Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bookshelf Essential
There's a plethora of books and Internet resources on the subject of designing websites with Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) but whether you are just starting out as a complete novice or have solid, intermediary experience this book offers a very useful grounding in theory and application.
The foundation chapter provides a clear and easy to understand introduction...
Published on 22 Feb 2006 by K. Dawson

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Complaints
As the majority of web designers and developers will testify, when it comes to creating CSS-based websites that adhere to current web standards, the Internet is currently a somewhat precarious mine field, littered with numerous technological tripwires and unexploded browser bugs just waiting to blow your careful positioning to smithereens.

Fortunately, due to...
Published on 27 May 2006 by David Swallow


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bookshelf Essential, 22 Feb 2006
By 
K. Dawson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSS Mastery: Advanced Web Standards Solutions (Paperback)
There's a plethora of books and Internet resources on the subject of designing websites with Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) but whether you are just starting out as a complete novice or have solid, intermediary experience this book offers a very useful grounding in theory and application.
The foundation chapter provides a clear and easy to understand introduction to meaningful markup techniques for CSS "hooks" - divs, spans, ids and classes as well as discussion on DOCTYPEs, browser modes and validation before diving in to CSS selector types, the cascade and specificity. The chapter finishes with discussion on how best to organise your stylesheets - no, don't just lump it all together in a single file ;)
The second chapter is a very useful recap of the visual formatting model (i.e. the box model and absolute / relative / float positioning) and will serve as a great reminder for when your complex layouts start to misbehave - something that all CSS practioners will experience at some point.
The bulk of the book covers styling specific elements of your design and includes layout, image replacement, styling links, lists, forms and tables. People tend not to get too adventurous with styling tables and forms so that chapter is welcome and the advanced treatment of visited and external-website links is also of interest.
The major selling point for me was the two chapters on CSS hacks (filters) and bugs (and bug fixing). There are a number of websites that cover these issues but I lack that particular resource on my bookshelf and call me old-fashioned, but I do like my books to pull stuff together in this manner. Inside these chapters you'll learn about the (in)famous star hack, the !important hack and bugs such as the three-pixel text jog and the "HasLayout" effect to name but a few. Armed with these two chapters I may well spot a problem in the stylesheet before seeing it in a browser and save a few hours of debugging later on - incidentally, the section on debugging will certainly reduce any feeling of headless chicken in that regard.
The book bows out with the obligatory case studies that pull together a couple of websites using the techniques previously explained.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for web designers juniors and seniors alike, 9 Dec 2006
This review is from: CSS Mastery: Advanced Web Standards Solutions (Paperback)
Since I bought that book, it's been on my desk rather than in the book shelf like most others.

It's very accessible, and it covers basics (always good to be reminded) as well as more adanced CSS. I'm very happy with that purchase and use it everytime I code, and take it along with me when working on-site at clients offices.

That book replaced my beloved Zeldman's "Designing with Web Standards" which needed an upgrade.

Same handy format, nice and clear info, answers off-hand for most tricks and a no-nonsense approach from a well-known dude in the web design community.

Thumbs up Brighton!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Complaints, 27 May 2006
By 
David Swallow "David of York" (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSS Mastery: Advanced Web Standards Solutions (Paperback)
As the majority of web designers and developers will testify, when it comes to creating CSS-based websites that adhere to current web standards, the Internet is currently a somewhat precarious mine field, littered with numerous technological tripwires and unexploded browser bugs just waiting to blow your careful positioning to smithereens.

Fortunately, due to the sustained efforts of the global web community to identify and document the potential pitfalls of modern day web design, the majority of hazards have been safely overcome. Consequently, the bookmarks or del.icio.us repositories of the average web designer/developer are stuffed full of links to a plethora of CSS hacks, filters and innovative workarounds.

For those users wishing to de-clutter their list of Favourites however, they should look no further than CSS Mastery in which Andy Budd attempts to collect together all of the latest tips, tricks and techniques into one handy volume. From rounded corners to fluid layouts, via drop-shadows, image replacement and accessible forms, Budd covers all of those fiddly little techniques that you know you know but you can't always remember. Cross-browser inaccuracies are also extensively addressed along with numerous ways to circumvent them, and the book concludes with two (brief) case studies by Cameron Moll and Simon Collison, in which the majority of the techniques introduced in the book are brought to life.

The book is not without its own bugs and inconsistencies however, and those expecting a thorough dissection of Cascading Style Sheets may be disappointed by the book's strong emphasis upon current "tips tricks and techniques" and other presentational workarounds. Consequently CSS Mastery is recommended to those who already know what they are doing rather than any newcomers to the field. Earlier editions also suffered badly from a disappointing number of typographical errors and technical inaccuracies, which may bewilder any CSS novices. I am pleased to note however, that the vast majority of these have been corrected in later editions.

Whilst perhaps not an essential purchase for those already familiar with the tips and tricks it presents, and despite being a relative latecomer to a somewhat saturated market of CSS publications, CSS Mastery is a useful resource for anyone who is sick of scouring the Internet for the solution to a particular browser oddity or a fancy presentational enhancement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concentrates a lot on workarounds, but overall very good, 8 Jun 2006
By 
D. O'connell (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSS Mastery: Advanced Web Standards Solutions (Paperback)
I have been dabbling with CSS for about 4 years now, and was a little disappointed that the book seems to focus a lot on tricks/ workarounds for various browsers, rather than semantic XHTML, but to be fair, semantic XHTML has already beed covered by Dan Cederholms' books. I also found some of the "tricks" a little too presentational in nature - e.g. various "rounded corner" tricks which add in extra markup to achieve the effect.

I initially borrowed the book from the library, but the acid test is this: on returning it, I decided I needed my own copy, so bought one from Amazon - so I guess it was more useful than I first thought.

The main reason for my purchase: the sections on "layouts" - liquid layouts etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far one of the best CSS books, 6 Sep 2006
By 
Miha Hribar (Ljubljana, Slovenia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSS Mastery: Advanced Web Standards Solutions (Paperback)
This is by far one of the best CSS books I've recently had the pleasure of reading. Written for the bit more savvy web developers, wich means the author does not beat about the bush and gets down and dirty fairly quick. CSS is explained in much more detail, clearing up quite a few cloudy topics, well at least for me. The author realizes that while CSS is a relatively easy technology to learn, it is that much more difficult to master. Especially with so many different browsers, wich is why the book also contains two whole chapters devoted to finding and fixing bugs as they arise. As you might have guessed, most of the bugs and fixes revolve around Internet Explorer, from older versions to Mac versions.

The final two chapters of the book are case studies of two sites hand crafted by high profile web developers Cameron Moll and Simon Collison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful CSS book, 5 Mar 2006
By 
Simon H (Uckfield, Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CSS Mastery: Advanced Web Standards Solutions (Paperback)
This is a really practical book, showing how to design some of the most common layouts and features, sometimes in several ways. As well as being a handy "how to" guide, there are explanations as to why things are done a certain way, without going into unnecessary detail.
I tried out one of the layouts, and I had it working in about 15 minutes, and I understood why it worked too.
I strongly recommend this book to any web designer. It is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for learning advanced CSS, 21 Sep 2006
This review is from: CSS Mastery: Advanced Web Standards Solutions (Paperback)
If you've covered the basics of CSS and HTML, but want to know the difference between divs, classes and styles, this is a good book. Covers from start to finish on how to build table-less sites.

One scary point, though: the two example sites that they have built are both broke in IE7, though fine in Firefox. Admittedly, the book was written before the current release of IE7, but they should update their site and issue guidance on where the box is wrong.

I would recommend the book as the best on the market for self-teaching advanced CSS concepts, but there's room for something better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best CSS Reference I've Read, 8 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. P. Lynch "Spider 1362" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSS Mastery: Advanced Web Standards Solutions (Paperback)
In my opinion, Budd, Moll and Collison have produced a very valuable reference for any web designer who wishes to go forward from the outdated "tables" method of web page presentation to CSS.

I am a web designer who wishes to design accesible sites to current standards, I have purchased several books on CSS and have searched and searched online for ways of producing a three column CSS layout only to end up totally frustrated by the complexity of it all.

Within an hour of reading this book I had created a fixed width two column layout and (the holy grail) a fixed width three column layout. It was so easy I couldn't believe it.

While some designers who consider themselves "masters of CSS" might find this book of little value, anyone who wishes to convert their old table based layouts to current accessible standards using CSS will find it invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic real-world solutions, 15 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: CSS Mastery: Advanced Web Standards Solutions (Paperback)
I had originally thumbed through this book, subtitled "Advanced Web Standard Solutions" in my local bookstore and shrugged it off as covering pretty much most of what I'd already digested from other popular CSS books. It wasn't until a friend showed me some cool techniques from the book that I properly read though it and regretted not buying it sooner!

Though it's aimed at the intermediate web designer, it is well written and I would certainly recommend this as an essential buy for all web designers. The book begins with Clear:Left's Andy Budd provides most of the content starting with a chapter about well-structured and meaningful mark-up. It's these best practices that will help catapult you into the realms of CSS Master! It then recaps on the box model, positioning and floats, making it easy for a beginner to pick up this book and run with it, before moving into the techniques, with clear and concise examples, including a couple of good chapters on bugs and hacks.

The final two chapters are where Simon Collison & Cameron Moll step in to demonstrate these examples in two real-world showcase websites. This book is absolutely the best book currently on offer for CSS web design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best CSS book i've bought so far., 17 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: CSS Mastery: Advanced Web Standards Solutions (Paperback)
I've spent a small fortune over the last 6 months on web design books. I've got a little from each of the books that I purchased - but this is the best CSS one by far. I keep finding myself dipping in everytime i'm struggling with something in my stylesheets.

It's structured like a standard reference book, with sections on various topics (floats, positioning, box model etc.). However the last two chapters are devoted to a step-by-step walkthrough of an example web design project. The dual-format works really well and adds an important dimension to the book. The fact that the example projects are written by those doyens of dope design Cameron Moll and Simon Collison is an absolute bonus.

Whilst it is getting a bit long in the tooth now and could do with an update to reflect IE7, it is still my go-to reference, and one that I would recommend to anyone who already has a basic grasp of css. C'mon Mr Budd - time to put pen to paper again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CSS Mastery: Advanced Web Standards Solutions
CSS Mastery: Advanced Web Standards Solutions by Simon Collison (Paperback - 13 Feb 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews