hey man what's happenin', 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hudson River Wind Meditations (Audio CD)
The disk arrived very well packaged and with no damage to the cd spindle, which is a common problem I've found when ordering cd's online. The music is very Ambient and I'm going to have to sit down in a darkened room to really get into it. Probably wasn't a good idea to buy this along with Lulu! Very heavy metal! Anyway for late evening playing this should be good. I might even take up Tia Chi?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars relaxing music, 3 Jan 2014
By 
tankosl (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hudson River Wind Meditations (Audio CD)
It's a well produced album, and certainly shows Lou's experience around a studio.
The reason I only gave this a three was just that I didn't expect quite so much meditation music (I know, the clues in the title.....).

I was hoping to use this to practice my tai chi, but I think it probably doesn't suit my type of training..........

If you're looking for a great background album, this could well be just what you need......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lou reed hudson river wind meditations, 8 Mar 2013
This review is from: Hudson River Wind Meditations (Audio CD)
this album does not quite deliver on the promise of relaxation and togetherness that it aspires to though perhaps it needs multiple listens lou reed hudson river wind meditations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Come on!, 17 Aug 2011
By 
C. Owen (Stockport, Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hudson River Wind Meditations (Audio CD)
In my opinion this production is completely unworthy of its author. At least Metal Machine Music, by the uncompromisingly impersonal screechiness of it, and by the timing of its release within Reed's output, made a statement. The only parallel, as far as I can see, is that this release likewise challenges people to find something in it to talk about. You can find things to say about a uniformly grey expanse of concrete wall, if you sit in front of it for long enough, so maybe there is a genuine meditative exercise to be had from this after all! Seriously though, it really is quite remarkably poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What Utter Boredom, 2 Feb 2009
By 
Ward-Minter (British Virgin Islands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hudson River Wind Meditations (Audio CD)
What utter, utter boredom. This album could have been composed by any arty-farty student with very basic PC skills. It really isn't worthy of even one star.

Where people get off stating this CD is good perhaps says more about them than it does the music. And I say 'music' in its absolute definition. It is little more than just a warbling cheap synthesiser. There is no tune, no melodies and certainly no meaning.

I would avoid at all costs unless, comme moi, you are a completist of Lou Reed.

This CD sits along Metal Machine Music in the firmly "Never to be played again" category.

And due to the nature of the "meaning" behind the album I shouldn't receive any 'not helpful' ticks because all that bad karma will come and bite you on the bum. Those who enjoy this album are no doubt woolly liberalists so up their own backsides to appreciate any decent music they wouldn't know "Transformer" or "New York" if it slapped them in the face with with a wet haddock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hudson River Wind Meditations
Hudson River Wind Meditations by Lou Reed (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews