Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars21
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2006
book really portrays the family life and life in wrestling number 1 family and how death can be exploited and how it can split a family to a degree that it hasn't recovered, it is a shame that only bret her brother in law stuck by her through everything and are friends to this day, if the stars went up to 10 this would be a 10 out of 10, I would recommend for any wrestling fan to get an insight of what the wrestling world is like for the wives and children
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2006
5 stars isn't enough for me this book deserves at least 6/5. I couldn't put the book down, i'm in the middle of revising for my 3rd year uni exmas and all i can think about is Martha and her account of what happened with her life with and without Owen. I finished the book in 3 days (so i could get back to studying !!!) Honestly i couldn't put the book down the book is so well written and reads fluently. The story really shows the true meaning of what love is all about these 2 were teenage sweethearts and it was all taken away for entertainment and as part of the fight to win the viewers monopoly.
The stunt was ill prepared and Owens feeling not considered although he seemed to have the notion something was going to happen. The relationship described between Martha and Owen seemed at times to have a eery feel to it - almost to good to be true but i wish i had something only as half as good as what she describes.
The book is an emotional roller-coaster and highly recommended and is not just for wrestling fans this book could be read by anyone, even if you have no knowledge of wrestling what-so-ever, you would still endure the heartache and pain that Martha experienced along with all the highs to boot.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2005
I think this has to be one of the most harrowing books that i have read. Owens death being such a waste of talent, lost to showmanship.
This book doesnt hold back, Vince is pictured as the bad guy along with half the hart family. Infact only Bret comes out in a good light!. Martha is a very honest writer and her love for owen is very clear
I cant wait for Brets autobiography, for his take on the whole sorry story.
If your going to read any book on wrestling it has to be this one
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 March 2007
It must be awful to be subjected to the news that your husband has been killed whilst just doing his job. But Owen was killed under extraordinary circumstances. The book traces Martha's life with Owen and her fight for justice after his death. It is written with heartfelt sincerity and considerable bitterness. Who can blame her.

It is essential reading for wrestling fans and others who might gain strength from the example and resolve Martha displays.

I do however consider, and this is my personal opinion, that Vince McMahon did the right thing in not stopping the show. I would also commend Jim Ross on the control he displayed at the time of the incident.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2005
I have never before read a book that made me cry from the moment I opened it to the moment I put it down. Don't let that put you off. It is a beautifully written tale of love and heartbreak and how a company's neglect led to the death of a true wrestling superstar. The sort of book that you can't put down. If you every wanted to know more about Owen Hart and the circumstances surrounding his death then this is a brutally honest account from the person that knew him best. A MUST READ!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
This book is very well written very griping. I remember this day, and I remember reading the first article of what happened entitled "the day wrestling became too real". I admit to being a bit of a mark at this age and only knew Owen Hart as the great performer he was, but not the person. I did not have to look too far to learn about Own the person. There was an out pouring grief from everyone who had known, met or worked with Owen. He was universally loved and respected. Many wrestler broke Kayfabe (the code to protect the business, by not breaking character even in public), and spoke openly about what Owen meant to them. Of course none of this could compare to what his wife and family must have gone through.

Martha Hart openly states on the first page that writing this book was very therapeutic for her I really hope it brings her and her children peace of mind. She also states this is not a book about Owen the wrestler she wrote this focusing on Owen the person. Her husband, the father of their children, and member of the Hart family. Martha was an outsider to the wrestling business, and (as a comment from Bret to Owen got misinterpreted shows) despite the financial rewards she only saw the dark side of the business. The loneliness of being separated from your family, the horrendous travel expected, and of course drugs and womanising going on.

She wanted to show despite being born into one of the most in/famous families in wrestling Owen was different. Like Mick Foley was in wrestling to make a living rather than living for wrestling. She talks about his early life, then how they met, their time dating and making a life together. A recurring theme of the book is Owen saying after this contract expires we will be set, how many time do people say one more big deal or one more case then I will hang it up.

She talks about Owen start in wrestling but for the point of view of the family, so does not go into details of the matches as she admits she did not watch them or was interested in wrestling other than it was Owen's job. His Two stints in the WWF or WWE, from starting out as a Jobber, star to Maga-star. Then the accident that killed Owen but also shattered her life. The Investigation into negligence and wrong doing on the WWE's part. The Lawsuit the settlement finally life moves on.

The title of the book I think would be perfect for the Hart family themselves. A lot of the facts in this book especially about the Hart family and how divided and money grabbing some members are from other books like Bret's book the Hitman, or A lion's tale. The only criticism I have about the book is (I hope I am wrong), Owen is portrayed as an angel who could do no wrong I do not think that is possible. I have no doubt he was a great person, as a number of others will testify to, but I cannot believe the "king of ribbs" (joke and pranks), never got involved when other wrestlers were being childish and playing pranks on each other. Little thing like that just do not add up to me, but as I said these are little things. This a great book to get to know Owen the father and family man.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2006
I read this book for the first time a year or two ago, and for the longest time I've been trying to put my feelings into words.

Never before has a wrestlers life and his tragic death effected me more than Owen's. I was a fan for many years and had the honour of seeing him wrestle many times. When he died, my love for wrestling did also. It's not the same.

This book is a wonderful insight into Owen's life with his wife and two children, and the job which killed him. I learned so much about that fateful night that wasn't made available before, and it makes you wonder just how it was allowed to happen.

A book capable of recieving 10 stars if it were possible, and a book that will have you in tears from the very first page.

Well done, Martha. Owen would've been so proud.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2008
This book is called Broken Harts and them two words sums up this book in one.
Martha Hart the wife of the late Owen Hart has despite all her pain, anger and grief, written a heartbreaking account of the life and death of her wresting star husband, who died during a stunt performed during a wresting show.
Now I admit to being a wresting fan in my late teens but towards the end I got sick and tried of so called entertainment and this book has reinforced what I thought at the time, that the WWF (now WWE) as it was called at the time had finally gone too far.
Martha and her young family were ripped apart by this avoidable tragedy and almost every chapter in this book brings a lump to you throat and a tear to your eye.
Martha also provides an interesting insight into her relationship with the hart family and explains how her battle for justice not only was fought against the WWF but some of the hart family also.
The only good thing to come out of this tragedy is that the Owen Hart Foundation was set up as a tribute to Owen and has and will continue to, help people with limited resources and unlimited potential for many years to come.
A heartbreakingly powerful read but one that proves love and family are what matters.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2004
Martha Hart shows unbelievable strength of character as she talks about her high school sweetheart, the pranks he loved playing, how thoughtful he was, and how they were days away from moving into their dream home.
And then came the day they suspended him 60 foot in the air on a $68 quick realise nautical clip, which only required 6 pounds of pressure to open.
This book is a complete roller coaster of emotions, you will laugh and you will cry, a lot. This book is really well written and absolutely impossible to put down till the end.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2004
The Martha Hart book is a tremendously well written piece. Even though its main focus is of the loving relationship between her and her husband Owen, and the tragic circumstances surrounding his death, it is also one of the best wrestling books ever written. Broken Harts is an emotional read - regardless if you care for wrestling or not. It is about 2 people cruelly separated and documents her fight for justice. A 5-star book, and a must read. Remember: - This is not fiction, this is as real as it gets.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)