Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an extraordinary book, 1 April 2007
By 
S. Egan (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Secret Teachings of Plants: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception to Nature: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception of Nature (Paperback)
this is an incredibly full book about a lost art - direct communication with nature.

in section one buhner looks at the scientific documentation of the neural activity of the heart and the non-linear aspects of nature. in section two he takes a more poetic and practical approach to opening your perception of nature using the heart.

an incredibly liberating book - the exercises are wonderful and can have extraordinary effects in reopening you to the world we live in.

a rich, dense experience of a book written from lived experience that repays a long slow relationship with it.

highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, 16 Mar 2010
By 
Peter Burbery (manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Secret Teachings of Plants: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception to Nature: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception of Nature (Paperback)
This book is extraordinary. It is a magical mix of science, poetry and practical exercises. The first part is quite science heavy, but how else can you satisfy the left brain. The second half tells you how you can communicate with nature using you heart. This lost art should be taught in schools. Read the book and try the exercises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful revolutionary, 25 Dec 2009
By 
Angelo De Feo "massimo df" (roma italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Secret Teachings of Plants: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception to Nature: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception of Nature (Paperback)
An incredible book, really revolutionary, Stephen Harrod Buhner give back to the heart his role of primary brain and sensory organ of perception, and shows clearly how plants are intelligent and conscious beings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all lovers of life should read this book, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Teachings of Plants: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception to Nature: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception of Nature (Paperback)
This book is probably the best explanation of how we function, how we are 'wired' and our place in the fabric of life that i have ever read. It is enjoyable, inspiring and illuminating and i will, no doubt, read it again and again. An awesome read - enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gathering knowledge from the heart of the world, 30 July 2014
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Secret Teachings of Plants: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception to Nature: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception of Nature (Paperback)
The cover states it is about the intelligence of the heart and a good half of the book is a fascinating explanation about the heart really works - not the misleading statements from mainstream medicine but true information. There are many quotes from those with deep understanding of nature, particularly Fukuoka ("The One-Straw Revolution") and Thoreau.

One of the chapters is headed "gathering knowledge from the heart of the world" and this is a lovely book written from the intelligence of the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and unusually informative., 19 May 2011
By 
Shakti Devi (Lincoln, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Secret Teachings of Plants: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception to Nature: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception of Nature (Paperback)
That is, this book is informative about certain things we take for granted, the heart as a pump, for example. In this book Bruhner uses research from the Steiner Institute and others that contradicts the long held assertion and belief that the heart is a pump. I won't spoil it by indulging the evidence offered in this book to refute this claim but along with this there are other jewels of wisdom that make us reassess what we believe about ourselves and life around us.

Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing insights, 28 Nov 2013
By 
A. H. Calkoen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Teachings of Plants: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception to Nature: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception of Nature (Paperback)
Buhner guides you through the scientific and mystical aspects of the intelligence of plants, and of our heart and how to link the two. A book to read a bit, put down, digest, read a bit more .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 17 Nov 2012
By 
Diane (Gloucester England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Teachings of Plants: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception to Nature: The Intelligence of the Heart in Direct Perception of Nature (Paperback)
This book is informative on two levels, one being the factual and the other being rather esoteric. I will be using this as a reference as well a being a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book. Wise, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautiful book. Wise, full of humility and extremely practical way to engage with Nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews