Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Heart, Soul, Mind & Spirit of the Samurai, 15 July 2008
By 
Terry Tozer "TJSKA.com" (Reading & Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In his truly inimitable and engaging style, Thomas presents us with an introduction and then a summary of twenty two of Japans greatest samurai, there thoughts, philosophies and life stories.

Covering a period of samurai from 1349 to 1865, we get right into the mind, spirit and true nature of what it was like to live their dangerous lives and how they ingeniously schemed to work out ways to survive and win battles with their enemies. There was rarely any quarter given in these harsh and brutal times.

It wasn't all bravery, wit and courage. These Japanese "knights" had to work out life saving strategies and tactics that would always win the day. If they survived the battle that they had lost, then they would probably have to up their lives to their lord and do the honourable thing by committing suicide to save face.

Beautifully & interestingly written by an expert in his field, you would expect nothing less from Thomas.

With over 600 years of experience all in one book, this has to be one of the best reference books for those seeking to understand what "The Way of the Warrior" is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MANUAL OF HONOUR, 1 Mar 2011
This review is from: Training the Samurai Mind: A Bushido Sourcebook (Paperback)
A superlative collection of writings from some of the most outstanding figures of early Japanese society - warlords, samurai warriors and monks. This book can be viewed as a manual on honourable conduct, with such subjects as justice, truth, courage, civility and filial piety being discussed and promoted. To be a true warrior and knight meant combining martial skill with culture (pen and sword together), to protect the weak and innocent, respect the elderly and do the right thing - all virtues equally extolled by the ancient Celts and medieval chivalry and much needed in today's society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars realy a good book about Samurai mind., 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training the Samurai Mind: A Bushido Sourcebook (Paperback)
there is a lot to learn from this warriors . Associated whet humor,fearlessness calm, decisive action .strategic thinking, and
moral .
Personal discipline and character development..
It work's fore me.
Have a good time whet the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is great!, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training the Samurai Mind: A Bushido Sourcebook (Paperback)
I Really love it! it can't be better. It is good quality and I am sure many people will like it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Training the Samurai Mind: A Bushido Sourcebook Training the Samurai Mind: A Bushido Sourcebook, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training the Samurai Mind: A Bushido Sourcebook (Paperback)
An insightful collection on Samurai thinking.

Anyone who read The Book of Five Rings, who is interested in mental strategy, should also read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 11 Jun 2013
By 
T. Nutley "The Raven" (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book by accident in a way. I thought i was buying a "how to" guide but upon reading it is a very good and informative book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every one can learn from this book!, 24 Oct 2011
This review is from: Training the Samurai Mind: A Bushido Sourcebook (Paperback)
A brilliant book that explains bushido, ways of war, politics, philosophy,science, moral and psychological development, ethics, training and more taken from writings from people who lived in the fifteenth to nineteenth century. I was totally enthralled by it and have learnt some new life lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whoa, those Samurai were nutters, 30 Oct 2009
By 
This is a very intersting book, full of essays on philosophy, politics, war strategy and social issues by various samurai spanning a few hundred years. Some of them surely were mental, while others appear to have been very moral and just. To be honest this book will only be of interst to you if you are in to Japanese history and culture. If you're looking for a manual on martial arts, as some I know who got this did, you'll be most disapointed. I loved it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Training the Samurai Mind: A Bushido Sourcebook
Training the Samurai Mind: A Bushido Sourcebook by Thomas Cleary (Paperback - 1 Sep 2009)
14.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews