Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ruddy Gore, 2 Nov. 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Phryne Fisher attends a performance of Gilbert and Sullivan's comic opera, Ruddigore. During the performance two members of the cast collapse on stage and the manager of the theatre, Sir Bernard Tarrant, asks Phryne to go backstage to meet him and investigate the various strange happenings which have afflicted the theatre recently.

Those strange happenings include various sightings of a ghost. The subsequent investigation, and Phryne's involvement on the way to the performance with a fight between two Chinese families also puts her life in danger.

I found this book engrossing reading with its many G&S references and its theatre background. The characters are well drawn and the plot is fast paced and exciting with many possible suspects. The Chinese sub plot is also well done and interesting with some fascinating characters and background.

The Phryne Fisher mysteries are well written and entertaining reading. They are set mainly in Melbourne, Australia in the nineteen twenties and if you enjoy the Daisy Dalrymple series set in the UK in a similar period then you may enjoy Phryne Fisher as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Greenwood masterpiece, 12 May 2012
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Ruddy Gore is the seventh novel in the Phryne Fisher series by Kerry Greenwood. In an eventful night attending a gala performance of Gilbert and Sullivan's Ruddigore at His Majesty's theatre, Phryne and Bunji Ross first rescue an old Chinese woman and her grandson from thugs, then witness the effects of two attempted poisonings. The theatre manager, Sir Bernard Tarrant, implores Phryne to investigate the strange goings-on that have the cast spooked: missing gloves, faked notes, torn up telegrams, whiskey dyed green and the appearance of the ghost of the long-dead Dorothea Curtis, who played the first Rose Maybud. As Phryne works behind the scenes to find answers, she is confronted by a large cast of possible suspects. The Chinese grandson, Lin Chung, keeps turning up, and Phryne finds herself being observed by Chinese wherever she goes. Whilst a working knowledge of Gilbert and Sullivan plays is not essential, it might be helpful for the reader. In the course of her investigations, Phryne attends a spiritualists meeting, searches for lockets and missing babies, looks for birthmarks on several backs, gets a Welsh letter translated, drinks lots of tea and narrowly misses being flattened by a curtain counterweight. Bert Hinkler makes a brief appearance. As usual, Phryne manages to unravel the clues and solve each mystery. Another Greenwood masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gilbert and Sullivan and a mystery, 23 Feb. 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Phryne Fisher attends a performance of Gilbert and Sullivan's comic opera, Ruddigore. During the performance two members of the cast collapse on stage and the manager of the theatre, Sir Bernard Tarrant, asks Phryne to go backstage to meet him and investigate the various strange happenings which have afflicted the theatre recently.

Those strange happenings include various sightings of a ghost. The subsequent investigation, and Phryne's involvement on the way to the performance with a fight between two Chinese families also puts her life in danger.

I found this book engrossing reading with its many G&S references and its theatre background. The characters are well drawn and the plot is fast paced and exciting with many possible suspects. The Chinese sub plot is also well done and interesting with some fascinating characters and background.

The Phryne Fisher mysteries are well written and entertaining reading. They are set mainly in Melbourne, Australia in the nineteen twenties and if you enjoy the Daisy Dalrymple series set in the UK in a similar period then you may enjoy Phryne Fisher as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just love these books about Phryne Fisher, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a superb character Phryne is - you feel you would like to know her - what fun. The style of writing is easy and story lines excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and murder in the theatre., 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A delight, Miss Fisher addresses the problems of a theatre company with panache.

The pace of the book leaves no time to breathe so I finished this one in a single day late at night, trouble was my wife was asleep by then so I had to wait until morning to have the "I never saw that coming" conversation with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A clever mystery and an interesting new man, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book in the Phryne Fisher series - and I hope to see more of Lin Chung in books to come. He strikes me as a very interesting addition to the series and I look forward to seeing how Ms Greenwood deals with him in a realistic manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G and S heaven, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good read. I think you have to be a fan of Gilbert and Sullivan to really appreciate this interesting crime and Phryne Fishers investigations. The many twists and turns of the plot keep you reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining as ever, 20 Sept. 2013
By 
J. Moody (Pinner, Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To be perfectly honest, I think I've already said everything that needs to be said. Once again, I thoroughly enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phryne is the epitome of the lady detective, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kerry Greenwood's characterisation is excellent and her tale telling seems very true to the period and place. I would highly reccomend this especially if you have read the previous books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 24 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Ruddy Gore LP (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) (Paperback)
Love the books, great characters, great plots, always good twists and its interesting to find a less well behaved sleuth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ruddy Gore LP (Phryne Fisher Mysteries)
Ruddy Gore LP (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) by Kerry Greenwood (Paperback - 3 May 2012)
Used & New from: £10.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews