Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest poems ever written
The Waste Land is an incredible poem, almost cinematic in its tone and breadth, longer than some short stories, more intelligent than most books. It doesn't pay to try and describe something that is already so absorbed into the English language. Suffice it to say, I think it is an essential poem, an historical tract in its own right (it captures that post-Great War...
Published 18 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine edition
This was a required text for my university course. The text itself is wonderful, and I would recommend it to anyone, however this particular edition is not particularly nice. In places the line numbers and notes got in the way of the text of the poem.
Published 16 months ago by Eloise


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fusty old git triumphs again, 4 May 2001
By A Customer
He may have been an old-fashioned, tea-shop frequenting intellectual of the old school, but TS Eliot certainly could write poetry. This slender volume contains 'The Wasteland', 'Prufrock' and several other poems, and all at the bargain-basement price of 69 pence. How can it fail? My only regret is that, as the product of a comprehensive school, I, like the majority of potential readers, have no idea what the Latin and Greek quotes actually mean. But that's small criticism. And April IS definitely the cruellest month, he's quite right there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great service, thanks., 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The product I wanted at a much better price than found elsewhere online or on the High Street. Great service. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars listen to it often, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a poem that requires patience so do not be put off with first reading. After a number of readings it will grow on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the Title, 16 Mar 2013
By 
John C. Loveday "John Loveday" (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whether you have known the book for ages or are about to try it for the first time, note that the title is The Waste Land, not The Wasteland (which a disappointing number of people seem to think it is). You will then have the key to a book that was central to the twentieth century's poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 65 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Basic, 1 Feb 2005
By 
this edition of T.S. Eliot's (arguably) greatest writings is in the title of the book...its a thrift edition. for the price of it, really don't expect anything other than the poems and a few of the authors notes and references.
if you know anything about Eliot's 'The Wasteland' you'll realise that you will need a book with a proper analysis of the poem by contemporary academics. it is extremely complicated stuff, and you'll not get the poem without the explanation and argument behind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic literature, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had never read it and thought I should. Not totally my preferred style of poetry but it will sit on my shelf OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Waste Land, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE WASTE LAND
Collapse of traditional, conventional distinctions between present, past and future. There is no temporal progress or movement forwards. The poet exploits many grammatical tenses in this collapsing of progress/sequence, assisting the flattening out of time. All time is fragmented from the perspective of the puppet master behind the multiple voices, mainly either first person singular or plural. Mini dramas all superbly capturing the accents and argot of each speaker, including the mask of an ironic narrator.
This device of contrasting and varied speaking voices enables a direct evocation of the contrasting cultures and social positions implicit and, by quotation, explicit, in the poem.There is not one single privileged voice.
This extends further and naturally to a dissolution of difference between the living and the dead. All have equal status. There is an impression of the dead clambering over the bodies of the living to acquire this equality. So what sometimes appears as a shift in the mood or perception of one individual voice is more likely to be the voice made simultaneously present of one belonging to a past historical period. [A holograph].
We are given a panorama of periods and the further advantage of the treatment of time in the poem is its conjoined treatment of place and space offering a simultaneity of highlighted horrors, historically apart. Such a Martian perspective is achieved on our world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unread as yet, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this as T S Eliot was one of the writers whose texts were part of a Philosophy course at my local Guild. Sadly, I've not had time to read it yet, but I suspect it will be one I'll dip into from time to time. Well recommended by my tutor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Waste Land
The Waste Land by T. S. Eliot (Paperback - 1 May 2009)
2.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews