Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£32.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 July 2012
Bought this book and CD as I'm looking to completely change my career and have also been a massive video games fan for many years.

Started using it today and have to say its the best product of bought for ages.

The book is very easy to follow and the software is fantastic.

I would recommend this to anyone looking to start to learn to create their own video games.

Can't wait to see what I produce tomorrow!

A MUST BUY!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
This book is a detailed and extensive guide which takes the reader through the basic steps of how to use the Game Maker program and progresses onto more difficult techniques at a steady pace. An amazing book and CD for anyone interested in getting into games development using the GameMaker program.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
This book is for the now dated gamemaker 8.0/8.1 versions. That's fine as this older version of the program is featured on the disk for free! However the new game maker studio looks the same but has a load of different features, and some changes to programing that cause the examples in this book not to work! (galactic mail in chapter 2 is a prime example of this)

There's still a lack of good books and resources for learning the new more powerful studio version. This is a good starting point for learning the system still, but just be aware of the big differences and changes that you may need to make when making the jump to more current versions of the software.

However that said this book is still very well written, and the projects are well laid out. I hope the authors do an update with info for the new studio version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2010
My 10 year old son has really enjoyed this intro to software designs. It needed my husband to help him work through the book - but now he has the principle he can do this on his own. It makes him proud to show friends his own games.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
Bought this for my nephew who is 11 and has autism, although a high-functioning individual. He has a good focus for program writing and previously to this purchase has been writing his own basic quizzes and cartoon/games. I thought this might help him hone those skills, but was a bit concerned that it might be too 'old' for him. It wasn't and he loves it. It gives very clear instructions and the disk included has all the program details you could want. I am very pleased and impressed with this. My nephew agrees that this gives a good basis and start for him and looks forward to working on it more and more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
This is a good book for any young ambitious game designer as it teaches you the ropes of the software in question 'Game Maker 8.0' which is included with the book. This disc contains a number of different items for you to use when you start making your own games such as images and sounds. Overall, a bit pricey for my liking but I am really enjoying this as it doesn't baby you either, it feels like the writers have expectations of their readers to grow as they move through the book from simple layouts up to learning how to write script using the Game Maker language (GML).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2011
This is a great piece of software for people trying to get into making games, on my game design course which I have just finished they started teaching us game maker at first before moving onto the new Cryengine 3. This helped alot with getting to terms with how a game is made basically, and this book was very helpful supplying all the sprites and sounds and such to make the games in the tutorial. After using this book you should be able to make a simple 2D game with no problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2011
This is a great accompaniment to Game Maker and, when teaching students game making, my able 13 and 14 year old students used to argue over who had the copy that was in the school library. It can be a little overwhelming as there is so much information and guidance in the book, however it is an ideal addition to the resources provided by Game Maker and for delving deeper into what can be done with this great piece of software.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
Book is good for beginners, explains well and easy to follow, only problem I found was the assets that were on the disc were in GIF format and not PNG as the book says it uses. You can use the GIF files but to make them look as they should you have to mess around deleting the coloured back ground for the sprites by hand. Still pleased with book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2010
This book is a very good one if you're newbie and thinking about making computer games without coding. The book is basicly for beginner and the tutorials are very good figured out as step by step. After reading this book in a few times before bed-times I can make some games easyly, that's why the recommand from me.
Good luck!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)