Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More excellent Greenwood
The Castlemaine Murders is the thirteenth book in the popular Phryne Fisher series by Australian author, Kerry Greenwood. On the Ghost Train at Luna Park on a fun day out with her daughters, Phryne accidentally exposes a Cowboy dummy as a mummified, long-dead corpse. As Phryne investigates further, it becomes apparent that someone doesn't want her to discover the corpse's...
Published 17 months ago by Cloggie Downunder

versus
4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of a nice setting...
Upon finding myself with time to spare in a library one morning, my eye chanced upon this book, one of a series of which I had previous perused a few & found them wanting. Returning to the fabulous adventures of dear Phryne after several years increased my dislike of the woman. She is is the absolutely perfectest person on the planet & the reader's main response is to...
Published on 3 July 2007 by Rampaging Hippogriff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More excellent Greenwood, 24 April 2013
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Castlemaine Murders (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
The Castlemaine Murders is the thirteenth book in the popular Phryne Fisher series by Australian author, Kerry Greenwood. On the Ghost Train at Luna Park on a fun day out with her daughters, Phryne accidentally exposes a Cowboy dummy as a mummified, long-dead corpse. As Phryne investigates further, it becomes apparent that someone doesn't want her to discover the corpse's true identity. But why? To complicate matters, Phryne's younger sister, Eliza has arrived without warning from England. Phryne's lover, Lin Chung has his hands full with family matters and is trying to find some stolen Lin family nuggets from the goldfields in the mid-19th century. Their separate investigations lead them to a thrilling climax at Castlemaine. As always, Greenwood has done her research and provides the reader with interesting tidbits about mummification, embalming, tattoos, travelling shows, autopsy, the Victorian gold rush, Chinese blood feuds, gods and the art of negotiation. Letters home from a Chinese coolie add an interesting point of view. In this instalment, Dot is almost run down by a motorcyclist, Phryne's mail is explosive, several venerable old Chinese feature and Phryne is kidnapped (again!!). Characters from previous novels (Death Before Wicket and Blood and Circuses) make an appearance, and the importance of spelling and pronunciation become apparent. More excellent Greenwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Danger for Phryne, 8 Mar 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Phryne visits Luna Park - imagine Alton Towers in the nineteen twenties - and discovers a body in the ghost train. It is actually a mummified body which could date back to the 1870s. Naturally she is fascinated and starts investigating and soon starts receiving threats.

Her lover, Lin Chung, has managed to settle a feud with another Chinese immigrant family and wants to search for a large quantity of gold which went missing in the area of Castlemaine about the time the body was mummified in the same area. Phryne's sister, Eliza, is staying with her as she has fallen out with their father but they are not getting on too well.

This is an intriguing and well plotted mystery. I found the insight into Chinese customs fascinating and I loved the ways Lin Chung dealt with some of his distant relatives' problems in Castlemaine. I liked the way past and present are linked in the story and the glimpse the reader gets of life in the nineteenth century during the gold rush.

I find this series an entertaining and absorbing read. I think the characters are well drawn and I like the touches of humour and the ways in which the series characters are developing especially Phryne herself. I recommend this series to anyone who enjoys Carola Dunn's Daisy Dalrymple series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Castlemaine Murders, 10 Jan 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Castlemaine Murders (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
Excellent Phryne Fisher murder mystery set in the 1920s. A great example of the Kerry Greenwood's work, always keeps you guessing until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Castlemaine Murders, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Phryne visits Luna Park - imagine Alton Towers in the nineteen twenties - and discovers a body in the ghost train. It is actually a mummified body which could date back to the 1870s. Naturally she is fascinated and starts investigating and soon starts receiving threats.

Her lover, Lin Chung, has managed to settle a feud with another Chinese immigrant family and wants to search for a large quantity of gold which went missing in the area of Castlemaine about the time the body was mummified in the same area. Phryne's sister, Eliza, is staying with her as she has fallen out with their father but they are not getting on too well.

This is an intriguing and well plotted mystery. I found the insight into Chinese customs fascinating and I loved the ways Lin Chung dealt with some of his distant relatives' problems in Castlemaine. I liked the way past and present are linked in the story and the glimpse the reader gets of life in the nineteenth century during the gold rush.

I find this series an entertaining and absorbing read. I think the characters are well drawn and I like the touches of humour and the ways in which the series characters are developing especially Phryne herself. I recommend this series to anyone who enjoys Carola Dunn's Daisy Dalrymple series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent thriller, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book that I couldn't put down, even during the day, much against my usual reading pattern. I only ever read novels in bed just before going to sleep. I would recommend the Miss Phyrne Fisher books to any reader who enjoys a thriller scattered with a bit of romance ans some very stylish upper class activities. Hope you enjoy these books as much as I do. I hope Kerry keeps on writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read again, 14 Jan 2014
By 
thebakery (East sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It 's a good read they all are - Please remove the ,minimum required words. What else can I say ??????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is beautifully read and being a huge fan of the television series, I will be ordering more of these audio books. However, although an exciting and detailed story, with well rounded characters, I found the frequent referrals to ancient Chinese texts at the start of each chapter, strangely annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
these books are brilliant and I find them very enjoyable to read I am becoming quite addicted to them and cannot wait to order more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another cannot put it down, it is getting expensive buying them all, so I have gone back to Jack Reacher for a while as I bought them some while ago & they slot in nicely with Phryne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of a nice setting..., 3 July 2007
This review is from: The Castlemaine Murders (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
Upon finding myself with time to spare in a library one morning, my eye chanced upon this book, one of a series of which I had previous perused a few & found them wanting. Returning to the fabulous adventures of dear Phryne after several years increased my dislike of the woman. She is is the absolutely perfectest person on the planet & the reader's main response is to want to slap her. She is "posh" but doen't let it interfere in her interactions with lesser beings; she has a maid, but they're really like bestest friends; she has a married lover, but his wife approves; she has a lovely house with staff; a gorgeous car; a drool-worthy wardrobe; is understanding, open minded, accepting of others' differences and has adopted two common little orphan girls. While the mysteries themselves are diverting and the descriptions of Melbourne wonderful, one spends most of the book hoping that the heroine will be pushed under a train or one of those zippy Melbourne trams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Castlemaine Murders (Phryne Fisher Mysteries)
The Castlemaine Murders (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) by Kerry Greenwood (Paperback - 15 Mar 2008)
9.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews