Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOOD FIGHT!!!
Forget Wired.This is the ONLY book about John Belushi you should read.Amazing pictures of John at Second City,Lemmings revue and SNL.This is less a book and more a journey through this man's life and career.like james dean,we can only WONDER what this man would have achieved had he lived longer,but,this well put together book shows us how MUCH he did master.a five star...
Published on 17 Jun 2007 by This Guy!

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother....
Not for a mainstream audience of readers, in my opinion.
For followers of Belushi who will read anything about him, this book might be well-received by some. Others should probably not bother with it. I don't care for Colby's style of writing.
Published 6 months ago by Brad


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOOD FIGHT!!!, 17 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belushi: A Biography (Hardcover)
Forget Wired.This is the ONLY book about John Belushi you should read.Amazing pictures of John at Second City,Lemmings revue and SNL.This is less a book and more a journey through this man's life and career.like james dean,we can only WONDER what this man would have achieved had he lived longer,but,this well put together book shows us how MUCH he did master.a five star book about a ten star man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fitting Tribute Redresses the Balance, 3 Aug 2009
This review is from: Belushi: A Biography (Hardcover)
Firstly the picture doesn't do justice to what is a great lavish tribute in hard cover and coffee table style with great photos and insights from everyone who was there and knew John Belushi.

I read Wired years ago. It left a bad taste in my mouth. I was hoping this would redress the balance, and it does.

Definitely worth seeking out. I know it is rare and expensive but you won't regret it.

The edning is the same sad one as in Wired of course but the journey is immeasurably motre enjoyable here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother...., 9 Jun 2014
Not for a mainstream audience of readers, in my opinion.
For followers of Belushi who will read anything about him, this book might be well-received by some. Others should probably not bother with it. I don't care for Colby's style of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a more loving and complete picture than "wired"., 23 July 2011
By 
Mike Haydon (Melbourne, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Belushi: A Biography (Hardcover)
i heard about this book when i bought the other oral history biography overseen by tanner colby on chris farley. i loved that layout, hearing from all the people that were close to him and even some that weren't just for context and a complete image. i read wired first, as most would, and found it incredibly detailed and informative but i could tell that wasn't all there was too it. there also seemed to be too much embellishment which is unfortunately from the guy who wrote all the president's men. judy put out samurai widow and there's been a book or two since then in a somewhat roundabout way but nothing which reaches the level of greatness as this.

firstly, the format. while i love having the ability to read a book anywhere i want without difficulty (aka trade paperback) i don't think this book could have been done any other way. it's about as big as a 10" record sleeve and the binding is great. when i reached the middle sections when you have to break the spine a bit it all felt solid. real value for money in the construction here. the pages are glossy and full colour with most having one or more (amazing) photos. did i mention the photos throughout the book are amazing? the photos throughout the book are amazing. so many glimpses into john's life that we'd never have otherwise seen. the photos of the blues brothers performing in black and white with old blues musicians are candid and full to bursting with energy. it's rare for photos to have the ability to put you right where they were taken but that's the case here and it pulls you into his life even further.

the range of people interviewed is great. all his family (judy, his mother etc.), best friends (aykroyd etc.), all the business types (brillstein, glazer etc.), co-stars (bill murray, chris guest etc.) and even some other people along the way. the style in which they're laid out is prime. no one ever has a brutally long quote, the longest is smokey at the start of the "smokemaster general" chapter and it works in context. they're little bites, little grabs here and there from all sides of what's going on, fleshing things out. it's all lovingly spread out with the photos and sometimes a photo will have a relevant quote over the top of it. first class layout here. it doesn't aim to be as exhaustive as "wired" but i feel like you can use both books to fill in the blanks of each other in some cases. not in all as "wired" is obviously heavily intent on showing john as pure animal, which you can tell he wasn't by balancing it out with this book. i feel like the times when you see crossover - which happens more than you'd expect given how much "wired" was disowned - help you use both books the way they were written. "wired" as the very cold, bare bones "factual" document and this as the warmer, less thorough but more complete picture.

if it sounds like i'm gushing it's because i am. if you're a belushi fan, this is completely essential. in fact if you're a belushi fan and you don't have it yet then you're officially not a belushi fan anymore until you get it. the photos alone are worth the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sad story of an accident waitin to happen, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read and insight into a man who was seemingly destined to crash and burn. Mostly however by his own hand. A sad story but a one which holds the reader
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Hero, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked Wired.
There, I've said it.
I can't let my yellowed paperback go off to the charity shop in the sky. I think Wired put a darker, gritty and drug-fueled aspect to John Belushi demise that we all knew about, and his ultimate sad speed-balling come-uppance. That said, I was expecting this to be a gushing 'what a guy' tome.
It is, to a degree, but it's more measured - he's lovable but annoying, driven yet considerate, he's also very human...
I could go on, but he was and remains my comedy hero.
If you want a touching tale that really gets under the skin of a short-lived genius, then read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Belushi: A Biography
Belushi: A Biography by Tanner Colby (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2005)
Used & New from: £10.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews