Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


197 of 197 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really helpful book
I ordered this book for my 6 yr old who was battling with huge anxiety related to going to school. The book arrived on a Saturday and we worked through it that afternoon. She absolutely loved reading it and wouldn't stop when I thought she had taken enough for one sitting! It is very interactive and was so helpful in getting her to tell me more of her worries. I think she...
Published on 15 Dec 2006 by Kari L

versus
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worked for a while
Read first few chapters of book with 12 y.o. daughter. She was very impressed and finished the book herself. She spoke to me about how she was putting fears in box for future discussion.

She has since reverted to her old ways of being constantly afraid to be by herself. Has to physically stand beside us at times.

Tried reading book again but seems...
Published on 24 Nov 2009 by J. Walshe


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

197 of 197 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really helpful book, 15 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: What to Do When You Worry Too Much: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Anxiety (What to Do Guides for Kids) (Paperback)
I ordered this book for my 6 yr old who was battling with huge anxiety related to going to school. The book arrived on a Saturday and we worked through it that afternoon. She absolutely loved reading it and wouldn't stop when I thought she had taken enough for one sitting! It is very interactive and was so helpful in getting her to tell me more of her worries. I think she felt the book was written with only her in mind yet she was also relieved to find that there must be others worrying in a similar way! It gave me really helpful tangible things that I could try with her when previously I had been a bit lost. A month later I cant say all her worries are gone but we are managing it in a far more positive, constructive way I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


146 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing impact on little worriers (and big ones too), 1 Feb 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Do When You Worry Too Much: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Anxiety (What to Do Guides for Kids) (Paperback)
The impact of this book on our son's excessive worrying has been amazing. He is 8 and worries himself into a state several times a day about aliens, monsters, meteors, bacteria, repeating nightmares... He read through the book in two sittings, and what a difference it has made. While still a worry-wart he is far more in control and much readier to accept the rational explanations and coping strategies we suggest. He can keep a lid on things until we get home and is beginning to come up with his own coping systems. Very highly recommended indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book, 11 April 2008
By 
J. Craig "Bart" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What to Do When You Worry Too Much: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Anxiety (What to Do Guides for Kids) (Paperback)
I was surprised that this book was so effective. It has changed my worries so now I am very happy so please I highly recommend that you buy this book I've tried it and I know it works Bart aged 9
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


264 of 280 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book changed my child's life, 21 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: What to Do When You Worry Too Much: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Anxiety (What to Do Guides for Kids) (Paperback)
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. Having an 11 year old boy who suffered from anxiety was taking its toll both at home and at school. The school and I had tried and failed to allay his fears with kindness, understanding, time and concern; to no avail. Whilst waiting for an appointment with the local child development clinic, I decided to search for help from a book. This book is written for the child. It uses words that they can identify with and it tackles the problems of irrational fear and anxiety immediately. It works. Quite simply, within a week I had a different child. This book is unique, it is easy to follow and gives the child and the carer a clear path to follow each day. It 'confines' the fears to a set pattern and finally removed the fears entirely. My son has asked me to cancel the appointment with the clinic as he says that he can't remember what it was that he was feeling at the time! I will take him anyway, and I will take the book with me to share its success with them too. Buy it, it works; I have given the school a copy and already there are 5 other 9 to 12 year old boys who are reaping the benefits as I write this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What to do when you worry too much, 5 Oct 2008
By 
R. Teanby "Rachel" (Jo'burg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What to Do When You Worry Too Much: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Anxiety (What to Do Guides for Kids) (Paperback)
This is the first review I have ever written but this book is so fantastic I felt I wanted to share my thoughts with everyone. This easy to read, fun book has really changed my 8 year old sons outlook on his constant anxieties, and indeed changed his life. The author really understands what is in a worriers head and body. As my son kept saying -'this lady is a mind reader' 'how is it that she knows exactly how I feel?' The authors ability to relate to anxious children gives them the confidence to believe in the solutions she suggests. I am just about to buy my second copy to give to the school and just about to search for other books she has written. Thank you from Daniel in South Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Sep 2009
By 
H. Turnbull (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What to Do When You Worry Too Much: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Anxiety (What to Do Guides for Kids) (Paperback)
I bought this book after reading a few reviews and have found it brilliant. Our 10 year old daughter has struggled with her worries for years, we thought talking about her worries and telling her that she shouldn't worry was the best things to do, actually it seems we made it worse! 2 days after reading the book our daughter is a different person! It is a work in progress but amazing how it works when you know what to do and say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What when You worry much, 16 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: What to Do When You Worry Too Much: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Anxiety (What to Do Guides for Kids) (Paperback)
I was amazed to find the book not just helped my son but my self as well,and now feel he worrys the way he does because i do too.So glad i got the book so can now show him were to more on to.The book has pages for your child to fill in,with what there monsters look like to them and how they make them feel and what part of the body hurts them when they are worried. Also techniques on how to cope when the worring is too much and how to stop them from saying im really worried all the time .My Son has now made new friends in the school holidays so thats helping no end.And i feel better to cope with the worry he has now that we have dedicated worry time ,this book really does help i only wish i had it right from the start as no one really knows why kids worry or adults come to think of it,so any help its better then great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillaintly effective book., 11 Jan 2009
By 
Mrs. L. Bellingham (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What to Do When You Worry Too Much: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Anxiety (What to Do Guides for Kids) (Paperback)
I am a professional working in behaviour management in schools. Working through this book with a 12 year old lad recently has completely transformed his worries in and helping him to overcome his many anxieties about coming to school and he is now a much happier settled child. I will definitely buy more for my department and use on other anxiety cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a winner, 4 Jun 2008
By 
G. Cohen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What to Do When You Worry Too Much: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Anxiety (What to Do Guides for Kids) (Paperback)
this is the first time i have felt compelled to write a review but I feel I must let people know how fantastic this book is. If you have a child who suffers with anxiety you will know how difficult it is to help and reassure them. This book is written directly for the child in ways that makes them realise they are not alone. It has pages for them to write and draw and is also funny. I could hardly get my daughter to put it down. While i am not saying it has cured my daughter it has certainly gone a long way to helping her cope with her fears. Try it I am sure you will not be dissappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what to do when you worry too much, 30 Mar 2008
By 
R. G. Kissell (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What to Do When You Worry Too Much: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Anxiety (What to Do Guides for Kids) (Paperback)
I have an 8 year old son who consistantly worried about anything and everything. I was at a loss as to how to help him. This book changed everything. We read it together and it helped us understand that by talking about the worries all the time we were actually making them worse. The book recommends 'worry time' which is a set time each day to discuss any worries for that day, it was also a chance to talk about the 'worry'logically. As I was reading this book with my son it felt like it was written for him it has enabled him to control his worries and in particular walk into school (which was often what the worries were about)more reassured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews