Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earthly Delights.
Corinna Chapman runs a bakery called Earthly Delights. One morning she finds what appears to be a dead body outside her shop. The body turns out not to be dead but through the discovery Corinna meets Daniel - a devastatingly handsome man who is involved in feeding the homeless in the city of Melbourne. The residents of Corinna's apartment block are receiving threatening...
Published on 20 Oct. 2012 by Damaskcat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars okay read but prefer pharyne fisher
It was okay but I felt that it was a bit disjointed, and the characters seemed to appear out of nowhere, and although there was supposed to be a mystery with the main male character it just annoyed me. The ending was fine, if a little predictable, I hope that as the series goes on it will improve
Published 20 months ago by S. Phipps


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earthly Delights., 20 Oct. 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Corinna Chapman runs a bakery called Earthly Delights. One morning she finds what appears to be a dead body outside her shop. The body turns out not to be dead but through the discovery Corinna meets Daniel - a devastatingly handsome man who is involved in feeding the homeless in the city of Melbourne. The residents of Corinna's apartment block are receiving threatening anonymous letters which are making them all feel very unsafe and graffiti is appearing on the walls overnight.

In between trying to find why drug addicts are ending up dead on an almost daily basis and who is behind the anonymous letters and the graffiti Corinna must get the bread and muffins baked on time which involves getting up at four in morning. Fortunately she has some willing helpers and some fascinating neighbours. There is a witch, a retired professor, a gardener, some computer geeks and a dominatrix who frequents the local Goth club - Blood Lines. There are also the three cats - Horatio and the Mouse Police - Heckle and Jekyll.

I enjoyed this intriguing mystery with its many strands and fantastic characters. The scenes in the Goth club are absolute classics. The book is narrated by Corinna herself who is a no nonsense feisty lady in her thirties who doesn't believe in doing what is expected of her. If you enjoy books populated with eccentric characters then you will enjoy this first book in the Corinna Chapman series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warm and tasty as a fresh loaf of bread, 11 July 2012
By 
R. Larkin "Rosemarie" (Greencastle, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Earthly Delights (Paperback)
Kerry Greenwood's Corinna Chapman series about an accountant turned baker came as a welcome exception to the recent general dumbing down of the 3C (coffee, crafting, cooking) mysteries. Corinna owns and operates Earthly Delights, a small bakery in center city Melbourne, Australia. It is located on the first floor of the Insula, a quirky apartment building designed like an ancient Roman villa. Corinna used the buyout from her accounting job to purchase both the bakery and her apartment, named (not numbered) Hebe, directly above it with her house cat Horatio. A pair of stray cats perform rodent patrol in the bakery at night.

Corinna operates her bakery with only some part time counter help, so her days are long. In Earthly Delights she opens her bakery door early one morning to let her rodent police, Heckle and Jekyll, out and finds a young girl dying in the street, apparently of a drug overdose. While Corinna's quick response saves the girl, a series of similar drug-related deaths begin to occur around the city. Meanwhile, Corinna and her neighbors in the Insula are being harassed by an anonymous religious fanatic who leaves threatening letters and defaces and damages the shops. While this series has a wonderful cozy feel to it, there is some rough language - it is the inner city, after all - and some sweet not too explicit sex. Corinna and her community remind me of Armistead Maupin's characters in Tales of the City; bittersweet and charmingly funny. I was so enchanted by the setting, characters, and irreverent Australian humor in Earthly Delights that I have ordered the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Domina Corinna, 30 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought nobody was the equal of Phryne Fisher but here she is in modern Melbourne, the feisty dominatrix Corinna, baker extraordinaire, amateur sleuthing, cat loving, big, and I do mean plump, gorgeous Corinna. She lives in an amazing Roman style building, has eccentric neighbours and in this first book acquires a sexy lover to rival Phryne's handsome Lin Chung.. baking, detecting, sex, what more could you ask for? A splendid read. Roll on the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed the book but I still prefer the Phryn Fisher books by Kerry Greenwood., 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed the Phryn Fisher books and thought I would try a Corinna Chapman Mystery. I did enjoy it, the style of writing was good and the characters off-beat but it did take me a bit longer to take to the characters and care what happened to them. I would read more of these stories as by the end of this book the characters, especially the main character Corinna had grown on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars okay read but prefer pharyne fisher, 7 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was okay but I felt that it was a bit disjointed, and the characters seemed to appear out of nowhere, and although there was supposed to be a mystery with the main male character it just annoyed me. The ending was fine, if a little predictable, I hope that as the series goes on it will improve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fun Australian murder mystery, 22 Oct. 2011
An enjoyable story that romps along, with plenty of amusing scenes and some unexpected twists. The characters are welldrawn and engage you in their adventures. I look forward to reading more of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Baking Bread, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was quite surprised by this story and liked Corinna Chapman's character. The storyline was quaint and unusual. Not your ordinary detective novel and very different to the stories involving Phryne Fisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nothing like her miss fisher books, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not one that i would save was read able but thats all i can say would not go out of my way to look for other maybe i have been spoiled by miss fisher novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like as good as the Miss Fisher series, 24 Oct. 2014
By 
W. Crawford "W. Crawford" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of padding - mainly about baking, a bit about cats. Very little about detective story.
Nothing like as good as the Miss Fisher series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Earthly delightts, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have just met for the first time Corinna Chapman, am really enjoying the series, keeps you guessing right to the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Earthly Delights (Corinna Chapman Mysteries)
Earthly Delights (Corinna Chapman Mysteries) by Kerry Greenwood (Hardcover - 15 Jun. 2007)
Used & New from: £1.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews