Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it
great game full of strategy and a great laugh to boot, a few beers and we are forming alliances back stabbing each other for a few extra castles . The secret bid system is great fun but so important to strategy too. Bewarned though this games takes hours to play especially if everyone takes too long on the orders and combat phase. Not for casual gamers but five stars for...
Published 13 months ago by Wolter

versus
2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm sure it's a good game, once you've finally finished setting it up..
So many parts, so many rules.. takes about an hour and a half to set up the board, and that's before you even start to look at most of the rules! Looks good, but me and my friends lost interest as the setting up is so tedious.
Published 13 months ago by Rhiannon15


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones the Board Game: 2nd Edition (Toy)
great game full of strategy and a great laugh to boot, a few beers and we are forming alliances back stabbing each other for a few extra castles . The secret bid system is great fun but so important to strategy too. Bewarned though this games takes hours to play especially if everyone takes too long on the orders and combat phase. Not for casual gamers but five stars for some great long evenings entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winter is Coming...., 20 Dec 2011
By 
R. Viggers (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones the Board Game: 2nd Edition (Toy)
As Game of Thrones is becoming more popular due to the HBO show, this game was my first interaction to the series before the show had even been comissioned, and the books are absolutely amazing, as a decicated long term fan this game is wicked. I used to play the first edition as this is the remodelled second.

Firstly the board is much more beautiful to look at, the cards and artwork are high quality and really add to the value of the game. The characters from the series are all there, but the images are painted and represent the book characters descriptions much more accurately, I was glad to see they didn't cheap out and insert photos from the show.

It adds elements from the orginal expansions so you do not need to purchase them to accompany the game. Siege weapons, ports and neutral states are all in place, and you can play with 6 of the great houses in Westeros, and there map borders have been slightly adjusted to balance, and the neutral zones balance the game when playing with less players.

The tokens on the board are more artistic too look at, and are much more durable. I am slightly dissappointed that the unit pieces are plastic other than wood but thats personal preference.

They board itself has been designed with a slightly new layout with the supply, and areas of influence supply are still there but a new victory track appears with enw tokens to keep on how many strongholds you have and you can keep track of your rivals, (no more sneaky placing order tokens over castles to prevent others seeing you've almost won for example!)

The 'star tokens' have been modified and add a intrestign tactic advantage. The Pillage/Raid token with a star instead of destroying two adjacent support or crown token, now can be used to destroy one fortify token. The Crown with a star can be used either to generate another power token or can be used to Muster troops in that terroity only. This makes the Raven token a vital thing to bid on make sure that you have access to as many star tokens as possible.

They also introduced a new level of randomness, Tide of Battle cards, a card that gives you a modifier to your combat strength, they vary from +3 to +0, and even a instant death (regardless of swords and castles) to one of your units if you lose the battle. In the rules it states this is an optional element to the game, but I think it works really well and reflects the nature of the world that RR Martin has create, in which any outcome of a battle is totally possible.

Only negative I have is off the box itself. The orginal had segemented sections for placing each houses tokens, it was a good storage method and it made it look very presentable while it just sat in the box, you also knew easily if you were missing tokens or had dropped on. This box has none of this and just gives you a few plastic bags to which to contain, the tokens easily slot back into the 'mesh' you popped them out of, but that is time consuming and a chore. I just used 6 resealable snadwich bags and put all tokens, cards and units of each house in one and placed it in.

For new players and new fans of the series, a handy set of references are avaialble, the front screen to hide your order tokens are beautifully covered in art work externally and then have an 'idiots guide' to what each of the tokens in the front of you do. There are also two laminated reference cards, a4 size with descriptions of basic game mechanics and what cards do etc very good when 2 new players are teaching 4 newbies.

I would highly reccomend this game to everyone, It is a serious war game, and you think your a great general, you will quickly learn otherwise and have to adjust to the tide of war.

In the Game of Thrones you either win or you die....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a great game, although not for the faint-hearted, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones the Board Game: 2nd Edition (Toy)
If you're a fan of the series and ruthlessly stabbing friends in the back, this is for you. I've written a full review here:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Diplomacy, but with that something 'more', 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones the Board Game: 2nd Edition (Toy)
I wanted this game mainly 'because Game of Thrones' mixed with my love of board game war strategy. But this game has the perfect balance of the simplicity of Diplomacy (arguably a better game than risk) but the token system for order placement allow you to save time (compared to writing all orders in Diplomacy), and the supply system arguably is more realistic, and the throne/raven/sword tracks add a little something more to the gameplay beyond troop movements. Tied in with the wall's occasional antics and you have a really simplistic, divisive game which is fun for anyone who'd enjoy Risk/Diplomacy style games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones the Board Game: 2nd Edition (Toy)
Amazing game, with a lot of details. Can't miss playing the game for more then 1 week! Though the game take long that the indicated hours, but you enjoy it anyway! Love it! Very Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones the Board Game: 2nd Edition (Toy)
This is an exceptionally good game. Enjoyed by all who have played it. The game is well made and absorbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's big, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones the Board Game: 2nd Edition (Toy)
This game is huge, the board is almost too big for my table and there are a lot of pieces. However my teenager and his friends now organise Game of Thrones game nights, this has been a complete success, worth every penny, I admit I haven't played it but have heard nothing but praise. The four stars is just because I now have to go and buy a bigger dining table!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful game., 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones the Board Game: 2nd Edition (Toy)
This game is amazing. I absolutely love it. It is both fun and strategic. You really need to think. But it also gets your heart beating and blood flowing. I seriously thought I was about to have a heartattack near the end, that's how envolved I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones the Board Game: 2nd Edition (Toy)
Once you get your head around the order of each turn, this board game is great.

It always finishes after 10 rounds so will not take more than a few hours to play.

I suggest you get some meadium size resealable bags and split up the pieces, cards and tiles into a bag for each of the houses they belong to for a quicker start each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones the Board Game: 2nd Edition (Toy)
This game was a gift for my nephew's birthday. He was so happy to have it! And his game is the only in his class, he is so proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Game of Thrones the Board Game: 2nd Edition
35.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews