Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best game I've ever played!
Let me start by saying that I am a monster GOT fan and a strategy board game geek to boot so this game was the perfect gift for me. This is a living card game, which means there are new cards that get published which add to the variety of gameplay with new characters and rules, keeping it fresh for years to come, but everything you need to start with comes in this box and...
Published 14 months ago by King Chimps

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissappointed
I am a huge Game of Thrones fan and therefore I wanted to buy this game. I read several reviews on Amazon which promised an amazing game. The reviews on Boardgamegeek which I usually trust went in a different direction but hey, it is still Game of Thrones. What possibly can go wrong? Well... First of the game comes in a huge promising box but after opening it this game...
Published 7 months ago by Andreas Moeller


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best game I've ever played!, 6 April 2014
By 
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: The Card Game Core Set (Toy)
Let me start by saying that I am a monster GOT fan and a strategy board game geek to boot so this game was the perfect gift for me. This is a living card game, which means there are new cards that get published which add to the variety of gameplay with new characters and rules, keeping it fresh for years to come, but everything you need to start with comes in this box and indeed you must have this box to play any of the other expansions sets.

This core box includes four of the six main Houses (Baratheon, Lannister, Stark and Targaryen) and the board itself which is only used for three or more players and just adds another dimension to what is effectively a card game. It's no exaggeration to say that the design and concept of this game is genius. The aim is to collect 15 power token via 3 principal means of engagement - Military attack, intrigue or power attacks. As in the books, there are many paths to victory and this is reflected by the three means of obtaining tokens. This game is exceptionally amazing because unlike many board/card games its also just as much fun two player.

The characters have traits and strengths that reflect their characters in the book, for instance Little Finger is devious and earns you gold, whereas the Stark armies are pure military might and Arya is elusive! Finding the balance is the key to victory. There are also various event, location and item cards that are great fun, turning a seemingly total victory to a crushing defeat in the flip of a card! I've heard gasps of horror when the ambush card is played! The blend of tactics and luck is perfect in this core box set.

This game can be enjoyed on many levels that develop as you appreciate the complexities of the game. Straight out the box, you can pick one of the four House decks and get stuck in. The different strengths of the Houses soon become apparent and it's a blast to play. Any fan of GOT will not fail to love the beautiful artwork and lore of these cards, you can tell they are made with love. There are also neutral cards, such as the Night's Watch, who any House can play, so even if you choose the Starks the bulk of your deck may be comprised of neutral cards if you so choose, adding an element of surprise.

The only cards you need to separate are the plot cards which should (unless House specific) be set aside so players can choose the plots in turn before they start. The plot cards dictate unique terms of play for each round as well as determining the amount of gold you get each round and who goes first (important!). The plot cards you choose and the order you play them is up to you and are fundamental in any victorious strategy. After players simultaneously flip their plot cards the action begins in turn. You can only make one type of attack each round, and once a character has been engaged (knelt) he/she cannot be used again that phase - even to defend! So if you use Ned Stark to attack your mum and lop Joffrey's head off, you can't use Ned as a defender should your sister send dragons your way on her turn! There are token penalties should you not be able to offer any resistance but this game is not about simply killing character cards who are more or less powerful than you. Tactics are central. Taking risks at the right time, second guessing your foes, holding back key event cards for when you'll need them the most. You can have up to three of any one card in your deck, which must be a minimum of 60 cards, increasing the chances of bringing it into your hand when you need it, but duplicate cards only serve as 'body guards' and not clones of the same characters in play - so the blend of your deck is vital.

In truth it will take many months to fully master the rules of this game, but that's half the fun! Learning the nuances of this game together is great fun in itself, and once you've mastered them you'll realise the true potential of this game as it becomes a true test of skill when you customise your own decks and play on the strengths of your House and the weakness of your foes. This game gets uber geeky for those that want it to but for casual players it's also great fun. Diplomacy, betrayal, shock, laughter, tactics with a splash of randomness! So go ahead, invest in your pleasure now! This game can also be played with up to six players if you buy two more expansion packs for Greyjoy and Martell which add a totally new angle!

There is also a good video online on how to play this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: The Card Game Core Set (Toy)
The game is really good to play but you need to buy the Greyjoy and Martell expansions if you want the complete experience with all the houses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Card Game of Thrones, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: The Card Game Core Set (Toy)
I gave this Item a 5* review due to the engaging gameplay experience and the brilliant card designs.

I found the gameplay and general premise of this game rather easy to pick up, which is contrary to some opinions that the game is over convoluted, I found that after investing a short time reading the instructions we were ready to play and we hit the ground running, there may of been a few brief pauses whilst we consulted the rules, but it did not detract from this enthralling game - infact I for one find the intricacies the thing that make this game so appealing.

I would recommend this game to people who enjoy games of strategy but who also enjoy sudden turns of fortune to keep them guessing. This game is also a must for people who like me crave more from the world of A Song of Ice and Fire by GRRM, with its extracts from the books and all of the characters we know and love on top knotch quality (illustrated) card deseigns.

We will be playing this time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: The Card Game Core Set (Toy)
If you enjoyed the Pokemon card game as a kid, you'll love this - it's the adult equivalent and awesome to play. The rulebook is quite big though and even now my friends and I have to consult forums, or Google the cards to find out what they mean. I think they are made that way so you can argue, discuss and come to your own conclusions sometimes. My favourite deck is Lannister, because of all the money, but I've still yet to win my first game because my friends betray me as they enjoy seeing me enraged and get mad.

If you like Game of Thrones and you like playing games you probably already have this. Just a warning also, some of the booster packs contain awesome cards so if you're playing anyone with a custom deck, you won't stand a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid game, perfect for GOT/SOIAF fans, 13 Feb. 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: The Card Game Core Set (Toy)
I got this Living Card Game as a Christmas and "it was love at first sight".

The Core set box includes 4 decks for each of the most important houses in Westeros (the place where most of Song of Ice and Fire stories take place): Baratheon, Lannister, Stark and Targaryen.

Each of these houses should use its strenghts in order to succeed the different challenges (military, intrigue and power/political). As you need to change the strategy depending on the decks, rivals and games the fun could last for ages.

Additionally, the art in most of the cards is really gorgeous so it's a perfect way to improve the experience of reading the books and/or watching the Game of Thrones TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good game, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: The Card Game Core Set (Toy)
This is a great game but beware this is not for light play. if you are looking for something light hearted and simple this is not the game for you. some people have rated this game low due to their own mistake in not understanding what they are purchasing.

For a card game this is great and I am a relative newbie to these type of games. Understanding the game play and rules can be quite hard to start with specially if you haven't played any similar sort of games before, but once you get going it starts to make sense and becomes easier to remember so don't be daunted by the manual (which definitely can better written and organised). Some of the cards can be unclear in their use however there is plenty of resources online to help you.

one other thing to consider is that most long time players recommend you buy 2 of the base sets so you have two sets of each houses deck. this will help when you buy the expansions as they include 3 sets of each house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice complicated game, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: The Card Game Core Set (Toy)
The game is very fun, it takes a little beat to become confident with the rules, but it is very enjoyable.
Maybe it would be better with few less rules and/or a few less exceptions: there are so many things to remember that takes a couple of matches to get into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great game for 4 or 3 players, wouldnt recommend 2 player, 15 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: The Card Game Core Set (Toy)
Love this game, so many strategies and backstabbing opportunities just need three or four fairly regular players, its not the same game with two players, literally on half the fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for 2 players, 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: The Card Game Core Set (Toy)
Great fun, takes a little while to understand all the details but afterwards definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, 4 Oct. 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: The Card Game Core Set (Toy)
great game make sure you know someone who would be willing to play though and there are lots of fiddly parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Game of Thrones: The Card Game Core Set
£25.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews