Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and gracious handling of church commitment
What a refereshing read! This excellent little book provides a gracious encouragement to be fully committed to church while successfully avoiding the ill-perceived arguments of some of the more extreme (e.g. contrast to John Bevere's "Undercover"). It promotes healthy respect in churches for leadership and membership and should encourage the church to really be the...
Published on 8 Jun 2007 by Scots Craig

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love your church: it's Christ's Bride
Some very interesting and challenging thoughts on what motivates commitment to church, clearly showing that Christ's love for his bride, the church, should be mirrored in our love for the church. Being so firmly based in a US, congregational, evangelical church context can make some of the suggested practical applications of this concept appear a little narrow. This is...
Published on 30 April 2006 by T. Carter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and gracious handling of church commitment, 8 Jun 2007
This review is from: Stop Dating the Church (Lifechange Books) (Hardcover)
What a refereshing read! This excellent little book provides a gracious encouragement to be fully committed to church while successfully avoiding the ill-perceived arguments of some of the more extreme (e.g. contrast to John Bevere's "Undercover"). It promotes healthy respect in churches for leadership and membership and should encourage the church to really be the community of believers we should be. Unsure about church? This book really is worth a couple of hours of your time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop Dating the Church (Lifechange Books) (Hardcover)
This is a great book. Well worth the read. If you want to understand the purpose of church and how you play your part- this is very insightful and practical. An easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all Christians, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: Stop Dating the Church (Lifechange Books) (Hardcover)
As an avid reader of Christian books, I rank this little gem of a book as one of the most helpful and inspiring. I would regard it as essential reading for all Christians and aspiring Christians. The text is non-technical, and communicates its message clearly and powerfully. It is one of those books that ends too soon and one that you cannot stop thinking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful and enlightening, 24 Sep 2010
This review is from: Stop Dating the Church (Lifechange Books) (Hardcover)
I found this book easy to read, yet challenging. Joshua Harris highlights questions and points to ponder to ensure that we are in the right church, whilst ensuring our thoughts are biblical and as God intended. He highlights what a church is for, and how to ensure a church is biblical. It was easy to read, but allowed me to rethink elements of my church experience. It enabled me to ensure my heart is in line with God's I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love your church: it's Christ's Bride, 30 April 2006
By 
T. Carter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stop Dating the Church (Lifechange Books) (Hardcover)
Some very interesting and challenging thoughts on what motivates commitment to church, clearly showing that Christ's love for his bride, the church, should be mirrored in our love for the church. Being so firmly based in a US, congregational, evangelical church context can make some of the suggested practical applications of this concept appear a little narrow. This is particularly true in the UK where we are having to learn new ways of being church that may not be geographically local, meet on Sunday or in congregations. Despite this, the author does have a gift for producing some really nice turns of phrase that will stick with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stop Dating the Church (Lifechange Books)
Stop Dating the Church (Lifechange Books) by Joshua Harris (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews