Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to ASOIAF series, 25 Dec 2005
By 
Stuart Ingram "martel79" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of George R.R. Martin's a Song of Ice and Fire: 1 (Hardcover)
From start to finish, this book is simply an essential part of any Martin fan's collection.
The quality of the pictures, Winterfell eg, are amazing and help bring the events on page to life. Showing the lineage of the Targaeryn line also helped put a lot of events in order.
I was initially sceptical about this book, thinking it was just an easy way for someone to get some money out of the series but I heartily recommend it to all fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bringing a Song of Ice and Fire to life., 21 Feb 2007
This review is from: The Art of George R.R. Martin's a Song of Ice and Fire: 1 (Hardcover)
I've never bought an "Art of" book before, but as "A Song of Ice and Fire" is my favourite fantasy series I thought I'd take the plunge. What do you get? Well - a 11" x 9"" book consisting of almost 200 pages with about 300 pictures by 30 odd different artists. There is a wide range of image sizes (from 1/8 page to double page spreads) and, because so many different artists worked on the pictures, a wide range of styles. Anything from pencil drawings to oil colours, some detailed, some "cartoony". All printed on good quality paper.

The pictures are organised by areas within Westeros. So a particular location or character is easy to find, although an index would have been better. All the major (and most of the minor) characters, and all the major landmarks are represented. Although Cersie and Tyrion Lannister have a mere single picture apiece. Strange - as they are two of the most important characters plotwise.

The quality of the pictures varies, although the majority are very good. Most of the characters were pretty much as I had imagined them (with the startling exception of Cersie Lannister). But where this book really comes into it's own is it's depiction of the various castles and forts. I kept dipping into this book while reading A Storm of Swords: Blood and Gold, and it really heightened what was an already enjoyable experience.

Hope this review helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful companion to a great Fantasy series, 1 Sep 2006
By 
A. Gothorp - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of George R.R. Martin's a Song of Ice and Fire: 1 (Hardcover)
If you are a fan of the Song of Ice and Fire series then you must buy this. A really high quality collection of fantasy art inspired by the imagination of George RR Martin. I was lucky enough to get a copy signed by Martin and I will treasure it. A book to keep and refer back to as you enjoy the ongoing saga. If you are looking for a superb present for a fan of Martin's books then look no further...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is the reprint not the copy pictured!!!!!, 22 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Art of George R.R. Martin's a Song of Ice and Fire: 1 (Hardcover)
Just so there are no more misunderstandings, this is the 2010 reprinted edition, not the original copy pictured. It doesn't contain the portraits of all the targareyan kings as stated in other reviews. Amazon need to sort out their advertising. Book is still good, but would have been better if these portraits hadn't been removed for the new edition. By the way, they aren't in the new second volume either. Could have been better, four stars instead of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 14 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: The Art of George R.R. Martin's a Song of Ice and Fire: 1 (Hardcover)
I kept this book and the follow-up book 2 close at hand whilst reading the first four books of the Song of Ice and Fire series. I found myself referring to them many times. Having a few different artists depict a specific character helps you put together a good image of the character yourself. With the Game of Thrones book already released as a TV series and the next one soon to be released at the time of me writing this, I suppose that one can quickly fall into the trap of relying on the TV characters for character reference when reading the book. Although they did a great job selecting characters, it is nice to see other interpretations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Stark Sibs, 18 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Art of George R.R. Martin's a Song of Ice and Fire: 1 (Hardcover)
Would have really liked the Stark siblings together, and a few main characters were missed completely. Otherwise? Brilliant. Cover to cover. Even if I did have to look up the titles on occasion to work out who was being depicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1st class, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of George R.R. Martin's a Song of Ice and Fire: 1 (Hardcover)
This is a very good representation of the story characters, though I feel a couple of the artists have not read what they are trying to put down in art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of George R.R. Martin's a Song of Ice and Fire: 1
The Art of George R.R. Martin's a Song of Ice and Fire: 1 by George R R Martin (Hardcover - 21 Oct 2005)
Used & New from: 29.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews