Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for new to intermediate programmers
I'm not a professional programmer but I do need to write software ocasionally for specific projects. I recently needed to build a simple search engine and a CD launcher application for which I chose to try Qt. I used several publications to help me through the Qt learning process but I found Foundations of Qt to be far and away the most helpful. The presentation style and...
Published on 17 April 2012 by Mr. M. Richards

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing
I have previously in life learnt to program in Basic, Pascal, C, assembler on the Z80, non-OOP PHP and Javascript. Now that I had a project requiring a GUI I thought learning QT might be a good first step. So I ordered this book, and was quickly let down by it.

The examples are good and plentiful, but the code snippets presented in the book are presented with...
Published 11 months ago by Uffe N


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for new to intermediate programmers, 17 April 2012
By 
Mr. M. Richards "Mike" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not a professional programmer but I do need to write software ocasionally for specific projects. I recently needed to build a simple search engine and a CD launcher application for which I chose to try Qt. I used several publications to help me through the Qt learning process but I found Foundations of Qt to be far and away the most helpful. The presentation style and examples were excellent and enabled me to jump in to particular topics and learn the basics very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to Qt, 10 Dec 2011
By 
Daniel Ruus (Nyköping, Sweden) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Foundations of Qt Development (Expert's Voice in Open Source) (Paperback)
Overall I find this book very easy to read and an excellent introduction to Qt. Some of the sentences can be a bit difficult to understand at first, and requires a reread, but all in all it is a good effort from my fellow countryman.

The part of the book I was least impressed with was chapter 13 about databases. It could certainly do with a bit more information overall, but the worst part was the complete lack of information about how to get Qt to work with different databases, such as SQL Server or MySQL. The latter requires quite a substantial amount of work to get going - not a particularly difficult task, but it isn't straightforward. I don't expect the author to hold our hands here, but a note mentioning that Qt doesn't have built-in support and a reference to some suitable material would certainly have helped.

I was contemplating giving the book 3 stars, based on the above, but on further thought I upped this to 4 stars. The book did become easier to read after a few chapters (improved proof-reading or just me getting used to the authors writing style?), and in retrospect the niggles above about databases aren't that serious after all.

I therefore wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book to anyone interested in learning Qt programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely written, covers the foundamentals with good examples, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foundations of Qt Development (Expert's Voice in Open Source) (Paperback)
Nicely written, covers the fundamentals with good examples. I have about 7 years of commercial experience in C++ and learning the basics through this book was easy.
I found that it covered things in more detail or with better examples than some of the online docs/resources and official API/SDK (although QT is very very well documented in the first place).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Oct 2014
By 
Gary Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foundations of Qt Development (Expert's Voice in Open Source) (Paperback)
Fast delivery, item as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, 27 July 2011
This review is from: Foundations of Qt Development (Expert's Voice in Open Source) (Paperback)
Nice book for people which are not english natives. Very easy to read, lot of examples. I recommeend it for everyone who wants to learn QT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foundations of Qt Development (Expert's Voice in Open Source) (Paperback)
I have previously in life learnt to program in Basic, Pascal, C, assembler on the Z80, non-OOP PHP and Javascript. Now that I had a project requiring a GUI I thought learning QT might be a good first step. So I ordered this book, and was quickly let down by it.

The examples are good and plentiful, but the code snippets presented in the book are presented with very little indication as to what the file should be called, and with little indication as to which snippets belong in the same file. For someone proficient in C++ this might not be a problem, but it is for me. I find myself swapping between the code in the book, the code I have typed in myself and the code I downloaded from the publishers web site.

And in some places, the code presented in the book is slightly different to the code on the publishers web site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Books, 13 Feb 2010
By 
J. Davison "julruthie" (Windermere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foundations of Qt Development (Expert's Voice in Open Source) (Paperback)
I ordered this as a birthday present for my son but delivery took longer than stated which spoiled the gift. He is happy with gift and it was received in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Foundations of Qt Development (Expert's Voice in Open Source)
Foundations of Qt Development (Expert's Voice in Open Source) by Johan Thelin (Paperback - 1 Aug 2007)
£39.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews