Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Books for the Price of One!! - Musashi & Munenori together in one place!!
Unlike the dozens of other translations of The Book of Five Rings, this one also contains The Life-Giving Sword: Secret Teachings from the House of Shogun by Yagyu Munenori (A contemporary of Musashi). How's that for value for money?!

The Book of Five Rings (Go Rin No Sho) is a GREAT book! If you take time to properly absorb and understand ALL of its teachings...
Published on 1 July 2007 by Terry Tozer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'Pocket' huh?
My original having been pinched by a so-called mate, I thought I'd cut my losses and buy a new copy of this brilliant classic. What arrived was a tiny, incomplete version of the original - the message was lost because of all the cuts to each 'book' or chapter that makes the entire journey a book worth purchasing - I understate when I say I was annoyed...
Published 21 months ago by M. Miller


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really excellent book.
Very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Feb. 2015
By 
S. Crawford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fantastic brilliant amazing superb good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting reading a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A1 product. Recommended., 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A1 product. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing., 30 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
I read this expecting to find insight and wisdom concerning the nature of existence and found instead a manual on how to kill people with a sword. Sure, Musashi's message does have relevance to people other than martial artists but you'll have to really dig for it and probably in a translation other than this one.
I practice four different martial arts and I didn't really get anything out of it that couldn't be better taught and demonstrated in a gym. My initial response to this book is that its over rated. I'm sure if I took the time I could unearth some incredible gems that would last a life time, but I'd rather just go back to good ol' Sun Tzu instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best foot forward, 22 May 2000
By A Customer
Anyone reading this book should remember that he who finds his feet will also find his hands and in so doing will obtain the upper hand - Soi Ji
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can be read again and again, 7 Jan. 2010
By 
O. Can (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Seriously, if you're into martial arts, the east Asian culture, philosophy or even think you may like this book, you probably will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tttttttt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Five Rings (Shambhala classics library)
The Book of Five Rings (Shambhala classics library) by Miyamoto Musashi (Hardcover - 24 Jun. 2003)
Used & New from: £1.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews