Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (Forgive me) Four-King Enjoyable Read
I share the first reviewer's scoring for this book, although not his affection for the brutal end of the sport. Rather, the history of boxing (like that of its poorer cousin, pro wrestliing, and its travelling companion, the mafia) fascinates me for sociological reasons. I agree that the author has omitted to choose his preference, but he's hinted at it by listing them...
Published on 20 Oct 2008 by D. Robinson

versus
7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Four King awful
Having read the other reviews here I found Four Kings incredibly disappointing.

The writing style is both clunky and prosaic. Kimball lives in a world where ringside reporters are "enterprising scribes" and fighters "repair to their dressing quarters" after bouts - language that would suit a Victorian historical drama but sits uncomfortably when applied to the...
Published on 7 Sep 2009 by Lobo Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (Forgive me) Four-King Enjoyable Read, 20 Oct 2008
By 
D. Robinson (Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I share the first reviewer's scoring for this book, although not his affection for the brutal end of the sport. Rather, the history of boxing (like that of its poorer cousin, pro wrestliing, and its travelling companion, the mafia) fascinates me for sociological reasons. I agree that the author has omitted to choose his preference, but he's hinted at it by listing them Leonard, Hagler, Hearns, Duran and I'd guess this matches the public perception, with SRL at the head due to his show-biz image and the rest in that sequence due to the results of high-profile contests among the four. I personally favour Hagler, who first caught my attention by thrashing the evidently-overrated A. Minter, and Hearns, who upset me late on by beating the quiety capable Dennis Andries. Each line of this book drips with detail, and you could argue that the author is simply thumbing through results in Ring magazine except that asides and qualifications confirm that he's "been there". While the switching back and forth between the four angle characters can be hard to keep up with -- and the incidental biogs of supporting characters even more so, so that I had to backtrack -- this amount of detail makes the book more "liveable". The author is also frank about the seamier side of the fight game, suicidally so with some attestations. A good read for anyone who enjoys evocative newsreel of this atmospheric sport. (Dave)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent..., 4 Feb 2009
I like how honest the author is. He doesn't pander to Ray Leonard like many of authors and journalists tend to. That is not to say Ray Leonard's skill and ability are overlooked by the author. Hearns, Hagler, Duran and Leonard are all treated equally and unbiasedly by the author.
My only "complaint" (without wishing to sound like a 9 year old boy) was I would have liked more photographs of the pugilists.
I would recommend this book to anyone interested in the period of boxing, it really is excellently written, many insightful comments and completely without prejudice to any of the four legends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boxing masterpiece, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anybody who likes boxing will love the detail of this book. This era of boxing came slightly before my time but this did not stop me from reading it from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable journey into the sweet science half of fame. .., 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable.
Well written. .. Great use of language.
You can view fights at same time on you tube.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read for boxing fans, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched everyone of the fights between these great fighters so it was fantastic to read what was going on behind the scenes and in the minds of these legends, a must read book for boxing fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FOUR KINGS OF BOXING, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a fan of Hagler, Hearns, Leonard or Duran then you will find this an interesting read.

Memories of watching the bouts on tv between these 4 titans in the 80's come flooding back as soon as you look at the cover never mind thumbing through the initial pages. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading this on the tablet then watching the fights on Youtube really puts this great period in boxing into perspective
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boxing Book, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Kings: Leonard, Hagler, Hearns, Duran and the Last Great Era of Boxing (Hardcover)
This was a Christmas present for my Step Father as he used to be a boxer in his younger days. He has just started reading it and thinks it is great. I was also most impressed with the quality of the book and arrived quicker than I thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good book. Interesting read into the four kings :) Would recommend to anyone with a love for boxing! Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Kings, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great delivery and in excellent condition.
Much loved by the recipient who has hardly put it down since Christmas Day and offered to all family and friends who asked what the book is about - a must for any boxing fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6463dbc)

This product

Four Kings: Leonard, Hagler, Hearns, Duran and the Last Great Era of Boxing
Used & New from: 3.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews