Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen of the Flowers, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Queen of the Flowers (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
Phryne Fisher, beautiful and rich, has been selected as Queen of the Flowers. Her four attendants are causing her some problems and when one of them disappears Phryne is asked by a businessman to investigate and bring her back.

Then one of Phryne's own adopted daughters, Ruth, goes missing and is found to have been kidnapped and she has problems of her own. The circus and the carnival are in town and Phryne meets some old friends and makes some new ones including three elephants.

I enjoyed this book and found it absorbing reading. I love the characters especially Phryne's household - her two daughters, Jane and Ruth and her companion Dot Williams and Mr and Mrs Butler who make the house run like clockwork. I also liked the elephants with their liking for toffee apples and their gentleness with humans. It was nice to see Dot's fiancé Hugh Collins playing a part in this story as well as old favourites, Bert and Cec.

The intertwining threads of the story are spangled with humorous touches but there are also serious issues including the problems surrounding contacting parents of adopted children and underage sexual relationships.

The deeper issues touched upon make this series more than just light reading and I find the historical background of Melbourne in 1928 brings the story to life. These stories could not have been set anywhere else at any other time as they are so much intertwined with their background. I recommend this series to anyone who likes something a bit different in historical crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another good read, 11 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen of the Flowers (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
Phryne Fisher has problems nearer to home to solve in this one.As often happens in her stories, the past comes back to help her, as well as her legion of friends.
I just love Cec and Bert - too right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High standard maintained, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read so many Phryne Fishers that I approach them with the expectation of a good, entertaining and well-researched read. This one does not disappoint. The period is well established, the characters just about plausible, and the writing very workmanlike. A well satisfied reader - and I am fussy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but poorly proofed., 18 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent story, well-told and engaging, but - and I'm afraid it's quite a big but - the editing and proofreading of the Kindle version is frankly dire. Sentences are separated, starting new paragraphs in a very confusing way. Chapter headings run into the body text and, worst of all, towards the end some sentences have floated from their proper places into quite unrelated text. Presumably none of this applies to the print version, so I'm honestly puzzled as to why it should be in the Kindle version.

The publishers really need to see to this, as it rather spoils an otherwise good read.

Story - *****, production - **
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Greenwood , as always, 14 July 2013
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Queen of the Flowers (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
Queen of the Flowers is the fourteenth book in the popular Phryne Fisher series by Australian author, Kerry Greenwood. For the 1928 Flower Festival in St Kilda, Phryne is to be Queen of the Flowers. Appropriate outfits and Flower Maidens have to be organised, adding to Phryne's usual busy schedule. On top of this, Ruth, one of Phryne's adopted daughters, is intent on finding her father; an acquaintance (or two) from Phryne's days in England turn up; and she receives a cryptic card in the post. Then one of the Flower Maidens goes missing, and Ruth fails to return home. This instalment has elephants, musical sailors, TB, a Gambling Boat, someone performing CPR, a miserly grandfather, a dangerous man with a shotgun and, finally, a parade. Bert and Cec, Dot, Jane and Ruth, Li Pen and Lin Chung all do their part, and the Butlers provide background support. Mr Butler's Refreshing Cocktail is helpfully provided in the appendix. Each chapter ends with some communication between two people that sheds light on Ruth's parentage. Characters from several earlier books rate mentions or cameos, but this book can be enjoyed without having read previous instalments. Phryne fans will enjoy revisiting this unique household with its adopted daughters, ladies maids, and a Chinese lover whose wife designs his lover's garden. My favourite passage: "The day dawned far too bright and fair......Dot was awake, dressed and characteristically cheerful. Dot liked dawn. Phryne only liked it from the other side." Excellent Greenwood , as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much better then the TV programmes, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Much more lively than the dumbed down TV series, with the rude bits left in. An enjoyable series, of which this is a good example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It a good read, 14 Jan 2014
By 
thebakery (East sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It 's a good read they all are - Please remove the ,minimum required words. What else can I say ??????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than a mystery book, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book and all the series touches often on the condition of women during this era and their struggle to gain recognition. Lets not forget that the events take place close to the historical period of the suffragette movement. It also addresses issues related to the ideological struggle close to the Russian Revolution era and the deep economic crisis in Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars books by Kerry Greenwood, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really enjoy her books,in fact i am reading this one for the second time. i would recommend these stories
to anyone who fancies something diifferent, (set in Australia 1928) murder mystery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen of the Flowers (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
Fantastic service very reasonable prices as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Queen of the Flowers (Phryne Fisher Mysteries)
Queen of the Flowers (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) by Kerry Greenwood (Paperback - 26 Jun 2012)
£9.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews