Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
71
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Toy|Change
Price:£18.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2007
The aim is to build citadels by collecting cards representing different buildings, each worth a varying amount of points. The first to buy eight buildings is the winner. To do this, you choose from a variety of characters each round, each with their own special abilities. For instance, you could choose an architect to quickly build up your citadel, a warlord to destroy other player's buildings, or an assassin to kill off another character and prevent another player having a go. Of course, assassinating or stealing is not that easy as you don't know exactly which player will have which character but you can guess based on the player's current situation and their tactical needs as a result. Each round, you can have different characters which can dramatically change your style of play that round.
There's both strategy and luck involved. It may look complicated to start with, but the game can easily be learned in under 10 minutes. And with the luck element, and the fact that you can go about winning the game in various ways, it's by no way certain that an experienced player will win.
Citadels is for up to 8 players (9 with the expansion) and the game takes a different form for less than four players as you can choose two characters each every round. This is quite significant since if one of your characters is assasinated, you're not sitting doing nothing that round.
The average game lasts 30 to 60 mins and never feels it will get bogged down for hours on end.
Citadels comes in a small box with attractive, well illustrated cards and plastic gold coins. So it's easy to take around and doesn't involved elaborate arrange of pieces.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
this is a great imaginative fantasy game which anyone over 7/8 will enjoy but adults can really get into it and many can play. It is easy to get into and lasts about 60-90 minutes. It does what it says on the tin basically- the bluffing and strategy is fun and intriguing. A game that needs thought and a good alternative to electronics.
33 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2009
I bought this for my 10 year old son, who got the hang of it without any trouble. However, it's complex enough to keep adults amused, and there are variations on the game (the character cards you choose to play with)that make each game different, and flexible for 2- many players.For an easily portable card game with money (gold coins),it's ingenious and has as much interest as board games. If yours is a competitive family, you'll find this game addictive and vindictive
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
What to say about Citadels? it's such a good game.

It also works very well as a 2 player game. A lot of games that say minimum 2 players don't really work so well as 2 player games but this is a whole different game for 2 players. I really enjoy playing this game in a group or just 2 players.

It lasts about an hour, which is also great as a lot of smaller games are quite short. I find the broad range of styles of playing fun to watch. This game includes the expansion which is great, the expansion is a lot of fun but once again it's a whole different game again! completely changes your tactics and style of play.

I have lots of games, I really enjoy them, but this game I think is a real gem. Easy to learn, hard to master, and a completely different experience depending how many people are playing. If you like games like mascarade, love letters, coup etc. then don't even think about whether you will enjoy this game, you will love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
I bought this game as a christmas gift for my sister. I'd read good reviews online and watched a few video playthroughs and thought it looked great.

The game is really easy to pick up - if you've ever played love letter, it's a little bit like that. We played it multiple times over the holidays, and we still play it occasionally when we feel like this kind of game.

The size is good and it's easy to carry with you when going to a friends house, or if you want to play at a coffee shop/pub. I'm thinking of buying another copy for myself as it's a great game to have in your collection. Would highly recommend anyone who's thinking of buying this to go for it. It's a game you'll play more than once for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
A great game. If you think board games are still all about Monopoly and Cluedo, get this.
The game is for up to eight players. It is compact to stick in a handbag and plays for between an hour and two hours.
The cards and pieces are really lovely to look at and the gameplay is clever and easy to pick up.

The object of the game is to build your city of eight buildings first. Each turn a player will be a different role with different powers to help build a building or destroy another players buildings. There is plenty of tactics involved for deciding which role to take and how to use it. When a player builds a city of eight buildings, all the players tot up how much their building are worth in points and whoever has the most wins. There are bonus points for being the first to reach eight buildings. There are bonus points for a spread of buildings across different types.

Best game I've played in years and one that you will keep going back to just like Monopoly in your youth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2011
This is a good fun game that works well with 2 people (and more) that is a good step up from "normal games" or cards etc. but not too difficult to pick up. The expansion pack helps make it possible to have a different game every time.
An excellent buy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2016
This is dull if there are only two of you, best to play with four or more players. Don't overthink it, don't strategise, just play it, it works better that way. Fun, safe to play with any age group, try not to take it too seriously and it's a good card game. Looks complicated but it isn't really. Even dotty aunts can manage this. As recommended to me by the 23 year old personnel guy at work and it's definitely worth a go. One of the less expensive games too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2011
I bought this game after my sister showed it to me six years ago. I took to it right away and our family, as they grew up and were introduced to it learned to love it as well. In its basic form the game is exceptionally well balanced and there isn't one dominant strategy that will allow you to win. This is because the interaction between the players is critical during the phase in which you select your role for the turn. The expansion cards are good, but I recommend that you only use one role expansion card at a time; otherwise the game becomes unbalanced.

Not only is the game play excellent, but the theme fits well and the art, while quirky, really appeals to me.

Overall an exceptional game and one that we will continue to play for many years, in fact we've played it so much we will soon need to purchase another copy as it is almost worn out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
I purchased Citadels on a whim and it turned out be an excellent purchase.

The premise of the game is very simple, the game ends once eight district have been created by one or more players.
Each turn the player has the choice take two gold or draw two cards and keep one.

Each turn the players get the opportunity to select a character card which conveys to them special abilities for the duration of their turn. The players can then use these abilities to assist their own building endeavours or hinder those of the other players.

The game can be played with as few as three where each player draws two character cards, the play length for three is around a half hour, more players extend the playing time. But the game really comes into its own with a larger group where people attempt to second guess each other.

I'd highly recommend this game, it's a great group and family game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£12.14

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.