Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wise and Refreshing
This is a refreshing read on the Jesus story, full of insightful gems, leading the reader and spiritual seeker into another realm of faith and wisdom. So much Jesus scholarship is devoted to historical and theological analysis. We need the scholarly analysis, but the deeper integration of our faith also requires the mystical insight and vision which Cynthia Bourgeault...
Published on 13 April 2009 by D. OMURCHU

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New Age Mish-mash
Cynthia Bourgeault seeks to create a "wisdom" Christ according to her own pet theories. Terms like the "egoic operating system","binary mind","energy centres","instantiation", "mythic" consciousness, and vibration, amongst others, reveal ideas not intrinsic to the Gospels but common to New Age thinking.

She wants a Christ who dispenses wisdom to us as...
Published 20 months ago by R. Schulz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wise and Refreshing, 13 April 2009
By 
D. OMURCHU (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wisdom Jesus: Transforming Heart and Mind - a New Perspective on Christ and His Message (Paperback)
This is a refreshing read on the Jesus story, full of insightful gems, leading the reader and spiritual seeker into another realm of faith and wisdom. So much Jesus scholarship is devoted to historical and theological analysis. We need the scholarly analysis, but the deeper integration of our faith also requires the mystical insight and vision which Cynthia Bourgeault illustrates so vividly in this inpsiring read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are we ignoring the real message of Jesus?, 13 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wisdom Jesus: Transforming Heart and Mind - a New Perspective on Christ and His Message (Paperback)
What is wrong with modern Christianity? Did Christianity get off on the wrong foot almost from its inception? That is the thesis of this thought provoking and challenging book, a fascinating new take on the Jesus Christ we thought we were familiar with.

The starting point of the book is the Gospel of Thomas, restored to us when it was found among the Nag Hammadi scrolls in the Egyptian desert in 1945. These scrolls date back to early Christianity, being at least as old as the four canonical gospels, now widely regarded as the authentic teachings of Jesus, and give us a radical new take on Jesus and the metaphysics of his teaching.
Referring also to the 1960s Syriac studies, the Qumran Dead Sea Scrolls, Celtic poetry, Chinese Jesus Sutras, the African desert fathers, and so on, the author convincingly argues that the familiar Christian creeds and doctrines put together in the fourth century get in the way of understanding Jesus as a master in ancient spiritual wisdom, who was teaching the meltdown and recasting, the transformation, of human consciousness. This is the Eastern-like wisdom path of Jesus the life giver, a Jesus who is like us, calling us to put on the mind of Christ, telling us that the Kingdom of Heaven is a metaphor for a state of consciousness, a transformed awareness, a nondual or unitive consciousness, of divine abundance. There is then no separation between God and human, between human and human, all dwelling together in mutual loving reciprocity. The Kingdom of Heaven is within us and at hand, here and now, something we awaken into, not die into. This contrasts with the Pauline image of Jesus as Savior, who died for our sins, who is different from us, and has come to atone for mankind's depravity.

Today in Western Christian tradition we rely too much on logic, and doctrine and dogma. The author challenges these Western assumptions about Christianity and Christ, as she reminds us that whilst Christians take the events surrounding the resurrection as basic to their faith, the apostles who chose to follow Jesus knew nothing of what the future held. They had to see something else in this man, and we are long overdue, she writes, for a re-evaluation of how we understand the Jesus events and our religion based thereon, and of us understanding Christianity as a spiritual contemplative tradition. Indeed we see the first hopeful signs of this transformation.

The author examines our familiar Christian stories in this new light, as radical calls for the transformation of our consciousness; indeed shows how some of them become more readily understood within this new context. Jesus came to transform our brain led egoic operating system into a non-dual unitive system that is led by the heart, an organ of spiritual perception. In this light "repent" means to "go beyond the mind", or "into the larger mind", which is somewhat different from our classic understanding of repentance.

The book's thesis is lucidly explained step by step through Parts 1 and 2, respectively the Teachings of Jesus, and the Mysteries (Incarnation, Passion, Crucifixion, and the Great Easter Fast (not a spelling error!). It concludes in Part Three with core Christian wisdom practices available to us all; Centering Prayer Meditation, Lectio Divina, Chanting and Psalmody, and the Welcoming Prayer, the last being a pathway of vibrant spiritual strength and creativity connecting us to our energetic fields. The author takes us through these practices in detail, step by step. If we are diligent with these practices she tells us that we will find, as Jesus promised for ears who could hear, that the spirit lies within each one if us, connecting with reality and with each other.

The core Christian practice of the Eucharist can then be seen as more than a cultic ritual, experienced within the lower mythic or rational ranges of consciousness (as per Ken Wilber). It can instead be recognized as being at heart a wisdom practice originating from a non dual level of consciousness, when the celebration comes into its own.

I loved this book. I have already read it twice! As a Christian who has thought much and written something myself about the possible interface between new ideas on consciousness and the spirituality within religion, especially Christianity, this book is a breath of fresh air. Mainstream Christianity is losing ground, losing sight of the real gospel message of Jesus, the Jesus who came first and foremost as a teacher of the path of inner transformation, the deep level of consciousness he was trying to tell us about, a spiritual path that is found through self-emptying kenosis.
Christianity is either destined to change and grow into a proper form to match the consciousness of the twenty first century: or it will disappear as an institution and we shall then be left face to face with the naked presence of Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb insights from mystic Christianity, 21 Feb 2009
By 
Joseph Cash (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wisdom Jesus: Transforming Heart and Mind - a New Perspective on Christ and His Message (Paperback)
This is an amazing perspective on Jesus from the context of Wisdom, which wonderfully brings out how his message is about a transformation of consciousness. Radical, yet aligned with the heart of tradition, this is one of the best books - perhaps the best - I have read on mystic Christianity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding contribution to the process of Transformation, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wisdom Jesus: Transforming Heart and Mind - a New Perspective on Christ and His Message (Paperback)
Cynthia Bourgeault is undoubtedly a scholar of the Wisdom tradition and a walker of the spiritual path. Her breadth of vision and reference material is very impressive and although scholarly in her approach, her work is accessible and rich with meaning. This book provides tools to assist in the transformation of consciousness and as such the wisdom and gems it offers are priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious Spirituality, 8 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wisdom Jesus: Transforming Heart and Mind - a New Perspective on Christ and His Message (Paperback)
I have been enormously inspired by this book. It challenges and affirms and sends me out again into a changed world where there is a God - bigger than the one I had previously perceived. Are you serious about knowing God in yourself and in others? Read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book may change your life!, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wisdom Jesus: Transforming Heart and Mind - a New Perspective on Christ and His Message (Paperback)
Cynthia Bourgeault's book 'The Wisdom Jesus' is the most refreshing spiritual book I have read in years. Bourgeault takes our traditional understanding of the life and teaching of Jesus and turns that traditional teaching on its head by interpreting the teaching of Jesus through the wisdom tradition. In doing so, this author has opened my mind to some amazing insights and encouraged me to reconsider some major aspects of the teaching of Jesus and what it means to us in our lives today. The book was recommended to me by a friend who is a theologian - I am very grateful to her!

B. Daly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wisdom of Jesus, 11 July 2011
This review is from: The Wisdom Jesus: Transforming Heart and Mind - a New Perspective on Christ and His Message (Paperback)
Outstanding book. New ground opened up (for me). a "must" for anyone thirsting to grow in the inner journey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New Age Mish-mash, 13 Dec 2012
By 
R. Schulz (Tamworth, Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wisdom Jesus: Transforming Heart and Mind - a New Perspective on Christ and His Message (Paperback)
Cynthia Bourgeault seeks to create a "wisdom" Christ according to her own pet theories. Terms like the "egoic operating system","binary mind","energy centres","instantiation", "mythic" consciousness, and vibration, amongst others, reveal ideas not intrinsic to the Gospels but common to New Age thinking.

She wants a Christ who dispenses wisdom to us as individuals. She mentions a Tantric Christ?
However the Gospels give us a clear picture of Christ and his activities which bear little resemblance to the picture invented by Bourgeault. Christ was not some guru who dealt with individuals. In the tradition of his Jewish roots he was concerned with society as a whole. It says very explicitly in the New Testament that he inaugurated a new covenant between man (plural/community) and God. He almost always preached to crowds and groups, not on a one-to-one basis like a guru. He was not a "navel gazer" but a preacher, healer and activist. His audience were first century Jews not twenty-first century intellectuals.

Bourgeault makes much of the Gospel of Thomas with its wisdom sayings. She is completely wrong when she states that it is accepted as containing the words of Jesus. Serious biblical scholars remain unconvinced.

I have no qualms about the section on centering prayer and lectio divina. These are established Christian practices, but you can download them for free off the Internet.

All in all a great disappointment. She follows in a long line of books that cobble together a so-called new understanding of Christ which turn out to be erroneous in the extreme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching my Truth, 30 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Wisdom Jesus: Transforming Heart and Mind - a New Perspective on Christ and His Message (Paperback)
This is the second copy of "The Wisdom Jesus" I have acquired. I don't want to give up my copy while I loan it to friends.
This book is the best book I have read to convey the consciousness of Jesus. There have been many recognition moments of "yes! thats what I think about Jesus" It opens up new teaching found in the Beatitudes and "The Gospel of Thomas" and the "Hard Parables" which reveal the depth and challenge of Jesus message.
It provides also a way of discipline in Centering Prayer which enables the human person to practice Jesus Way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New perspective, 18 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wisdom Jesus: Transforming Heart and Mind - a New Perspective on Christ and His Message (Paperback)
Recommended as a must read to look at this subject in a new way and not from a 'conventionally religious' point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wisdom Jesus: Transforming Heart and Mind - a New Perspective on Christ and His Message
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews