Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder in a bookshop
A young man is found dead in a bookshop. Jack Robinson is convinced the bookshop owner, Miss Lee, did the deed and arrests her. Phryne Fisher is hired by Mr Abrahams, the man who owns the property in which the bookshop is situated, to find the murderer as he does not believe Miss Lee did it and fears an Anti-Semitic attack because the victim is Jewish. Phryne does not...
Published on 28 Feb. 2012 by Damaskcat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much history. not enough detection
I generally enjoy Kerry Greenwood's books and this was still a gripping read, but I felt that the author was trying to air her acquired knowledge to the disadvantage of the plot. I like authors who do their research properly (and many of them appear not to)but this book tended to drift too much into academic pursuit. Still it gets three atars and will not deter me from...
Published on 12 Nov. 2012 by C. B. Tomkinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder in a bookshop, 28 Feb. 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A young man is found dead in a bookshop. Jack Robinson is convinced the bookshop owner, Miss Lee, did the deed and arrests her. Phryne Fisher is hired by Mr Abrahams, the man who owns the property in which the bookshop is situated, to find the murderer as he does not believe Miss Lee did it and fears an Anti-Semitic attack because the victim is Jewish. Phryne does not believe that Miss Lee did the deed either.

This is an intriguing murder mystery with an exciting and dangerous climax. It involves alchemy and chemistry and strange parchments in foreign languages not to speak of a new lover for Phryne and some new friends. I thought the murder involved an ingenious and unusual method and the plot had me guessing almost to the last few pages. The book is well written with many touches of humour and some brilliant descriptions of Melbourne life in the 1920s.

If you like your crime novels with interesting characters and intriguing plots then give this series a try. They can be read in any order but it helps if you start with the first one Cocaine Blues (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) as you can then follow the development of and the additions to the series characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raisins and Almonds, 7 Nov. 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Raisins and Almonds (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
A young man is found dead in a bookshop. Jack Robinson is convinced the bookshop owner, Miss Lee, did the deed and arrests her. Phryne Fisher is hired by Mr Abrahams, the man who owns the property in which the bookshop is situated, to find the murderer as he does not believe Miss Lee did it and fears an Anti-Semitic attack because the victim is Jewish. Phryne does not believe that Miss Lee did the deed either.

This is an intriguing murder mystery with an exciting and dangerous climax. It involves alchemy and chemistry and strange parchments in foreign languages not to speak of a new lover for Phryne and some new friends. I thought the murder involved an ingenious and unusual method and the plot had me guessing almost to the last few pages. The book is well written with many touches of humour and some brilliant descriptions of Melbourne life in the 1920s.

If you like your crime novels with interesting characters and intriguing plots then give this series a try. They can be read in any order but it helps if you start with the first one Cocaine Blues (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) as you can then follow the development of and the additions to the series characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars anoher Greenwood winner, 29 Aug. 2012
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Raisins and Almonds (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
Raisins and Almonds is the ninth novel in the popular Phryne Fisher series by Kerry Greenwood. With her lover Lin Chung in Shanghai, Phryne is enjoying the attentions of a beautiful Jewish boy, Simon Abrahams. But soon, his father summons her, not to reproach, but to hire her to solve a murder. Benjamin Abrahams' tenant, Miss Sylvia Lee, has been arrested for murder when a young Jew from Salonika dies of strychnine poisoning in her Eastern Market bookshop. Everyone who knows Miss Lee is convinced she is innocent, but DI Jack Robinson has no other suspect, so Phryne has to find the murderer if Miss Lee is to go free. Plenty of curious clues (a cut finger, missing rat poison, some unsaleable books, old parchment drawings with unknown symbols, mystery customers, poisoned birds) soon have Phryne on the trail of the murderer. As usual, she has the capable assistance of Bert and Cec, but this time Dot takes on a much bigger detection role than usual, and even Phryne's adopted daughters, Ruth and Jane, are enlisted to gather information. The Jewish aspect means lots of references to, and interesting information about, the Torah, Kosher food, Rabbis and Zionist politics, but alchemy and the Kabala are also touched on. There are quite a lot of Yiddish words, so a handy Yiddish glossary appears at the end. An interesting plot with a few red herrings, but, as usual, Phryne manages to tie up all the loose ends with style and panache. Another Greenwood winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Phryne!!, 4 Feb. 2009
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
First Sentence: The ranked books exhaled leather and dust, a comforting scent.

Private investigator, the Honorable Phryne Fisher, is hired by Benjamin Abrahams, a respected member of Melbourne's Jewish community. Miss Sylvia Lee is comfortable with her life as a single woman and owner of a bookstore. A man died suddenly in her shop, Sylvia has been arrested for murder and Mr. Benjamin, with his lovely son Simon, wants Phryne's help proving Sylvia innocent.

I want to be Phryne. She is smart, stylish, beautiful, sensual, independent, cleaver, caring and doesn't forget her roots of poverty even though she is now wealthy. Her life now includes a great cast of supporting characters; both those introduced in past books--I love that Dot, Phryne's maid, is coming into her own--and now Molly, the puppy. All the characters are wonderful, realistic, appropriate to the time and adding dimension to the story.

Greenwood creates a wonderful sense of, not only time and place, but social history. Here, we have the Jewish residents, information on alchemy, John Dee, the Torah and the Holy Kabala as well as Zionism and the desire for a Jewish homeland. Greenwood does an excellent job of combining the information into the story without it ever taking you out of the story.

I always enjoy Greenwood use of dialogue. Being set in 1920s Australia, I enjoyed figuring out the meaning of some idioms with which I was not previously familiar, such as "Phryne beguiled the rest of the afternoon."

The mystery itself is well done solved by legwork, logic and a wonderful bit of clever thinking on Phryne's part at the end. I was half right in figuring it out but love that I was only half right. This was another very good entry into a series I shall continue to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much history. not enough detection, 12 Nov. 2012
By 
C. B. Tomkinson "Bland" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raisins and Almonds (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
I generally enjoy Kerry Greenwood's books and this was still a gripping read, but I felt that the author was trying to air her acquired knowledge to the disadvantage of the plot. I like authors who do their research properly (and many of them appear not to)but this book tended to drift too much into academic pursuit. Still it gets three atars and will not deter me from reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More too stuff from Phryne, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I listened to this in the car. It was well read and enjoyable. The series is good value and easy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Read, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raisins and Almonds (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
Really enjoying Kerry Greenwood's series of Miss Fisher Mysteries. Phrynne is addictive reading and I'm looking forward to the next one. If you've never tried this series of books I highly recommend them. Hard to put down and great narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Raisings and Almonds, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just like all Kerry Greenwood Fisher mysteries. They are well researched and well written and bring to life a part of the Roaring Twenties on the other side of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1920s intrigue, great stuff., 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raisins and Almonds (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
Yet another great read in the Phryne Fisher series. Although the book is not overly long it packs a lot into its 202 pages of mystery and suspense. A great holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More page-turning detection, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have got really hooked on the Phryne Fisher series and this is well up to standard. A compelling backdrop, interesting and well-written characters and a tense finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raisins and Almonds (Phryne Fisher Mysteries)
Raisins and Almonds (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) by Kerry Greenwood (Paperback - 2 Feb. 2012)
Used & New from: £43.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews