Customer Reviews


21 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In which we learn something about Phryne Fisher's past, 5 Mar. 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Phryne Fisher's friends - Bert and Cec, taxi drivers and wharfies - are worried that some of their former army mates from the Great War are being murdered. Phryne agrees that there seems to be something odd going on and wonders whether it is linked to something they may have witnessed in Paris.

Phryne herself was in Paris at the time but it is part of her life she really doesn't want to recall. Current circumstances force her to confront her fears and deal with the past.

Phryne also has two other cases to investigate - various attacks on a French restaurant whose owner refuses to pay protection money and a kidnapped girl who is about to marry the restaurant owner.

Phyrne's adopted daughters Jane and Ruth play a part in this story with some very good detective work. I really enjoyed this book and I think it is probably my favourite in the series so far. The plot is complex and interesting and kept me guessing until all was revealed. I also enjoyed the update on Lin Chung's marriage plans and the twist that involves.

I thoroughly recommend this series to anyone who likes crime and mystery stories which are a bit different from the norm. There are interesting characters and backgrounds and a touch of humour though this does not stop Phryne and her author, from tackling some complex and serious issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder in Montparnasse, 14 Nov. 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Phryne Fisher's friends - Bert and Cec, taxi drivers and wharfies - are worried that some of their former army mates from the Great War are being murdered. Phryne agrees that there seems to be something odd going on and wonders whether it is linked to something they may have witnessed in Paris.

Phryne herself was in Paris at the time but it is part of her life she really doesn't want to recall. Current circumstances force her to confront her fears and deal with the past.

Phryne also has two other cases to investigate - various attacks on a French restaurant whose owner refuses to pay protection money and a kidnapped girl who is about to marry the restaurant owner.

Phyrne's adopted daughters Jane and Ruth play a part in this story with some very good detective work. I really enjoyed this book and I think it is probably my favourite in the series so far. The plot is complex and interesting and kept me guessing until all was revealed. I also enjoyed the update on Lin Chung's marriage plans and the twist that involves.

I thoroughly recommend this series to anyone who likes crime and mystery stories which are a bit different from the norm. There are interesting characters and backgrounds and a touch of humour though this does not stop Phryne and her author, from tackling some complex and serious issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phryne fans will love it!, 2 Mar. 2013
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Murder in Montparnasse is the twelfth book in the popular Phryne Fisher series by Australian author, Kerry Greenwood. A request from the French chef/owner of Café Anatole to locate a missing prospective young bride has Phryne thinking back to her time in Paris in 1918. Shortly after, Bert and Cec ask for Phryne's help with the suspicious death of two of their mates from the war: they believe others in their group of seven diggers are in danger. Discussion leads Phryne to conclude that they witnessed the murder under a Metro train at Montparnasse of a Parisian artist, Pierre Sarcelle. Coincidentally, Phryne was also in Paris at the time, and had posed for Sarcelle. Memories both good and bad flood in. On top of this, Phryne's plan to continue seeing the soon-to-be-married Lin Chung has Mr Butler threatening the unthinkable. This instalment has an arsonist, standover merchants, a cranky father, a ransom note, a car theft gang, lots of French food, some cross-dressing, spiked drinks and a tin of Best Seville Orange Marmalade. Phryne enlists the help of Ruth and Jane in some undercover pursuit, meets Jack Robinson's wife Rosie and Lin Chung's prospective wife Camillia and foils an eviction. Hugh Collins accidentally solves a crime in Mildura and Jack Robinson makes a daring food choice. Greenwood gives the reader a bit more of Phryne's backstory with her activities in Paris amongst the famous and infamous, as well as a cracking good mystery with plenty of intrigue, some excellent twists and a bit of irony. Phryne fans will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice addition to the series - with flashbacks to Phryne's past, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this novel in the Phryne Fisher series especially because it gave us more information on Phyrne's past. We've had hints before, but this sets down in concrete what she got up to in Paris, how she came to be there, and some more of the background to her departure for Melbourne.

Easy, fun reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wit,and a good story, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had seen some of the series on TV and my wife is reading her way through the series. When on holiday we swopped books and I got to read this and another Phryne Fisher.

What a revelation, fast paced, well written, very funny and so well researched. I am a First World War history buff and the sub plot with the Diggers was spot on. Also loved the account of Paris at the end of the war.

I am now in love with Miss Fisher, however I will have to let my wife know about my infatuation as I am about to order a stack of additional reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another finely crafted tale, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kerry Greenwood has created another fine mixture of humour, intrigue and cultural references, presented via her resourceful and prescient heroine, Phryne Fisher.

A great yarn, although there are a few jarring errors in the French phrases, but not enough to spoil the overall enjoyment of the book.

Recommended for anyone who is looking for a crime story with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not for e-readers, 14 Jan. 2014
Totally bonkers policy by the publishers, offering only the first three books on kindle and then a handful of later titles, but the vast majority of the Phryne Fisher titles being forbidden to Kindle readers. When the publishers and distributors get their act together and bother issuing the series in the same format, then I'll be able to read this book in its original context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very nice!, 18 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i am reading my way through this series of delightful stories, and i am glad i found them...well-written, well paced, charming characters, good settings, frothy and sweet, with touches of poverty, crime, misery and despair, which means that they do not become too sweet or twee...the heroine is a wishfulfillment dream, and the action rapid and fun...good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We will always have Paris., 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A five star bonzer of a detective tale. Twenties Melbourne and memories of post Great War Paris. Sexy lesbians, avant garde artists, a dirty rat, and over all the gorgeous feisty Miss Fisher. Add a missing girl, gourmet food, a Chinese lover, moralistic butler and you have the recipe for a marvellous of first love and revenge. A triumph!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once you read one, you'll want them all..., 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am addicted to Kerry Greenwood books! Love the plots, style of writing and characters. Love the recipes included at the end of each book, too - bonus. Phryne Fisher is a very clever invention, with many imitations out there. None as good as Greenwood's Fisher. In my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder in Montparnasse  LP (Phryne Fisher Mysteries)
Murder in Montparnasse LP (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) by Kerry Greenwood (Paperback - 1 April 2007)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews