Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As described: "A Very Short Introduction"
I personally think that this is a perfect place to start getting into Ken's work. I have read plenty of books on the subject, but Ken's model really enables you to toy around in an intelligent manner with "life, God, the Universe, and Everything." If you don't get it the first time, keep on trying. If it is too basic for you, why in the first place did you buy an...
Published on 6 Dec 2008 by Hector

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment
I hadn't read any of Wilbers books before. I was excited about the hype and up for getting involved so I bought this book - it looked like a good summary.

There is some interesting information here but the book as a whole seems to be underdeveloped. I'm left thinking that it came about as a way to bring in some extra cash. I really mean that. Glossy stock...
Published on 22 Sep 2008 by A. Fowler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As described: "A Very Short Introduction", 6 Dec 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Integral Vision: A Very Short Introduction to the Revolutionary Integral Approach to Life, God, the Universe, and Everything (Paperback)
I personally think that this is a perfect place to start getting into Ken's work. I have read plenty of books on the subject, but Ken's model really enables you to toy around in an intelligent manner with "life, God, the Universe, and Everything." If you don't get it the first time, keep on trying. If it is too basic for you, why in the first place did you buy an INTRODUCTION? The book is well balanced and the presentation is of a very high level (great for visual learners). The figures are great aids for understanding some of the concepts presented. Go ahead and start spinning these ideas into your every day life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ambitious vision, quirky vocabulary, great enthusiasm, 8 May 2011
By 
This review is from: The Integral Vision: A Very Short Introduction to the Revolutionary Integral Approach to Life, God, the Universe, and Everything (Paperback)
Wilber keeps trying to sum up the big picture of human potential in ever-more succinct ways. He and other members of the Integral Institute offer big-scale insights, that transcend the usual divisions over what's true, good, or beautiful. Of course the vocabulary they come up with can sound a bit techno-jocular, as in "Once you learn AQAL--or once you download IOS into your biocomputer--then it acts as an internal checklist, automatically alerting you to areas of your own capacities that you might not be utilizing as fully as you could." Wilber speaks the language of paradigms rather than stories. Still, they are ambitious, challenging paradigms, described with unabashed enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ken Wilber Introduction, 4 Dec 2007
By 
John Farrell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Integral Vision: A Very Short Introduction to the Revolutionary Integral Approach to Life, God, the Universe, and Everything (Paperback)
I have read a few of Ken's books and found them hard going, for someone who's starting out this is a good start point. The concept of AQAL, a theory of everything and other concepts that Ken Wilber espouses are presented in a easy to read form, its not too technical and gives some practical examples and uses in the real world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, light and solid starting place, definitely, 3 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Integral Vision: A Very Short Introduction to the Revolutionary Integral Approach to Life, God, the Universe, and Everything (Paperback)
Ken Wilber is a profoundly important thinker - and this is a useful and light intro to his sophisticated work. A bit too light in places perhaps but any introduction is a fine thing, frankly.

A far more rigorous though literally also a very chatty and engaging introduction is his, A Brief History of Everything, written in dialogue form, and a phenomenal book nonetheless. The technical academic depth version of that book, is his formidable Sex Ecology and Spirituality: The Spirit of Evolution which I have yet to get to.

This book, The Integral Vision, helps you grasp the core principles and concepts and also get a feel for the Integral Life Practice (another fine book, on what to do about all of this on a personal front), but like I say be aware of the above two books too. His other book A Theory of Everything is also apparently a fine one, but gets mixed reviews, just to mention that too.

All the best in integrating your world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 22 Dec 2011
By 
A. Tsakiris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Integral Vision: A Very Short Introduction to the Revolutionary Integral Approach to Life, God, the Universe, and Everything (Paperback)
It is a real good start for those who havent been exposed to integral theory. The book is small, clear and comprehensive. Perfect introduction to this complex theory and will give the reader the basic knowledge to read harder integral books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 22 Sep 2008
By 
A. Fowler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Integral Vision: A Very Short Introduction to the Revolutionary Integral Approach to Life, God, the Universe, and Everything (Paperback)
I hadn't read any of Wilbers books before. I was excited about the hype and up for getting involved so I bought this book - it looked like a good summary.

There is some interesting information here but the book as a whole seems to be underdeveloped. I'm left thinking that it came about as a way to bring in some extra cash. I really mean that. Glossy stock photos and lots of pointless pages. Punchy looking chapters which didn't really say much. I would be ashamed to have released this book with my name.

I felt cheated having spent my money on this and definitely a bit put off. If you're looking for a brief introduction to Ken Wilbers ideas try hunting round on the internet first. Everything in this book is there. Alternatively, if you want something more it might be worth trying out another one of his books. I assume they're better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fascinatingly dull..., 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Integral Vision: A Very Short Introduction to the Revolutionary Integral Approach to Life, God, the Universe, and Everything (Paperback)
I bought this book with high expectations,hoping this might help me resolve some of the perplexities of being human and living in a material yet spiritual world.
Now, although it does do that, and in a way that is entertainingly presented (glossy images, colours, big letters at times), it is, paradoxically, boring. Its mission to reduce the mysteries of life to a matrix of interpenetrating lines, levels and quadrants left me feeling academically stimulated but deflated on every other level, as if someone tried to explain mathematically why you liked a certain painting... you'd just want them to shut up! This book had that effect on me. I am still trying to wade through to the end, so apologise for not giving a properly balanced review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldmans Critique, 18 Oct 2009
By 
F. Jordan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Integral Vision: A Very Short Introduction to the Revolutionary Integral Approach to Life, God, the Universe, and Everything (Paperback)
I`ve been a huge fan of Ken Wilbers writings,for many years. Although he seemed to get bogged down in too much system building,last 10 years,I still think he has his Finger-on-the-button,of whats wrong,and indeed what could be made right,in this Crazy,Mixed up World we live in,
Well done Ken
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews