Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Version
This is the American version of "The Eagle In The Sand", which came out in 2006.
I purchased it as I thought it was a new book by Simon Scarrow, not a re issue.
Have to send it back to Amazon as it was not advertised as a foreign copy published under a different title.
This is the second time in a fortnight this has happened and the book will have...
Published 11 months ago by Joe Jarvie

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars republication of book from 2006
Unwary readers should note that this is a republication of a 2006 book. Amazon should ensure that this is CLEARLY mentioned in the listing. Having waited 3 months for the book, I am very, very disappointed.
Published 11 months ago by teddownsouth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Version, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zealot (Roman Legion Novels) (Hardcover)
This is the American version of "The Eagle In The Sand", which came out in 2006.
I purchased it as I thought it was a new book by Simon Scarrow, not a re issue.
Have to send it back to Amazon as it was not advertised as a foreign copy published under a different title.
This is the second time in a fortnight this has happened and the book will have to be returned.
Shame on Amazon UK for not correctly identifying that it is not a new UK publication.
As for the book itself, another 5 starts from a great writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars republication of book from 2006, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zealot (Roman Legion Novels) (Hardcover)
Unwary readers should note that this is a republication of a 2006 book. Amazon should ensure that this is CLEARLY mentioned in the listing. Having waited 3 months for the book, I am very, very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Zealot, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zealot (Roman Legion Novels) (Hardcover)
Do not be fooled by the title. This is not a new novel from Simon Scarrow

This book was published several years ago under the title "Eagle In The Sand"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars old bok with a new title, 23 July 2014
By 
B. C. Webb "broken toy" (midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zealot (Roman Legion Novels) (Hardcover)
Very disapointed , this is not a new book but a re named "The Eagle In the Sand. I had been saving this book for a holiday read so didnt look at it when it arrived. Sat down to start reading on beach only to remember the entire story from a few years ago. Sadly too long has gone by to return it so will have to just put it away for good. Really not a good by both publisher and amazon for advertising this as a new simon scarrow book when its not. If you havent read Eagle in the Sand then you will probably enjoy it, if you have I feel for you as this is just a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a new title, 17 May 2014
By 
Mr. C. J. Nicholls (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zealot (Roman Legion Novels) (Hardcover)
Yes, it's a reprint of 'The Eagle in the Sand', but wrong to give it less than five stars. I hope the commenters have told Amazon to add 'previously published as...' - I have. No point in describing it, but I will mention that I found 'was comprised of' on page 124. Gotcha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not ours , but for the Yanks....., 10 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zealot (Roman Legion Novels) (Hardcover)
Why do they do it... I am very annoyed to find my guess thatb this may be similar.. Too damn right !!
A republication written for and destined for the Americans... Not new at all !
Amazon , what the hell am I supposed to do with it. I have the proper one in hardback on my shelf.
yours disgruntled.
PJM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Am also disappointed to find that this book has been printed in ..., 25 Sept. 2014
By 
Ali (BEDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zealot (Roman Legion Novels) (Hardcover)
Have collected all of this series of Simon Scarrow and couldn't get enough, but feel that this book does not come up to his usual standard. Am also disappointed to find that this book has been printed in the US, not like the rest of the series - printed in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars reissue, 19 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zealot (Roman Legion Novels) (Hardcover)
What a cheek - an old novel reissued under a new title. And in hardback too! I feel very cheated - this should have been made clear by Amazon yet it was advertised as a new book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 27 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Zealot (Roman Legion Novels) (Hardcover)
Good story although I can't understand two things - its out of order with his other stories and why is an American printed and published book? At the same time Simon Scarrow is a great writer and I can't wait for his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zealot (Roman Legion Novels) (Hardcover)
As expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Zealot (Roman Legion Novels)
The Zealot (Roman Legion Novels) by Simon Scarrow (Hardcover - May 2014)
Used & New from: £12.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews