Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bite the Hook, 4 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Don't Bite the Hook: Finding Freedom from Anger, Resentment, and Other Destructive Emotions (Audio CD)
brilliant! i rate all of pema chodrons audio lectures and would say this one might be the best.
the boddhisattvas way of life by shantidava is interpreted in a way that is clear for westerners. it has cleared up some points that before hearing this i could not understand or accept.
unlike some audio books it kept me gripped as if i were at the lecture myself.
if you want to learn about causes of anger and how to overcome it this is very helpful even if you are new to buddhism
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent simple exposition, 17 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Bite the Hook: Finding Freedom from Anger, Resentment, and Other Destructive Emotions (Audio CD)
I had already read the Santideva book on which these tapes are based, and I wondered whether this reading might offer me something that I missed when I read the book. It did indeed. I would recommend this set to anyone who has waded through the dense theoretical works of Nagarjuna and Candrakirti. Chodron's exposition is warm, friendly, clear, and very much to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 3 April 2014
By 
helen (Brittany France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Bite the Hook: Finding Freedom from Anger, Resentment, and Other Destructive Emotions (Audio CD)
I didn't even realise how much anger I was harbouring until I listened to this!
Challenging and potentially character changing. Requires some effort and self reflection, this is not background listening.
Knowledge of Buddhist teaching not essential.
Her presentation is accessible to all and may change your life and that of those who have to put up with you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something to Listen to Every Once in a While., 6 Sep 2011
By 
Brizdaz (Brisbane,Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Bite the Hook: Finding Freedom from Anger, Resentment, and Other Destructive Emotions (Audio CD)
I think anger and resentment will always be trying to bait me in this life,but at least being able to listen to this CD occasionally,I'll be reminded to think before I open my mouth and cop a hook to the jaw .-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bite the Hook, finding freedon from anger, 12 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. Caroline Collier "Caro" (Bradford England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Bite the Hook: Finding Freedom from Anger, Resentment, and Other Destructive Emotions (Audio CD)
This is a must listen to for anybody. It puts our anger and the causes of our anger into perspective. Pema Chodron has a real talent in explaining Buddhist teachings to a western audience.Which she does with humour and grace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great lecture, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Bite the Hook: Finding Freedom from Anger, Resentment, and Other Destructive Emotions (Audio CD)
Loved this lecture by Pema Chodron, it was my first experience listening to her, so it took a bit to get used to her way, but I really enjoyed the lecture. The recording on the other hand can be improved, there is no start or end of it - it just goes straight into the lecture and once the lecture ends, it goes strait to the start (on my player any way). Something simple like "this is the end of the first/second/third CD" at the end of each CD would have been really helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars life changing!, 9 May 2010
By 
Mrs. P. A. Solanki (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Bite the Hook: Finding Freedom from Anger, Resentment, and Other Destructive Emotions (Audio CD)
a wonderful addition to my favourites this has now become! Pema Chodrons voice adds to her wisdom and humour, to enable us to make sense of this very misunderstood emotion.
Thank you Pema! God bless you xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont bite the hook, 13 Dec 2012
This review is from: Don't Bite the Hook: Finding Freedom from Anger, Resentment, and Other Destructive Emotions (Audio CD)
Fabulously sane - Pema Chodron has a gift in helping life seem less serious and helping me to feel more kinship and kindness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Don't Bite the Hook: Finding Freedom from Anger, Resentment, and Other Destructive Emotions (Audio CD)
Excellent CD and good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pema rules!, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Bite the Hook: Finding Freedom from Anger, Resentment, and Other Destructive Emotions (Audio CD)
Very practical advice from a very spiritual lady, who verbalises complex ideas simply and in a way that all us nether mortals can comprehend. Worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews