Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little bead boxes
How delightful. As a beader I thought this looked like a bit of a challenge and it proved correct. A wonderful book and an absolute joy. I found making some of the boxes a bit tricky but a lot of fun and if you are patient and persist you will produce a little gem of a box. Quite, Quite beautiful.
Published on 18 July 2007 by Mrs. Marilyn Bennett

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Little Bead Boxes
The designs in this book by Julia Pretl are beautiful. What a shame it was to find lots of misprints and word map mistakes. I am an experienced beader, but I did struggle with some of the instructions. I am working through the book and have made five up till now, but am still finding mistakes in the wording. When I got onto Ms. Pretl's website, it did admit that there...
Published on 11 Mar 2012 by vonnie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little bead boxes, 18 July 2007
By 
Mrs. Marilyn Bennett "www.spiritual-pursuits.com" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Bead Boxes: 12 Miniature Boxes Built with Beads (Paperback)
How delightful. As a beader I thought this looked like a bit of a challenge and it proved correct. A wonderful book and an absolute joy. I found making some of the boxes a bit tricky but a lot of fun and if you are patient and persist you will produce a little gem of a box. Quite, Quite beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great find!, 24 Jun 2009
This review is from: Little Bead Boxes: 12 Miniature Boxes Built with Beads (Paperback)
I stumbled upon this book as I was looking for knitting books (the author has a book on bead knitted bags as well) and was immediately intrigued. I decided to give it a try even though I had limited experience with beads and no experience with the peyote stitch. I've just finished my first box and I am thrilled. The box came together quite well and I'm excited to start my next one. I found the word maps to be easy to follow, the illustratons helpful and the finished product brilliant. The author's website address is provided and it's a good idea to go there for her errata sheet that provides corrections to a few errors in the word patterns. All in all a gem of a book that provides patterns to make the 12 boxes as well as guidance for creating boxes with your own your designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 31 Mar 2009
By 
A. Sheehy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Bead Boxes: 12 Miniature Boxes Built with Beads (Paperback)
This book is excellent. Explains very well how to make the boxes... you don't have to have done beading before, but probably helps as I had already done a little. The only thing is it takes ages to make one... but they are beautiful at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boxing clever!, 9 Nov 2009
By 
E. R. Quick "'handmade'" (Northumberland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Bead Boxes: 12 Miniature Boxes Built with Beads (Paperback)
This attractive soft-cover book gives clear instructions for making small,self-supporting,beadwork boxes, ie. they are not worked over any foundation material. The colour illustrations and working diagrams are excellent. The designs come in many shapes and styles, including triangular and hexagonal. The wide pages allow the book to remain open reasonably well, but as with all instruction books that get handled a lot, a spiral binding and stiffer cover would have been more practical. For beadworkers looking for inspirational ways of moving on, this book does the trick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Bead Boxes, 14 May 2009
By 
E. J. Dennis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Bead Boxes: 12 Miniature Boxes Built with Beads (Paperback)
An instruction manual that is not only inspiring in its ideas, but clear in its presentation - I could not wait to get started on the projects! Only snag . . . the delica beads required are not easy to source locally, and mail order is both expensive and colour representation poor - be warned the American colour codes in the book are not the same as ours! However, it is worth getting around this problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bead Boxes-worthwhile but not for the beginner, 6 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Bead Boxes: 12 Miniature Boxes Built with Beads (Paperback)
I am new to beading and have looked at this book. I love the designs. When I am more proficient I shall have a go. The designs would make lovely gifts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Boxes, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Bead Boxes: 12 Miniature Boxes Built with Beads (Paperback)
I love Peote bead work and these little boxes are a treat, tried with larger beads to get the hang of things, now ready to start with the Delica beads
Thank you for a lovely book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Bead Boxes: 12 Miniature Boxes Built with Beads (Paperback)
5 stars for efficiency the book arrived within 3 days. Well done will use this firm again and will recommend them to my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect transaction, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Bead Boxes: 12 Miniature Boxes Built with Beads (Paperback)
All went as well as it could go with this order. No delay, item arrived in condition as described and I have no reason for complaint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Bead Boxes: 12 Miniature Boxes Built with Beads (Paperback)
Perfect condition. As advertised arrived with the specified time excellent book well recommended for bearers seeking something more challenging very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Bead Boxes: 12 Miniature Boxes Built with Beads
Little Bead Boxes: 12 Miniature Boxes Built with Beads by Julia S. Pretl (Paperback - 1 Oct 2006)
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews