Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic
This translation is without doubt the best I have come across. The power and beauty of the original Arabic verses come through wonderfully into the English; you can feel the spirtual impact of many verses from the translation alone! Yusuf Ali's mastery and command of the English language is second to none; he is a truly gifted writer who is a pleasure to read. The...
Published on 21 Jun 2002 by Mr Tea-Mole

versus
68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't get impressed with this revised version. Why...
Don't get impressed with the publicity and advertisement of Amana version of revised Quran. I have purchased other versions of Abdullah Yusuf Ali's work by other publishers including Amana USA, IPCI UK & the original publisher Sh Muhammad Ashraf of Lahore Pakistan. I have earlier printed copies of Abdullah Yusuf Ali's Quran text translation and commentary published by the...
Published on 12 Nov 2008 by Yahya


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't get impressed with this revised version. Why..., 12 Nov 2008
By 
Yahya (Torquay, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Meaning of the Holy Qur'an (Pocket Size) (Imitation Leather)
Don't get impressed with the publicity and advertisement of Amana version of revised Quran. I have purchased other versions of Abdullah Yusuf Ali's work by other publishers including Amana USA, IPCI UK & the original publisher Sh Muhammad Ashraf of Lahore Pakistan. I have earlier printed copies of Abdullah Yusuf Ali's Quran text translation and commentary published by the original publisher Sh Muhammad Ashraf of Lahore. One copy is published in 1937, second printed before 9/11 and I bought another one recently.

I am extremely disappointed that all recent versions published after 9/11 have many changes in the translation and commentary, all made in the name of modernization and revision. But unfortunately these changes are in such key topics e.g. women dress code and usury that do not do justice with the open mindedness of the Quranic Arabic text. Abdullah Yusuf Ali's commentary was already very modern, comprehensive and open minded and hence there was no reason for his commentaries to be revised or modernized by any publisher. There was no reason to add the cultural and Muslim native land's influence into these revised editions by the publishers after 9/11.

Abdullah Yusuf Ali had benefited from the Muslim historians and Quran commentators belonging to the 8th till 14th century CE and written an exceptionally versatile translation and commentary that tries to match the Superior Quranic Arabic text and its wider meaning. Unfortunately new publishers have revised and deleted the portions in the commentary where Abdullah Yusuf Ali had mentioned key facts of the historical background for better understanding of the context of verses. These versions misguide the new generation by brain washing them into cultural influence and neglecting the original historical background. These historical backgrounds mentioned by Abdullah Yusuf Ali are the context of the verses which were often revealed in response to a crisis or a question that had arisen in the community of Prophet Muhammad in Madina and Makkah at that time. Abdullah Yusuf Ali had laid the principle of extracting the understanding of Quran from these historical incidences. This was practiced by him and various early generation Muslim scholars.

These revisions are pure dishonesty with the work of this great scholar who has translated Arabic Quran into English keeping the universal nature of message in mind regarding people of different nations, cultures and faiths. The biographer of Abdullah Yusuf Ali has also mentioned this problem with revised editions. Check Wikipedia to confirm.

Abdullah Yusuf Ali died in 1952. Until his death, none of the publisher changed anything in his manuscript. I can confirm this since I have another copy of his work published by Hafner Publishing Company New York USA, just before his death. After a long search for a new published copy of Abdullah Yusuf Ali's original work, I found that there is only one original version available now published by Tahrike Tarsile Qur'an. This version is the best available and minimally adulterated version of Abdullah Yusuf Ali's work in the market. As far as I can check from the 3rd edition published in 1937 (which I have one copy), only one phrase is missing in the commentary of Chapter 33 verse 59 in note 3764 where the following phrase is missed out "The times were those of insecurity (See next verse No. 60)". Fortunately rest of the Quranic translation and commentary is free of such adulterations and I congratulate that company for keeping the originality of the work. The above mentioned omission has been reported to the company. The Tahrike Tarsile Version is available on Amazon.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 21 Jun 2002
By 
Mr Tea-Mole (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This translation is without doubt the best I have come across. The power and beauty of the original Arabic verses come through wonderfully into the English; you can feel the spirtual impact of many verses from the translation alone! Yusuf Ali's mastery and command of the English language is second to none; he is a truly gifted writer who is a pleasure to read. The notes and appendixes attached by him make this work encyclopaedic in its scope allowing the reader to delve into the meanings and significances of many different verses and symbolisms. He has knowledge of both the Western as well as Eastern traditions which he synthesises to produce a monumemtal work, encompassing enough knowledge to allow the reader to gain a comprehensive understanding of what the book is about.

All in all this is a fantastic translation of the Qur'an into English - regular contact with this book was probably the most significant thing which triggered my own spirtitual journey to God. I would recommend this book to anyone who sincerely desires to know what the Islamic faith is about and/or who seeks to understand what the message of the Qur'an is. My personal opinion is that this is THE definitive translation to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best translations of the Quran I have ever read., 28 April 1998
By A Customer
A fairly comprehensive and highly accurate translation of the Quran. This one has both the original Arabic text as well as its translation in English. It also has very informative footnotes which helps the reader understand each verse better. This version of the Quran is accepted by the majority of the muslims throughout the world. Overall, I would highly recommend this translation of the Quran to anyone interested in the religion of Islam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Holy Qur'an, 4 Sep 2009
By 
R. C. James (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Meaning of the Holy Qur'an (Pocket Size) (Imitation Leather)
As a non-Moslem seeking both religious truth, and an understanding of Islam, I have looked at numerous translations of The Holy Qur'an. This book, quite simply, is a pleasure to own, both in its production and in its content. Being a non-Arabic speaker, the English translation is superbly done compared with others, and makes the book worthy of reading, even for the non-religious reader. Similarly the commentary, and index,are of particular use for the enquiring reader, with just enough information to whet the appetite for further study. If you're looking to buy your first Qur'an, and want a primer on Islam, buy this translation - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 19 April 2008
By 
J. Bower (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Meaning of the Holy Qur'an (Pocket Size) (Imitation Leather)
This was one of the best Qur'an translations I have come across - I really liked the footnotes and Abdullah Yusuf Ali obviously had a lot of zeal and passion for translating and explaining the beauty of the ayat. I liked his footnotes, and the words he used to translate the Noble Qur'an. I also liked the layout and the clarity of the side-by-side Arabic and English text; additional transliteration may have improved it I think. I would suggest using several Qur'an translations and comparing the words used because that shows just how the meaning can be interpreted often in slightly different ways. The Qur'an exists in Arabic, anything else is just an interpretation of the meaning and English can seem sometimes just too thin to convey the original essence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE HOLY QURAN -- THE LAST TESTAMENT, 18 Dec 2009
By 
Khan (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Meaning of the Holy Qur'an (Pocket Size) (Imitation Leather)
SALAAM IF LIKE ME YOUR EYE'S ARE NOT AT THEY'RE BEST PLEASE SCROLL DOWN THE PAGE AND CHECK ITEM DESCRIPTION PROPERLY FOR SIZE, PAGES AND SO ON AS WHEN I RECIEVED MY QURAN THE PRINT WAS TOO SMALL FOR ME TO READ AND AMAZON ALSO NEVER STATED THIS IN THE TITLE THAT THIS IS A POCKET SIZE VERSION. THE SIZE OF THIS QURAN IS LENGTH 6-1/2 WIDTH 4-1/2 THICKNESS 1-1/2 INCHES AND PRINT IS VERY SMALL LUCKLY FOR ME MY DAUGHTERS HAVE BETTER EYE'S THAN ME SO THEY ARE MAKING USE OF IT WHILE I HAVE PURCHASED A LARGER PRINT.

THE HOLY QURAN 5.82. Strongest among men in enmity to the believers wilt thou find the Jews and Pagans; and nearest among them in love to the believers wilt thou find those who say, "We are Christians": because amongst these are men devoted to learning and men who have renounced the world, and they are not arrogant.

MAY ALLAH GUIDE US ALL ON THE STRAIGHT PATH SALAAM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read with an open mind, 3 Dec 2003
I have been reading this text for the past couple of months. Unlike some other translations/interpretations the arabic text is as clear as the english and both are placed side by side for easier reference. The annotated notes also help to clarify the english text further. Though this text should not be read in isolation (I would also recommend Symbols of Islam by Tanja Al Hariri-Wendel) the notes help frame context and are invaluable for a better understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good translation, 14 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Meaning of the Holy Qur'an (Pocket Size) (Imitation Leather)
The translation is a good one, and the commentary on the translation is very useful. The only criticism I have is that I have purchased this translation a number of times in Islamic bookshops and for the same price that I have paid from amazon I have got a larger size. Therefore I was disappointed to receive a pocket size book from amazon. It doesn't clearly state this in the title, which I think would be most useful, as not everyone thinks to check the dimensions at the bottom of the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to the Qu'ran, 27 Mar 2004
By A Customer
I found this book (hardback edition)an excellent introduction for anyone interested in gaining an understanding of the Qu'ran. Each page contains the english translation plus arabic text and an explanation of each passage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Magnifying God's Name, 21 Nov 2009
By 
J. Harrison (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Meaning of the Holy Qur'an (Pocket Size) (Imitation Leather)
Having ordered this volume, I am now having to find myself another version, as the print in this one is so small as to be almost unreadable! It might be good for those who want to carry a Quran with them as they go about their lives, but otherwise, I suggest you find yourself a volume in larger print. Still gets three stars, as the commentary is excellent (even for a curious Jew, like me, to follow) and brings the text to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Meaning of the Holy Qur'an (Pocket Size)
The Meaning of the Holy Qur'an (Pocket Size) by Abdullah Yusuf Ali (Imitation Leather - 18 Nov 2002)
£19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews