Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pirates and Fairies, 4 Mar 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Detective Jack Robinson asks Phryne Fisher for help in his latest murder investigation. A lady called Miss Lavender who draws flower fairies and writes stories about them has been found dead from cyanide poisoning. Phryne is soon intrigued by the case and takes a job on a woman's magazine, for which Miss Lavender worked, to see if she can unravel the mystery. Discerning readers may recognise references to Dorothy L Sayers' Murder Must Advertise in the author's description of work on a magazine.

Phryne's mind is not wholly on the job because she is worried about her favourite lover, Lin Chung, who has gone missing on a silk buying trip to China. It is this part of the plot which gives the book a very exciting and tension filled ending which kept me reading long after I intended to go to sleep.

I really enjoyed this book as the plot is complex and exciting and I found it interesting to see another side to Phryne herself with her cold implacable anger which stops any opposition to her plans in its tracks. On the surface this series is quite light hearted but there is always a hint of darkness underneath which gives the books their depth.

If you enjoy the Daisy Dalrymple series by Carola Dunn or the Edward Corinth and Verity Browne mysteries by David Roberts you may enjoy Phryne Fisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good addition, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One more in this enjoyable series about an flapper girl private detective in Australia, with a decidedly modern take on the role of women. morals, etc. good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its a good read as usual, 14 Jan 2014
By 
thebakery (East sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It 's a good read they all are - Please remove the ,minimum required words. What else can I say ??????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: Away With the Fairies LP (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
Love the books, great characters, great plots, always good twists and its interesting to find a less well behaved sleuth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Super Read, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all Miss Fisher books and i cannot wait for the next one to come on kindle and I have kept the programes on T V as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars review, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very entertaining and easy to read! The characters are well-defined and believable. The whole thing was very enjoyable. The fashion described is very flamboyant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Fisher again, 7 Nov 2013
By 
Hazel LUCAS "CONWAY" (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book, excellent plot, admirable if amazing heroine. I also admire the way she handles her huge number of characters which she has inherited from earlier books. I would be tempted to kill a few of them off to simplify the book, but she has no problem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Away with the fairies, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy the fact that all Kerry Greenwood's stories are set in Australia in the 20's. Her characters are believable though I'm not always sure a wealthy girl like Phrynne would be quite so erotic! Nevertheless a good read and I shall continue reading books from this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little bit Urder Must Advertise, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the magazine backdrop when Phryne takes a job there, just as I enjoyed the advertising agency Lord Peter Whimsy worked at. The period detail really seems to work - although I admit I know nothing about 1920s Melbourne - but the details seem to ring true. I suppose the murder victim is partly based on May Gibbs (google the gum nut babies if you've never heard of her). Oh, and one of the magazine's advertisers Nutrax for Nerves, surely they feature in Murder Must Advertise? Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars delightful dip into 1920's, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Away With the Fairies LP (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
Away With The Fairies is the eleventh novel in the popular Phryne Fisher series by Australian author, Kerry Greenwood. Fresh from solving crimes in Sydney, Phryne is asked by DI Jack Robinson to help out in the investigation of the death of artist and author of fairy tales, Marcelle Lavender. When the autopsy indicates murder by poisoning, Phryne finds herself with three sets of suspects: the residents of the apartment block to which Miss Lavender's Garden Apartment was attached; Miss Lavender's colleagues at "Women's Choice", the magazine to which she contributed; and the writers of letters to the magazine's agony aunt, Artemis, a role also filled by Miss Lavender; as an added wrinkle, some possible suspects belong to two or three categories. Attempts on her life by Chinese thugs, and the likelihood that her lover Lin Chung has been kidnapped in the South China Seas distracts Phyrne's attention from the case. Luckily, Dot is willing to try her hand interviewing suspects, and Cec and Bert find a sailor who can help Phryne track down Lin's location. Greenwood has created another fast-moving murder mystery with plenty of side-tracks to keep the reader guessing. She touches on women's rights in the early 20th century, has Phryne making comment on women's magazines, and includes a wealth of information about piracy, photography, plant diseases, phantom ships, import and export, the smuggling of antiquities and the properties of cyanide. As well as kidnapping, there is mixed marriage, secrets and blackmail, fashion, gardening and of course, fairies. Dot's unfailing support for her boss is truly touching. This is another delightful dip into the 1920's world of Phryne Fisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Away With the Fairies LP (Phryne Fisher Mysteries)
Away With the Fairies LP (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) by Kerry Greenwood (Paperback - 10 Jun 2010)
£13.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews