Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful value for money
This book explores many different subject areas and presents evidence and information in a very easy to understand manner. While the different chapters explore many different areas, such as the pryamids, stonehenge etc., they all begin to link together. The reader cannot help but begin to look at life a little differently. Because of the way it has been written it...
Published on 20 Oct 2009 by Ms. S. M. Mosses

versus
31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but...
I approached this book with a very open mind and did find myself questioning a lot of accepted facts about our history. The chapters on Egyptian engineering and on human evolution from hunter gatherer to farmer are exceptionally good and thought provoking.
However, this is not a coherent book so much as a collection of articles from "Atlantis Rising" magazine, and as...
Published on 13 Jan 2011 by P. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful value for money, 20 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. S. M. Mosses "sandrea mosses" (wolverhampton, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forbidden History: Extraterrestrial Intervention, Prehistoric Technologies, and the Suppressed Origins of Civilization (Paperback)
This book explores many different subject areas and presents evidence and information in a very easy to understand manner. While the different chapters explore many different areas, such as the pryamids, stonehenge etc., they all begin to link together. The reader cannot help but begin to look at life a little differently. Because of the way it has been written it allows the reader to be able to put it down for a little while and then pick it back up, without losing the thread of the book. It informs you, enlightens you and most certianly gets you thinking about the truth regarding our past history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but..., 13 Jan 2011
By 
P. Brown "Book Hoard" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forbidden History: Extraterrestrial Intervention, Prehistoric Technologies, and the Suppressed Origins of Civilization (Paperback)
I approached this book with a very open mind and did find myself questioning a lot of accepted facts about our history. The chapters on Egyptian engineering and on human evolution from hunter gatherer to farmer are exceptionally good and thought provoking.
However, this is not a coherent book so much as a collection of articles from "Atlantis Rising" magazine, and as such it is very disjointed and often repetative. Some "chapters" are little more than interviews with individuals who have a book to sell and who only talk in vague terms about what their book is about.
The main reason why I only gave this book three stars is because it could have been so much better. Some of the chapters talk about extremely interesting subjects ( such as the Olmec stone heads ) and ask very interesting questions ( why do they depict African faces, how were they carved and moved etc ) which it then fails to answer. When an answer is provided, it almost inevitably is ridiculous in the extreme ( eg: music was used to levitate them, or space men did it and ran away- I am not joking, these are put forward as genuine theories ). I am open to the idea that maybe mankind did have help to jump from caveman to the bronze age, maybe there was a civilisation before accepted history began, maybe the Egyptians did have advancing cutting technology to achieve the amazing cuts and right angles visable today. However, this book asks many questions but provides very few plausable theories to answer them. It all too often makes huge jumps of faith which I found very lazy and academically shallow. For me, the book was worth the cover price for the two or three good chapters in it which are well written and thought provoking, but the authors need to get away from the conclusion that anything they cant explain must have come from Atlantis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A window into a fascinating area, 26 July 2007
By 
Keen2learn (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Forbidden History: Extraterrestrial Intervention, Prehistoric Technologies, and the Suppressed Origins of Civilization (Paperback)
Having decided to explore the area of ancient mysteries and the origins of humanity I decided that this book would be the ideal way in. Gladly, this is the case. The collection of short essays on different but related topics provides a superb overview of many of the thoughts in this area. Consequently, as an introduction to further reading it is ideal but should not be underrated as a great stand alone read. I was (surprisingly) impressed with the rigour applied in each essay - the writers in each case being keenly aware of the need to present opinion in the context of evidence and reasoning. Very compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Eye-Opener, 5 July 2009
By 
L. Frost (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forbidden History: Extraterrestrial Intervention, Prehistoric Technologies, and the Suppressed Origins of Civilization (Paperback)
I have found this book to be an amazing journey into the depths of ancient roots to our civilisation. Amongst other discoveries I was intriqued by the information about the pyramids of Giza,the connections between ancient wisdom and modern science, and while looking around the world through the eyes of the contributors, I was also introduced to many of the great names in this field. This book opened the door for me.
I fully recommend it to those who are looking for answers and are not happy with the widely accepted establishment views about our history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Compilation, 25 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden History: Extraterrestrial Intervention, Prehistoric Technologies, and the Suppressed Origins of Civilization (Paperback)
The thing I liked about this book was the way the material (from the magazine "Atlantis Rising") is presented in bite-sized chunks - the reader can dip in and out of it and does not need to read it cover-to-cover in A to Z order. The aspects covered would be familiar to the student of the "ancient mysteries" genre but at the same time, the book would make a useful introduction to anyone new to the subject wishing to "dip their toe into the water".

Editor J.Douglas Kenyon has put together 42 highly readable chapters written by a diverse range of contributors, and whether your sphere of interest is Ancient Civilisations, The Pyramids, The Flood, Extraterrestrial Visitors, and so on, there is sure to be something here to grab your attention.

The book is well illustrated and easily digested - each chapter/article is usually no more than 7 or 8 pages long. I particularly enjoyed the Pyramid contributions of Christopher Dunn, having read and enjoyed his book "Giza Power Plant". If you're familiar with the work of people like John Anthony West, Robert Schoch, Graham Hancock, and their contemporaries, you will enjoy a browse through "Forbidden History".

The common thread is - there is a growing body of modern opinion which calls into question the orthodox views of "Establishment Science" and puts forward some compelling evidence to back up its case.

Whether you're an "old hand" or a "new recruit" this book is a must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 10 Jan 2008
This review is from: Forbidden History: Extraterrestrial Intervention, Prehistoric Technologies, and the Suppressed Origins of Civilization (Paperback)
I loved this book. It has short essays by most of the big names in this genre and I found it extremely informative. Plenty of further reading to be had here. I saw it as a gateway to a whole new field of authors and their opinions on how civilisation started, through to how the Pyramids are actually a power station!

If you like short, thought provoking stories you'll love it, if you like different views on how civilisation started and what the meaning of life is you love it too.

Hope this helps - I lent it to a friend and......she loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sense of the Unacceptable, 25 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Forbidden History: Extraterrestrial Intervention, Prehistoric Technologies, and the Suppressed Origins of Civilization (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book and, while my knowledge limits me with respect to making informed detailed comment, I do think that the book raises some interesting points. Continuity of myth across many differing centres of civilisation does give rise to the probability of it having elements of related factual content, truth. The realities existing around the engineering involved in the construction of the Great Pyramid and other products of early civilisation does give rise to genuine expectation that highly advanced states of knowledge and engineering capability existed that are not compatible with the relatively primitive tools so far discovered from periods of early civilisation. There is a great deal that is not known and a high degree of hubris associated with modern man's perception with his current understanding of truth, science and existence. The last chapter of the book is an interesting take on understanding and the potential weaknesses associated with modern analytical thinking.
Basically the book poses some interesting possibilities worthy of some serious thought and scientific investigation, some of which is ongoing. It touches on the inertia inherent in current schools of thought as a result of the human tendency to refute ideas that conflict with the status quo and it does so from a fairly sound basis of enquiry. Well worth a read and it gives some good sources for further information and enquiry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden History: Extraterrestrial Intervention, Prehistoric Technologies, and the Suppressed Origins of Civilization (Paperback)
great book! very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book, a real eye openner, recommend to every one who wants to find the truth of past happenings, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough research by several authors., 28 Oct 2011
By 
Faux Creations "Martin Riding" (Radford, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden History: Extraterrestrial Intervention, Prehistoric Technologies, and the Suppressed Origins of Civilization (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book a lot as it reviews the areas that most archaeologists do not want to even look at because it does not 'fit' their preconceived notions. He thinks outside the box and knows the subject well. Well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews