Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pema Chodron, "freeing ourselves from old habits and fears"
This book is absolutely brilliant if you are in a crisis. It explains the useful technique of pausing to allow what needs to be felt to arise spaciously, rather than suppressing or acting out. A little bible for those times when we have lost balance...she seems to have this way of bringing me home...even if it's just for a second or two, and reminding me to pause...
Published 23 months ago by WOODSNAKE

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stating the obvious
I felt this book was far too simple in its language. It was quite repetitive and it felt as though the author was trying to squeeze a book out of as few words as possible. The information provided was nothing new and should have been more insightful.
Published 14 months ago by T. Mckeon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pema Chodron, "freeing ourselves from old habits and fears", 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking the Leap: Freeing Ourselves from Old Habits and Fears (Paperback)
This book is absolutely brilliant if you are in a crisis. It explains the useful technique of pausing to allow what needs to be felt to arise spaciously, rather than suppressing or acting out. A little bible for those times when we have lost balance...she seems to have this way of bringing me home...even if it's just for a second or two, and reminding me to pause frequently throughout the day. For those times when I just can't get through the inertia to arrive serenely on my mat and meditate....when I am trying to run away from the present, this is the book. Her words are fresh, not cliched. She walks her talk and uses wry, amusing and humbling anecdotes that keep you engaged..
As effective as "The Power of Now", by Tolle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars taking the leap pema chodron, 29 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking the Leap: Freeing Ourselves from Old Habits and Fears (Paperback)
I have quite a few books and audios by Pema Chodron and "Taking the Leap" has given me an enormous insight into the practices of Buddhism and is so elegantly and clearly written that anybody could put her words into practice. She shows you the way and you either follow her teachings or not, it's as easy as that!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life-changing, 20 May 2011
This review is from: Taking the Leap: Freeing Ourselves from Old Habits and Fears (Paperback)
I have suffered from anxiety for many years, no medicines were any better than making symptoms less severe. This book has inspired me and allowed me to approach what was beneath it all. Strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and very very helpful., 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking the Leap: Freeing Ourselves from Old Habits and Fears (Paperback)
Brilliantly shows a way of getting unstuck from unhelpful habits, addictions and patterns. For anyone with the courage to follow the guidance in this book it could mean liberation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 7 Jun 2011
By 
Jayne (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking the Leap: Freeing Ourselves from Old Habits and Fears (Paperback)
Pema Chodron writes in an easy to understand practical manner. I think it is accessible for everyone and every level. Also although she is bhuddist, her writing crosses all fields and is not limited or bound by a particular faith. I like her writing very much. I have also read Start Where You Are which I want to buy for all my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and precise., 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very short book, but that in no way diminishes it. Time and again Pena Chodron reminds us the simple basic truths that can really transform how we react to situations. Nothing complicated, nothing esoteric, just clear gentle reminders of how things are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Feb 2013
By 
Ms. S. P. Burchett "Sue B" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking the Leap: Freeing Ourselves from Old Habits and Fears (Paperback)
Pema is a fantastic writer of the Dharma and I so appreciate and value her pithy teachings. Her writing is succinct and to the point and really has a huge impact on my life. Thanks Pema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comforting and encouraging, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pema Chodron writes in a way that I can relate to and easily understand. She reveals her own weaknesses and fears, uses a lot of "everyday" examples and thus makes the subject matter very accessible. This book comforts and encourages. A great gift idea for someone who is going through an upheaval and is afraid of change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pema Chodron's work has become a constant companion over the years. One of the least obtuse, most accessible spiritual writers I've come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking the Leap: Freeing Ourselves from Old Habits and Fears (Paperback)
Another great book and read by Pema Chodron, very warm and inviting with a very accesible format. Can highly recommend any of Pema's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taking the Leap: Freeing Ourselves from Old Habits and Fears
Taking the Leap: Freeing Ourselves from Old Habits and Fears by Pema Chodron (Paperback - 1 Oct 2010)
£9.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews