Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to Computer Games design and programming.
The Game Maker's apprentice is an engaging and accessible introduction to the fascinating world of Computer Game design.
Each chapter uses a hands on approach, creating example games in the free Gamemaker software, that allows the reader to build up a broad toolkit of games design skills. New programming structures are introduced in a clear and simple way, always...
Published on 18 April 2006 by Stephen N. Quayle

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not beginner
I bought the book on the notion that if you were a total beginner you would be able to understand all the chapters. First chapter was fine. Then the second chapter which i thought was a silly game,I gave up on. The third chapter was going good until it came to the part about when blocks starting hitting other blocks. It gave the run down for the first block but then asked...
Published on 5 Oct. 2011 by ej2moloney


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 11 May 2012
By 
I have this book on paperback, this is a good starting point for game making. I have made a game from this book and have one more in progress! V. good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loves this book, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Game Maker's Apprentice: Game Development for Beginners (Paperback)
My 12 year old daughter absolutely loves this book and finds the instructions very easy to follow and create the game samples on her own without supervision. It's very well laid out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Intro to Game Maker, 27 Jun. 2010
This review is from: The Game Maker's Apprentice: Game Development for Beginners (Paperback)
An excellent book if you're starting out with Mark Overmars "Game Maker". Plenty of explanations and illustrations and sections on Game Design and Enemy Intelligence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Review, 9 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Game Maker's Apprentice: Game Development for Beginners (Paperback)
A very good product for someone starting out in game design. worth it as software is included and the guide is very easy and simple to follow. Slightly more childish than many other guides guides/tutorials but this makes it even easier to understand, although due to the ease of use can give a false idea of game design and programming. Still very good for those very beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremly handy!, 10 Mar. 2010
By 
T. Kennard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Game Maker's Apprentice: Game Development for Beginners (Paperback)
It guides you through the beginnings of the Game Maker program. A Second i think is coming out very soon so keep your eyes out if your a fan of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not beginner, 5 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Game Maker's Apprentice: Game Development for Beginners (Paperback)
I bought the book on the notion that if you were a total beginner you would be able to understand all the chapters. First chapter was fine. Then the second chapter which i thought was a silly game,I gave up on. The third chapter was going good until it came to the part about when blocks starting hitting other blocks. It gave the run down for the first block but then asked you to do it yourself for the remaining blocks. Here is where i remain. I know i will have to open up the game on the cd and go thru each object which will be time consuming! The book is not for beginners per say, imo.I have now gone back to the tutorials on the yoyo website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book. Very Good book. I loved read this book from end to end. Will have to get more books like this, 16 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. P. C. Chaston (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Game Maker's Apprentice: Game Development for Beginners (Paperback)
Very Good Book. Very Good book. I loved read this book from end to end. Will have to get more books like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Game Maker's Apprentice: Game Development for Beginners (Paperback)
greate game maker introduction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what i thought it would be, 2 Dec. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Game Maker's Apprentice: Game Development for Beginners (Paperback)
I thought this would be a start into making games, but really this is a hobby pack if you like for someone who likes game maybe a young child I had ago on the Free program which is basic to say the least and if you want the proper version you have to pay for it.
This is so basic Before i had the book i used game makers and made pacman style games and even something simular to mario after having no experience, this is a good thing and a bad thing.
Basically if you just want to make atari styled basic fun games recreationally then yes this is for you.
If you want to start a career and aim to use books to help boost you then no don't bother with this.
overall the book is well written and very helpfull, so no disrespect for the author.
Just not what I had in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Game Maker's Apprentice: Game Development for Beginners (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Game Maker's Apprentice: Game Development for Beginners
The Game Maker's Apprentice: Game Development for Beginners by Mark Overmars (Paperback - 15 Dec. 2007)
£32.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews