Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
Okay, if you're reading this, you're at least considering buying this book. Don't waste any more time, buy it now.
I started writing websites at the end of the nineties and I used to use a lot of JavaScript. However, it was all very hacky, partly because I didn't know how to do it otherwise and partly because making it any neater seemed like a whole lot of...
Published on 11 Oct 2005 by christhewebdesigner

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good on the whole - but far too much padding!
A good sound treatment of DOM Scripting, but one glaring error and a huge amount of wasted space - apart from a wide blank left margin used only for page numbers, the *whole* of a code sequence is repeated many times as it is built up (instead of e.g. putting the final complete code at the end of the section). The worst offender - the very useful addLoadEvent function...
Published on 18 Mar 2008 by Mike Taylor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book., 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
Recommend it to anyone doing JavaScript. It is quite elementary level but as Dom Scripting is not very popular there are still stuff in the book that I keep going back to, just to remember when I need them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but a little basic, 4 Jan 2011
This book is good if you are a complete beginer to Javascript/DOM. It will give you the very basics but not much more. As a previous reviewer commented 'you will get a few pages out of this book and probably forget the rest'. All in all not worth the money if you have any Javascript/DOM knowledge at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but wait for the new edition, 3 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
This book might well have been subtitled "How to add Javascript without making a fool of yourself". It is a model of clarity - far better written than most web technical books. As someone with a programming background, I found it a little slow. This, I think, makes it ideal for its target audience, Web Designers. If you have mastered HTML, understand CSS, and want to use Javascript (but are perhaps a bit nervous of it), this is the book for you.

What this book does particularly well is explain how to use Javascript to enhance the users web experience without degrading that of non-Javascript users. While it explains the language as much as is necessary, it is not a programmers manual, it is a designers manual. You might well want to get a programmers manual to go alongside this book. However, I strongly recommend it to those wanting to produce a non-gimmicky but powerfully enhanced site.

It is, however, a bit dated - it came out in 2005. There is a new edition due in December 2010, which will, I hope, take account of HTML5 and CSS3. If so, it will be well worth waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most lucid book on DOM scripting yet!, 17 Mar 2010
By 
K. Le Breton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
This is simply the most lucid book on DOM scripting yet! I am not an Anorak and I don't normally read textbooks from cover to cover but this book was an exception. If only more programming books were written like this. Well laid out, a gentle pace, lots of examples of what to do and what not to do. I read the first 120 pages in one sitting and created the examples as I went along! The section on unobtrusive JavaScript is particularly well explained and made me rethink much of what I have gleaned from other JavaScript manuals. Others have criticised the fact that code is repeated as the author develops the final code. I found this a useful device as it allowed me to develop the code at the same pace as the author explained it's evolution.
If you are already well versed in using JavaScript with the DOM this is probably not the book for you but if you have been using JavaScript and parts of the DOM but need to progress to using the full power of both I think this book is an excellent starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Best Practices... Yes, but why not go all the way?, 26 April 2009
By 
Michael G. Sørensen "CeDeT" (Blovstrød, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
This book is a very fine (as in gentle) introduction to JavaScript and using it unobtrusively by using best practices. And it does a fine job... but I wish that the author had taken the time to write XHTML that is actually valid. If the foundation - i.e. the markup - isn't even valid what is the point of stressing that DOM works for all kinds of xml (and including a DTD in the XHTML examples)? Talking about best practices and W3C standards becomes a bit "hollow" otherwise (walk your talk, please)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great JavaScript starting point in the right direction, 20 Mar 2009
By 
Zlatin Ivanov "ZFDesign" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
This book will give a solid foundation on how to build on a better websites with the use of Document Object Model and JavaScript.
Apart from being easy to read and understand the book covers on how to improve, add a layer of interactivity and better user experience with the help of JavaScript. Many common mistakes and JavaScript missuses can be avoided if the methods of Progressive Enhancement described are followed. Should be read by anyone who has touched on JavaScript and would like to dig deeper the right way. I never regret buying and will be following closely Jeremy Keiths' other releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good understandable introduction to JavaScript and DOM, 11 Mar 2009
By 
G. Sweeney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
This book is a good basic introduction to understanding JavaScript and the concept of the DOM model and is the recommended reading for the Programming module for my University course. It covers the history, syntax, best practises and several practical examples such as slideshows and image galleries. Useful for any beginner who has not tackled JavaScript or any web scripting languages before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book!, 28 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
really well written, clear and concise with plenty of examples.

highly recommended. i also got a "friends of ed" book on css and that was excellent as well.

cheers,
bill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best book on JavaScript - Doing it properly!, 22 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
Since I started observing web standards and trying to produce websites that were accessible to the widest possible audience I've tried to avoid JavaScript assuming my sites wouldn't be accessibly to those users with screen readers or JavaScript turned off.

Jeremy Keith, from Brighton's web consultancy Clearleft, explains how to write good, clean code that degrades gracefully in this fantastic book. Starting at the beginning with the history and basics of JavaScript, he steers you comfortably through best practices and real world, useful examples. Whatever your technical ability you can soon become proficient with writing your own JavaScript and you'll soon be ready for his next book - Bulletproof Ajax
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 14 Feb 2006
By 
Mr. T. Murphy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model (Paperback)
I'm more a java programmer than a web designer. To be honest, the DOM scared me before reading this book. This book showed that there is nothing to be scared about. Easy read, good examples.
I'd imagine there is a lot more to the DOM than is covered in this book, but either way, it's definitly worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DOM Scripting: Web Design with JavaScript and the Document Object Model
£23.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews