Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful introduction
Inazo Nitobe (1862-1933) was a Japanese author with a unique perspective; he was an educator and a Quaker. When queried about the basis of morality in Japan, he thought long and hard on the subject. His answer was that Bushido was the Soul of Japan, and from that idea flowed this book.
In this wonderful book, Mr. Nitobe explains Bushido to the Western observer. Using...
Published on 7 Jan. 2004 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Complete insight on Japanese culture but quite pedantic
Maybe I expected something different after reading a few books on Japanese culture and samurais, such as Book of Five Rings, but Bushido proved a tad tedious to read. Don't get me wrong, it's a complete and brilliant insight on traditional Japanese culture, focusing on Bushido, or the arts of war. But the author/researcher/doctor who wrote this just quotes too many...
Published on 20 Oct. 2009 by Fernando Perez Iglesias


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful introduction, 7 Jan. 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Inazo Nitobe (1862-1933) was a Japanese author with a unique perspective; he was an educator and a Quaker. When queried about the basis of morality in Japan, he thought long and hard on the subject. His answer was that Bushido was the Soul of Japan, and from that idea flowed this book.
In this wonderful book, Mr. Nitobe explains Bushido to the Western observer. Using the Bible and other Western literature as examples of common points of reference, he explains 1) the origins and sources of Bushido, 2) its character and teachings, 3) its influence, and 4) its continuity and permanence.
So, if you are interested in Bushido in particular, or Japan in general, then I strongly recommend this book. Even though it was first published in 1905, it makes a wonderful introduction to the Western reader. I highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bit strange, 27 May 2010
By 
R. Court - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author was a Japanese living in America, and writing in English before WW1 for an American and European audience. He was also a Christian convert. The intent was apparently to make the Japanese appear likeable to The West.

A strange book therefore, but worth reading if you are interested in the history of Japan's relations with The West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bushi book, 24 Oct. 2011
This book is written by a member of a samurai family and is quite in depth but don't be put off the first time, I had to read it twice! It does of course give you an insight in to the way of bushi culture and presents some good opinions though maybe not practicable in this century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Complete insight on Japanese culture but quite pedantic, 20 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Bushido: The Soul of Japan (Shambhala Library) (Hardcover)
Maybe I expected something different after reading a few books on Japanese culture and samurais, such as Book of Five Rings, but Bushido proved a tad tedious to read. Don't get me wrong, it's a complete and brilliant insight on traditional Japanese culture, focusing on Bushido, or the arts of war. But the author/researcher/doctor who wrote this just quotes too many european writers/philosophers and takes that tiny bit of pure japanese traditional taste out of the whole book. As a result, it just sounded a little pedantic for me and I quite expected a tiny bit more of humbleness from the author's part. Taking this small glitch into account, the book provides loads of information on traditional japanese culture, basically it describes the way Japanese behave in almost every situation, ritual or class. Not too bad although makes a bit of a tedious reading, mainly because of the author's style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the samurai code, 18 Mar. 2009
By 
Mr. Robert Mander "historian" (staffs england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
having an interest for ancient warriors my attention went from the native americans to the samurai far from being bloodthirsty warriors the samurai were artists poets and well educated there code compared closely with our knights of old this code put on paper or by training how to live fight and die anybody with an interest in history should read this it may well change your perception of the ancient samurai warrior from the soul out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, well worth reading., 24 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
After reading this book I now understand more about bushido, it is good if you want to know why the Samurai acted the way they did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bushido: The Soul of Japan (Shambhala Library)
Bushido: The Soul of Japan (Shambhala Library) by Inazo Nitobe (Hardcover - 17 Nov. 2005)
£11.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews