Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood and Circuses
A murder takes place in a lodging house inside a locked room. It is discovered when blood starts dripping through the ceiling into the room below. The victim is a member of Farrell's circus. Phryne Fisher is approached by some old friends of hers and asked if she can look into some strange goings on at the circus which threaten to put it out of business. Investigating...
Published 14 months ago by Damaskcat

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shame it's poor compared to the other books!
I watched the programmes and started reading the books, absolutely loving them. Unfortunately by book six, Ms Greenwood, seems to have lost the plot! Maybe be she was under the cosh from the publishers, who knows, but Blood and Circuses was poor compared to the rest. Absolute messy twaddle!
Published 12 months ago by Telaloopy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood and Circuses, 1 Nov 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blood and Circuses (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
A murder takes place in a lodging house inside a locked room. It is discovered when blood starts dripping through the ceiling into the room below. The victim is a member of Farrell's circus. Phryne Fisher is approached by some old friends of hers and asked if she can look into some strange goings on at the circus which threaten to put it out of business. Investigating will mean Phryne joining the circus for a time.

I really enjoyed this book and stayed up late to finish it. The background is well drawn and it really bought behind the scenes at the circus to life for me. Phryne discovers it's a whole different world when she disguises herself as Fern - the trick horse rider. She learns to stand on the back of a horse while it is cantering round the ring and even to do handstands. She also finds an unexpected ally in a bear called Bruno who has a passion for ginger biscuits.

I thought the characters were well drawn and I especially liked some of the people involved in the police side of the investigation - Lizard Elsie and the young police constable - Tommy Harris. It was nice to see Jack Robinson playing a bigger than usual part in the story as well. The book - like all I've read in this series so far - is well written with lots of humour and some marvellous characters.

If you like your crime novels with an interesting background which is meticulously researched then give this series a try. It helps if you read them in the right order - starting with Cocaine Blues (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) but they can be read as stand-alone stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The whole series is excellent, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an audio cd set which I find easy to listen to on long periods in the car. The whole series is extremely well written and Kerry Greenwood never lets down her high standards. Excellent all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood and Circuses (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
Really enjoying Kerry Greenwood's series of Miss Fisher Mysteries. Phryne is addictive reading and I'm looking forward to the next one. If you've never tried this series of books I highly recommend them. Hard to put down and great narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Greenwood masterpiece, 6 April 2012
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blood and Circuses (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
Blood and Circuses is the 6th of the Phryne Fisher series by Kerry Greenwood. A bored Phryne is convinced by carnie friends to help solve the mystery of a series of strange happenings at Farrell's Circus: happenings which have culminated in the murder of a performer in his bedroom at Mrs Witherspoon's boarding house. Phryne's undercover role entails riding, standing and falling off horses, leading to a rather bruised heroine before she finally masters the art. As Phryne investigates, she encounters a myriad of characters as only a circus can harbour, as well as a cast of carnies and gypsies. How the rival gangs of Melbourne are involved in it all is something that Constable Tommy Harris and DI Jack Robinson need to discover, or the young, innocent ex-convict charged with the murder may be headed for the gallows. Phryne illustrates in this instalment just how sexually liberated she really is; she also discovers how happiness can be eroded by even a self-imposed exposure to reduced circumstances. Filled with bright lights, the big top, dangerous animals and interesting performers, is the circus all illusion? Another Greenwood masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 22 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood and Circuses (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
Good set of books have read them all in order without reading anything else. Funny too, good characters and descriptions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct 2014
By 
Roger Verallo (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A repeat of my review of Flying too High
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shame it's poor compared to the other books!, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood and Circuses (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
I watched the programmes and started reading the books, absolutely loving them. Unfortunately by book six, Ms Greenwood, seems to have lost the plot! Maybe be she was under the cosh from the publishers, who knows, but Blood and Circuses was poor compared to the rest. Absolute messy twaddle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Check differences, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood and Circuses (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
This was bought as a birthday gift, my friend liked the TV series and wanted to see what the differences were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood and Circuses (Phryne Fisher Mysteries)
Blood and Circuses (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) by Kerry Greenwood (Paperback - 6 Jan 2011)
Used & New from: £52.10
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews