Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK on a insightful subject!
THIS IS AN EXCELLENT BOOK!. I COULDN'T LET THE LAST REVIEWER'S UNINFORMED "RANT" GO UNCHALLENGED - even though I've never written a review before! I've been studying psychology for over 30 years and I can tell you that the modern Enneagram of personality really does offer many profound insights into human personality and the way our minds works. It has not been invented...
Published on 14 Sep 2006 by P. Brett

versus
6 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible misinformation
The Enneagram was introduced by Gurdjieff. It is a diagram of two cosmic laws more akin to Einsteins cosmology than to this horrorscope. It does not have anything to do with body types or personality types. If you study this, you are not studying some ancient psychology, you are studying a California error that was introduced by a fake self-made teacher called Claudio...
Published on 3 Feb 2004 by Peter Klok


Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK on a insightful subject!, 14 Sep 2006
By 
P. Brett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
THIS IS AN EXCELLENT BOOK!. I COULDN'T LET THE LAST REVIEWER'S UNINFORMED "RANT" GO UNCHALLENGED - even though I've never written a review before! I've been studying psychology for over 30 years and I can tell you that the modern Enneagram of personality really does offer many profound insights into human personality and the way our minds works. It has not been invented by self-styled Californian guru's as the last reviewer states but is studied and taught by respected psychiatrists, academics and lay therapists of very high reputation and by educated atheists, agnostics, Christians, Buddhists, Jews, Moslems and many others including those who have dedicated their lives to helping others or to following a specific spiritual path whether religious or not. (A recent British book on the subject - although it was nowhere near as good and this one by Helen Palmer - had an introduction by no less than the Archbishop of Canterbury - who, as far as I know, is NOT an Californian guru! And as far as I know his job depends on him NOT being unduly influenced by them either!).

The last reviewer obviously has an axe to grind and seems to hanker after the Gurdjieff-style version of the Enneagram symbol with its "mysteries" and explanations that really have little to do with psychology and which come across as weird and pseudo-scientific - definitely NOT a "true science" and NOT a scientific Cosmology like Einstein's as he claims.

In a nutshell, by the last reviewer (like many other "literal" followers of Gurdjieff) has badly missed the real point, significance and value of the Enneagram as a representation or map of personality types by treating the symbol almost magically and loading it with a "Cosmology" and other unwarranted "significances".

Anyway, let's leave the previous reviewer believing his / her own version and missing the point and get back to this book and the modern Enneagram of Personality of which Helen Palmer is a leading teacher. As a psychological typing system (there are many)it has interesting and profound things to say about real people's lives (both us "ordinary" people and people who have and are shaping the world's history and politics). It can help us understand not only ourselves and those close to us (and therefore be more tolerant) but it can also inform our appreciation of art, literature and the lives of artists, writers and politicians who's decisions and personalities influence the world. Helen Palmer's book alone will not do all that for you - you will have to read more widely (e.g. try the work of Thomas Condon, Michael Goldberg, David Daniels, Judith Searle and Claudio Naranjo for instance) but the Enneagram personality typing system is a respected, thoughtful and insightful method of understanding many (but of course not all) aspects of the human mind and the human condition as they influence our lives and decisions.

What Helen Palmer's book will do, on a personal level, is help anyone who is reflective and thoughtful and wants to know themselves better. It can help us grow both spiritually and psychologically by allowing us to be more honest with ourselves. It can help us effectively to identify some of our unexamined habit patterns, strengths and weaknesses.

I recommend this book wholehearted to all thoughtful and unbiased people - whether they be scientists, artists, business people or students of humanity with degrees in the university of life. This is an astute and excellent book. I too will return to it many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clearly explained, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having recently been introduced to Enneagrams on a course I was recommended this author.
I have found the book helpful in learning more about the subject as it is written in a clear style . There is obviously more to learn but this gives a very good over view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for a friend as an introduction to the enneagram. She found it very useful. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting take on psychology of people., 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Will study this and learn more as I go along. Needs to be read at a slower pace in order to take everything in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acute observation of the dynamics of the 9 types, 18 Nov 2006
By 
B. Ahern (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As an experieced enneagram teacher, I refer to this book frequently and am always stuck by the acuteness of the observations. An essential foundation book for serious students of the material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an invaluable resource to go back to again and again, 8 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Ms Palmer's descriptions of the types are drawn from collecting and analysing large amounts of data about what people of each type say about themselves. Straight from the horse's mouth, as it were.
I highly recommend it to dip into whenever you want to refresh or widen your understanding of the different types.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good book on this subject., 19 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. D. Greig Smith (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a collector of Enneagram literature,(all of which have different insights to offer), this is a good companion for your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life changing revelations!, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book and the whole Enneagram theory has 'blown me away' and changed my perception of myself and those around me fundamentally!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the Enneagram, 15 Oct 2011
By 
M. C. Webb - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Service was excellent books were despatched promptly and received in first class condition. As these books were intended for presents it was vital they were received in the condition they were despatched
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible misinformation, 3 Feb 2004
By 
Peter Klok "Hamleth" (Farum, Frederiksborg Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Enneagram was introduced by Gurdjieff. It is a diagram of two cosmic laws more akin to Einsteins cosmology than to this horrorscope. It does not have anything to do with body types or personality types. If you study this, you are not studying some ancient psychology, you are studying a California error that was introduced by a fake self-made teacher called Claudio Narranjo hanging out at Esalen back in the seventies. No matter how much it seems to fit, it is not the true science of the Enneagram. No matter how many books are sold about this hoax, it is not what the Enneagram is about. No one who studies this garbage takes the trouble to find out where the Enneagram comes from, or they believe it when they are told it is a sufi diagram. But it was completely unknown and there are no references to it anywhere previous to Ouspensky's publication of it. It was not discovered by Oscar 'the psycho' Ichazo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Enneagram
The Enneagram by Helen Palmer (Audio CD - 30 April 2005)
£36.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews