Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful Studio Ghibli art book
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:33 Mins
Fans of Miyazaki's movies won't be disappointed by this book. It has lots of concept art, sketches, water colour storyboards, character design and beautiful paintings of the countryside.

Some of the art are captioned by Miyazaki to give you insight into the scenes.

At the end of the book is a summary of the film's production...
Published on 13 Feb 2009 by Parka

versus
1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Item not sealed
Bought as new but the book came not sealed as I have seen in bookshops, so it seems it is a 2nd hand book.
Not satisfied at all.
If it is sold as new the condition should match description.
Not the case.
Published 16 months ago by ana


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful Studio Ghibli art book, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art of My Neighbor Totoro (Studio Ghibli Library) (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:33 Mins

Fans of Miyazaki's movies won't be disappointed by this book. It has lots of concept art, sketches, water colour storyboards, character design and beautiful paintings of the countryside.

Some of the art are captioned by Miyazaki to give you insight into the scenes.

At the end of the book is a summary of the film's production process. There are interviews with key production staff, including the music director Joe Hisaishi.

This book is easily a classic, just like the anime movie itself.

There are more pictures on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breathtaking insight, 10 May 2011
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art of My Neighbor Totoro (Studio Ghibli Library) (Hardcover)
My Neighbour Totoro is easily one my all time favourite films, and it's also one which is enjoyed by all members of my family. This book adds an extra dimension to a Miyazaki classic by not only containing pictures from the film itself, but also watercolours which are very different in style but still capture the spirit and the magic of the characters.

There are full page prints of cells from the film and they look incredible. The amount detail and the gorgeous colours really demonstrate the level of artwork which went into the film itself. The watercolours in the book show how the storyboard was developed to help visualise how the scenes should look. The colours are more subdued in those but the pictures are no less beautiful - I've seen them before for sale as posters and it's easy to see why, there is so much life in the paintings that they almost look as though they are going to move.

Concept sketches show rough drafts of the characters, and even at such an embryonic stage of development the artists manage to give Mei and Satsuki personalities. It's not just characters who are depicted here either; there is a schematic diagram of the house along with views of it from different angles and some meticulously detailed landscapes too.

The collection of art in this book is presented in a roughly chronological order to the story in the film itself, flicking though the book is like a privileged insight into the film at a deeper level. You get to see inside the creative minds of Miyazaki and his team, and at the end of the book we get to read their views on the film. This is the sort of book which can either be picked up for a quick look at the pictures, or can be taken and savoured as you immerse yourself in a beautiful world

In a nutshell: If you love My Neighbour Totoro then this book will make you love it even more. Even if you've never even heard of the film, this book will make you appreciate the efforts that the team at Studio Ghibli have made to create something which manages to be world renound and yet still relatively unknown to mainstream UK audiences. This book will captivate you no matter what age you are or how interested you are in the film itself or animation in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good behind the scenes look at Ghibli artistry, 12 Nov 2006
By 
kupocake (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Art of My Neighbor Totoro (Studio Ghibli Library) (Hardcover)
The Art of My Neighbour Totoro, is part of the Japanese Animage 'Art of' Studio Ghibli series, translated for English speaking audiences by Viz Media. At present, there are five books in the series available in the west, and I would suggest that this is the weakest of them, though still a brilliant collectable product for any Totoro, Studio Ghibli, Anime or Animation fan.

Whilst personal bias partly forms my lower regard of the book - other books in the series cover films which I esteem higher - it is undeniable that Totoro is simply less interesting on a technical basis, which is all important here in an "Art of" book: the backgrounds are less detailed than those in the later films covered in the other 4 books, and there is also less to say about design challenges and technical innovation, which becomes more prominent from Kiki's Delivery Service onwards.

The stars of My Neighbour Totoro, are of course the Totoros. It is therefore somewhat disappointing that the Totoros aren't specifically focused on. It's also surprising that there seems to be no evidence of the Totoro design evolving in Hayao Miyazaki's sketches, so either the design was completed as soon as Miyazaki put pen to paper, or there are missing links here. Even Miyazaki's essay is surprisingly brief and not nearly as interesting as ones he penned for later books. Perhaps if the book had been made more recently, there would have been more of a focus on what has become Studio Ghibli's mascot. As it is, there are still interesting points to be found regarding the evolution of Mei into two seperate characters, among other things. In fact, the book probably contains more text than others in the series, and it has an interesting production report at the end.

The book is beautifully presented with a hardback cover (superior to the Japanese originals which are paperbacked), high quality print and glossy paper (with the exception of the text heavy "Totoro production report" at the rear). The art contained within is a mixture of rough concept sketches, storyboards, production backgrounds and the cel art used in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift..., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of My Neighbor Totoro (Studio Ghibli Library) (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift for a burgeoning artist who was very pleased with it. Definitely something for a fan who enjoys the art form itself and not just the final production, as the much of the book focuses on the finer details, showing rough sketches and highlighting the intricacies of the process as well as giving an overall picture of the production schedule towards the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lush!, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of My Neighbor Totoro (Studio Ghibli Library) (Hardcover)
Gorgeous!

So good in fact, I'm going for the complete collection. I wouldn't have any second thoughts about spending more on these fabulous books.

Customer service was great, prompt delivery, no drama.

Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of My Neighbor Totoro (Studio Ghibli Library) (Hardcover)
Miyazaki is a masterpiece of Japan Animation and these watercolors and paints are of great inspiration for me that I am the designer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 26 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of My Neighbor Totoro (Studio Ghibli Library) (Hardcover)
We have several of these books and if you like these films which our family does, then the books are great. Has beautiful illustrations and is just lovely to flick through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of..., 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of My Neighbor Totoro (Studio Ghibli Library) (Hardcover)
If you're a fan of the Ghibli films these art books are a treat to have, they're full of stunning images from the film and pre-production, some of the books contain the movie scripts too.

If you love these films you will love these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of My Neighbor Totoro (Studio Ghibli Library) (Hardcover)
Really happy with the level of customer service I had with the seller, made a great Christmas present. 5 stars for prompt reply and description of product was spot on. Anyone who likes the Studio Ghibli art will greatly appreciate this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of My Neighbor Totoro (Studio Ghibli Library) (Hardcover)
Perfect product! For anyone who is a fan of Hayao Miyazaki or for anyone who appreciates a beautiful art! The book is hard cover, paper quality is phenomenal ... the illustrations are fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of My Neighbor Totoro (Studio Ghibli Library)
The Art of My Neighbor Totoro (Studio Ghibli Library) by Hayao Miyazaki (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2010)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews