Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Primer, well written, ideal for the ASP rookie.
If you're relatively new to the world of ASP-ADO and looking for a launch pad for database work with this technology then BUY THIS BOOK. It starts off running you through the installation of ASP for Win95/98 and NT (something that is taken for granted in most books). On the front cover you'll notice the author says, "You'll find exactly what you need to start...
Published on 8 Mar 2000

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok introduction to ASP databases, but very long winded
I bought this book after reading Wrox's "Beginning Active Server Pages 3.0" thinking it would expand on the three chapters on databases. After wading through a few chapters, I began to realise that I was learning very little more. "Beginning ASP Databases" doesn't go into much more depth but seems to explain things much less concisely. I may be...
Published on 13 Nov 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Primer, well written, ideal for the ASP rookie., 8 Mar 2000
By A Customer
If you're relatively new to the world of ASP-ADO and looking for a launch pad for database work with this technology then BUY THIS BOOK. It starts off running you through the installation of ASP for Win95/98 and NT (something that is taken for granted in most books). On the front cover you'll notice the author says, "You'll find exactly what you need to start using databases in your ASP pages" - this is very true and the style in which it is written is very user-friendly and logical. Obviously you will want to graduate onto something a bit more advanced once you get the hang of ADO, but for starters, so long as you have a basic grasp of ASP, this is ideal. Bravo, Monsieur Kauffman, you da man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ASP & Access Database Book!, 19 Feb 2005
This book teaches you more about programming with Access Databases than ASP! But if thats what your after, than this book is what you need!
Before i read this book, i knew nothing about using access with ASP. Now i can Display, update, delete, add and search records using ASP with databases. If your looking to build dynamic web sites such as content managment, guest books, message boards etc.. this is what you want. On every page, there is a clear description and any code is broken down into sections so you can clearly understand it! This book explains how you can use access with ASP. It also explains how to use other basic ASP functions such as sessions, cookies, Objects, SQL statments, POST, GET and Security features.
If you are new to ASP, you may find it a little hard to understand. But if you Know the basics of ASP you should find this easy!
If you are serious about Web Programming, i would look into buying a SQL database book aswell as Access is slow when there are more than 2 people connected to the database! But all - in - all, this book is great! I mostly use this book as a reference when building new web applications!
10/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource book for ASP Databases, 17 May 2001
Taught me all I was looking for, i.e. how to link ASP pages to databases. The book recommends prior knowledge of ASP scripting, but it is so comprehensive that you don't need to know it beforehand (I didn't). It guides you through setting up Microsoft Personal Web Server, linking it to your Access Database, and constantly points out the main pitfalls encountered in each process. Overall, very good value, but it's a shame there was no CD with the source code included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok introduction to ASP databases, but very long winded, 13 Nov 2001
By A Customer
I bought this book after reading Wrox's "Beginning Active Server Pages 3.0" thinking it would expand on the three chapters on databases. After wading through a few chapters, I began to realise that I was learning very little more. "Beginning ASP Databases" doesn't go into much more depth but seems to explain things much less concisely. I may be mistaken, but it also uses wildly different programming conventions than other similar Wrox titles, making the example code more difficult to follow. I would recommend "Beginning Active Server Pages 3.0" as a clearer, more concise introduction to ASP databases, even though it only devotes three chapters to the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book!, 27 May 2000
By A Customer
This book is the best introduction to ASP databases, even if you know nothing AT ALL about ASP itself, it still manages to get you through setting everything up within a couple of chapters, and before you know it, you've got yourself a live webserver to play around with!
If you know nothing about the subject and you buy this book, you will definitely not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got confident after the 4th chapter, 10 Aug 2000
There are 17 chapters in this book and I was confident enough to start coding after chapter 4 and got it right first time. This is exactly the kind of book I like to read. It makes absolutely no assumptions whatsoever. Examples are given throughout with every (and I mean every) single line of code explained in detail. Even when you move to the next examples it still explains the same things again just in case you decide to browse to a particular page. I got into this book because I was disappointed at the way MS Access promised to "Export" your database and files into HTML and ASP. The results were not only filled with syntax errors but also completely bad code. This book gave me the confidence to forget what Microsoft tried to produce and actually go it alone and code by hand. Thanks John, this book is an absolute godsend. If the other books in the series are written in the same style then I will certainly buy them. Vincent De Mello
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for beginners - A quality book, 2 Mar 2001
By A Customer
I had known some ASP and VBscript, but wanted to know the real use of microsoft's ASP technology. The book not only shows you the basics but guides you towards real life applications and where you can really use ASP. Offers good examples and is also an excellent reference guide, basically a good all round quiality book, money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the beard scare you, 7 Sep 2008
After landing a job working on an intranet where everything is ASP, and not knowing the first thing about it, I had to learn fast. This book taught me a lot, and even enabled me to show the old hands one or two things they knew nothing about.

I've got a shelf full of Wrox titles, many of which start off simple enough but lose me before halfway. This book is different though, if you actually 'try out' the 'try it outs' by typing them in (instead of just downloading them), and follow the excellent line-by-line explanations that follow every example, you will quickly become familiar with the techniques required to make ASP work for you. The end of chapter exercises are perfect for reinforcing all what you've just learned.

Great credit must go to the author, as this is probably the first technical book that I have read cover-to-cover and have, on the whole, understood everything.

On a technical note, in every example the author uses DSN, and quite often relies on implicit connections. If you have trouble with this - as I did - then use an explicit connection (see page 188) and OLEDB instead, e.g.:

Set objConn = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
objConn.Provider = "Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0"
objConn.Open "C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\db\Sailors.mdb"
Set objRS = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
objRS.Open "People", objConn

instead of:

Set objRs = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
objRs.Open "People", "DSN=sailors"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Primer for web database connectivity, 12 Nov 1999
I think this is an excellently laid out and readable book. I have myself graduated from web design with html and javascript to ASP's only recently, and this book has helped me develop my ASP, VBScript and ADO skills. Combined with the ASP 2.0 Programmers reference, you can't go far wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for beginners, 12 Mar 2000
By A Customer
I found this book invaluable with a lot of easy to follow coding and annotation. My only complaint is the lack of delving into joins and one-many relationships and browsing. Otherwise, I truly recommend this book to beginners and also to those brushing up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginning ASP Databases
Beginning ASP Databases by Thearon Willis (Paperback - 9 July 2010)
22.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews