Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Couldn't Have A Better Title
What started Natalie Goldberg off into writing was surprisingly simple for me. One day, in a bookshop, she was idly thumbing through a poetry book and there was a poem about cooking an eggplant.

There was an immediate realization within her that it is possible to write about what you would think to be a mundane subject. And that experience was the start of her...
Published on 22 Jan 2012 by norman.g

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Writing down the bones
Enjoyed this book at the start and found it inspiprational especially as I'd just been on a free wrting weekend course but after a while it seemed rather repetetive.
Published 18 months ago by Jan H


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Couldn't Have A Better Title, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within (Paperback)
What started Natalie Goldberg off into writing was surprisingly simple for me. One day, in a bookshop, she was idly thumbing through a poetry book and there was a poem about cooking an eggplant.

There was an immediate realization within her that it is possible to write about what you would think to be a mundane subject. And that experience was the start of her successful career as a writer.

In the sixty-four short chapters Natalie manages to to tell her readers about every aspect of her career development, laying down for them a valuable blue print to follow. All this in a humanly style of down-to-earth experience; humor; wins; losses; people in her life and how she learned from them.

I even bought a copy for my granddaughter at the beginning of her second year at university.

Even experienced writers will find gems of inspiring brilliance in the book's two-hundred pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Writing down the bones, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within (Paperback)
Enjoyed this book at the start and found it inspiprational especially as I'd just been on a free wrting weekend course but after a while it seemed rather repetetive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Heart Sutra of Creative Writing Books., 28 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within (Paperback)
Writing Down the Bones is one of the best creative writing books ever written. It inspires you to write by stimulating the unconscious.The book also discusses writing techniques. If ever you feel down, have writer's block, need a bit of advice- go to Goldberg and you are back up again, ready to write.Chapters are short, simple and wise. She's definitely got a place on my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Never been busier', 19 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. J. Waldron (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within (Paperback)
I have nothing but high praise for this valuable little book. It gets down to the business of writing - immediately. I would say also that every person who aspires to being a writer soon realises the myriad ways that this book can help. From the simple imperative 'Pick up the pen' to lots of ideas for poets, short story writers, novelists and 'hacks' aswell. Natalie Goldberg's style is very refreshing and one senses that Ms Goldberg
practices what she preaches, every day. A gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 5 Feb 2010
This review is from: Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within (Paperback)
I love Natalie Goldberg. She is like the inner voice that gently urges you on when you think you are totally rubbish. Just hearing about other writers angst as they try to channel words on to the page and make them sound as good as they did in your head is enough to buy this book. But there's so much more. She gives you practical advice, writing tips and she encourages you to think outside the box. I've also just finished Wild Mind, which is also worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Empty inspiration, 30 Sep 2008
By 
Angus Dunn (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within (Paperback)
I am a published writer. Years ago, when I was still struggling with words, I was recommended this book by a bookseller, who thought it was wonderful. I asked him what he himself wrote, and he looked uneasy and said, 'Nothing, yet.'
All too many readers of this book go away inspired and charged up - and then they never produce anything worthwhile. It's much more of a new-age self-help feel-good-about-yourself book.
For writers? Forget it. Try Ursula leGuin or Stephen King, both of whom REALLY understand writing from their bones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent ideas for stepping outside the writing box..don't hesitate!, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within (Paperback)
Great book. With ideas to get you writing in a new and free way. Unusual and refreshing excersises that inspire the budding or experienced writer. Would recommend this book to the novice or professional writer. It will free you up and get you out of fixed writing patterns that may hold back your untapped creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within (Paperback)
Liked the information contained and all the advice given from the author's personal experience. It has an interesting slant on deep thoughts and the subconscious, which is not in other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any aspiring writer (or not). Natalie ..., 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within (Paperback)
A must for any aspiring writer (or not). Natalie Goldberg explores simple ideas, alongside life changing concepts. Opens up your world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for everyone who wants to write stories or document qualitative research in social science, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within (Paperback)
To everyone who wants to be a writer I recommend reading this ook and doing the writing excercises Nathalie Goldberg provides. It really helped me to be able to start 'writing down the bones' while writing up my qualiative research. You don't need any excuses for writing, just write and practice. When you don't know what to write, just write some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within
Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within by Natalie Goldberg (Paperback - 27 Sep 2005)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews