Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun card game.
The aim is to build citadels by collecting cards representing different buildings, each worth a varying amount of points. The first to buy eight buildings is the winner. To do this, you choose from a variety of characters each round, each with their own special abilities. For instance, you could choose an architect to quickly build up your citadel, a warlord to destroy...
Published on 19 July 2007 by AK Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars overpriced
While the game comes in a neat little box and the cards are all very nicely illustrated, the overall game itself is a little disapointing. I got this game as an easy-going card game to play with my wife in a 2 player game or when friends come round. On the one hand, the game is very simple and easy to learn. Its also quick to play, being able to play a full game to...
Published 2 months ago by Gamer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun card game., 19 July 2007
By 
AK Jones (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Citadels: A Game of Medieval Cities, Nobles, and Intrigue (Toy)
The aim is to build citadels by collecting cards representing different buildings, each worth a varying amount of points. The first to buy eight buildings is the winner. To do this, you choose from a variety of characters each round, each with their own special abilities. For instance, you could choose an architect to quickly build up your citadel, a warlord to destroy other player's buildings, or an assassin to kill off another character and prevent another player having a go. Of course, assassinating or stealing is not that easy as you don't know exactly which player will have which character but you can guess based on the player's current situation and their tactical needs as a result. Each round, you can have different characters which can dramatically change your style of play that round.
There's both strategy and luck involved. It may look complicated to start with, but the game can easily be learned in under 10 minutes. And with the luck element, and the fact that you can go about winning the game in various ways, it's by no way certain that an experienced player will win.
Citadels is for up to 8 players (9 with the expansion) and the game takes a different form for less than four players as you can choose two characters each every round. This is quite significant since if one of your characters is assasinated, you're not sitting doing nothing that round.
The average game lasts 30 to 60 mins and never feels it will get bogged down for hours on end.
Citadels comes in a small box with attractive, well illustrated cards and plastic gold coins. So it's easy to take around and doesn't involved elaborate arrange of pieces.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars winner for old and young, 6 Jan 2010
By 
H. Rees "harv" (bristol uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Citadels: A Game of Medieval Cities, Nobles, and Intrigue (Toy)
this is a great imaginative fantasy game which anyone over 7/8 will enjoy but adults can really get into it and many can play. It is easy to get into and lasts about 60-90 minutes. It does what it says on the tin basically- the bluffing and strategy is fun and intriguing. A game that needs thought and a good alternative to electronics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vindictive!, 9 Oct 2009
By 
AlisonH (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Citadels: A Game of Medieval Cities, Nobles, and Intrigue (Toy)
I bought this for my 10 year old son, who got the hang of it without any trouble. However, it's complex enough to keep adults amused, and there are variations on the game (the character cards you choose to play with)that make each game different, and flexible for 2- many players.For an easily portable card game with money (gold coins),it's ingenious and has as much interest as board games. If yours is a competitive family, you'll find this game addictive and vindictive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slightly more interesting game!, 27 July 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Citadels: A Game of Medieval Cities, Nobles, and Intrigue (Toy)
This is a good fun game that works well with 2 people (and more) that is a good step up from "normal games" or cards etc. but not too difficult to pick up. The expansion pack helps make it possible to have a different game every time.
An excellent buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, love it!, 2 July 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Citadels: A Game of Medieval Cities, Nobles, and Intrigue (Toy)
Absolutely love this game and would recommend to anyone. Comes in a little box which means its very portable. Played with a few different people and all have enjoyed it. Great artwork too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most played games in our house, 17 July 2011
By 
J. Furlong - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Citadels: A Game of Medieval Cities, Nobles, and Intrigue (Toy)
I bought this game after my sister showed it to me six years ago. I took to it right away and our family, as they grew up and were introduced to it learned to love it as well. In its basic form the game is exceptionally well balanced and there isn't one dominant strategy that will allow you to win. This is because the interaction between the players is critical during the phase in which you select your role for the turn. The expansion cards are good, but I recommend that you only use one role expansion card at a time; otherwise the game becomes unbalanced.

Not only is the game play excellent, but the theme fits well and the art, while quirky, really appeals to me.

Overall an exceptional game and one that we will continue to play for many years, in fact we've played it so much we will soon need to purchase another copy as it is almost worn out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game with numerous permutations, 28 Aug 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Citadels: A Game of Medieval Cities, Nobles, and Intrigue (Toy)
This game is simple to learn but produces multiple permutations and has great flexibility. The 2-3 player version brings the need to anticipate opponents' moves while the fuller 6-7 player variation puts a premium on avoiding the attacks of others. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Citadels review, 21 Sep 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Citadels: A Game of Medieval Cities, Nobles, and Intrigue (Toy)
I will begin with saying that I have played this game only a few times. Every time someone asks what will we play, I suggest Citadels, because it's easy to learn, doesn't have a large ruleset and is playable from 2 to 7 people, and is an amazing experience when you do play with 7 people.

This copy includes the expansion, with 10 bonus characters and 18 bonus districts! This makes it that this game has a huge variety! You can manage to play so many different combinations and choose which of the characters you actually want to play, keep out or improve (Assasin -> Witch, etc.)

The rulebook is simple to follow and the game is easy to grasp, you might not win alot (only one winner out of 7 people), but the game is so much fun to play.
In my opinion a must buy if you love RP styled card games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars citadels, 25 Nov 2011
By 
Anastasios (Athens,Greece) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Citadels: A Game of Medieval Cities, Nobles, and Intrigue (Toy)
i general i like it much. is a boardgame that works very well with 4,5,6(that's what i played)people. it's enough competitive and gives a lot of fun in a company.facts of randomness never affected the game and neither the result, so i could say it's a balanced game.
i like also very much the illustrations,the cards quality and the components.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but can be long, 2 Sep 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Citadels: A Game of Medieval Cities, Nobles, and Intrigue (Toy)
The game is nice and the mechanisms are quite originals but the basic version at 8 districts can take hours (killed or stolen characters, destroyed district...), especially when 7 or 8 persons are playing so maybe it is a good idea to reduce it to 6 or 7. Or you just need to have a lot of time in the evening...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Citadels: A Game of Medieval Cities, Nobles, and Intrigue
16.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews