Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars13
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2004
Be prepared to laugh when you read "Chasing Horses". The premise for the book is exceptional - a group of women who call themselves WAR and the vigilante group that evolves therefrom. Parallel to this is the background story with Ricki, a woman in her late 30's who is dealing with a divorce - although she still loves her ex, teenage son, and hot relationship with a sexy homicide detective while trying to stay in the background with WAR, which just doesn't happen.
Fantastic characters, snappy dialogue, great pace, hilarious situations, sensual romance. What more can you ask for?
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2002
"Chasing Horses" by Christy Tillery French is, without a doubt, one of the funniest books I've ever read. This first novel by Ms. French has become one of my favorite books.
"Chasing Horses" deals with a woman, Ricki England, who has been married for 20 years and feels as if she has lost sense of who she is along the way. After divorcing, she makes a vow to live life to its fullest and boy does she ever. Ricki is brassy and full of spunk and keeps getting herself into trouble. The scenes with WAR are hilarious, as are the ones between Ricki and her best friend, Charlie. The love scenes go from sizzling to downright naughty, with laughter thrown in.
Ms. French deals with issues facing women approaching middle-age in a sensitive yet funny manner. We see how Ricki deals with an abusive boyfriend, her soon-to-be married husband with whom she is still in love, her friend Charlie's aggressive attitude, her feelings about aging, plus a whole multitude of issues facing women.
But this book is not just for women, it is definitely not a chick book. I read where one producer (a man) liked it so well and wrote a great review about it at Amazon US.
If you want a fast-paced read that will bring laughter and tears, read this book. Excellent!
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2004
"Chasing Horses" is totally different from French's "Wayne's Dead" and "Chasing Demons", which deal with dark subjects. This one's a light-hearted look at not-so-funny issues and situations. Ricki England is hilarious, a woman willing to take on the world, and her relationship with her best friend, Charlie, is fun to read. I like their little spats over language.
Want something fun, something that will make you laugh and maybe feel better? This is the book for you.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2002
"Chasing Horses" by Christy Tillery French is, without a doubt, one of the funniest books I've ever read. But that's not all. French leads the reader through a variety of emotions with this book - it's sometimes very sad, sometimes very humorous, and sometimes sizzles with romance, not to mention the suspenseful twist thrown in. Ricki England, the protagonist, is brassy, full of spunk, and a woman on a mission to find herself who along the way manages to keep getting herself into very funny situations. She also deals with the aftermath of a divorce, an abusive boyfriend, as well as issues facing women in their late 30's. This book is not just a "chick book" - I recommend it to anyone who wants to have a good laugh, good cry, or maybe just get in the mood!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2004
Chasing Horses is one of the best romantic-comedy reads I have had the pleasure of reading! The characters are well-developed and the plot is very entertaining. You should add this fun book to your new list of MUST READS for 2004! You will not be disappointed!
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2004
I began reading French when our book club chose "Wayne's Dead" to read anddiscuss, then "Chasing Demons". I've read her books out of order, but themore I read, the more impressed I am. She's the first author I've seen whocan switch genres each time out and still maintain her own unique writingstyle. I have enjoyed each of her books for different reasons. Both "TheBodyguard" and "Chasing Horses" have a lot of comedy, with zany charactersand situations. They're both hilarious.
I'm recommending to my club that we read more from Ms. French. It's greatto read a book that makes you laugh and leaves you with a good feeling -and this is one of those books.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2002
"Chasing Horses" by Christy Tillery French offers readers romance, suspense, and humor. But that's not all. The dialogue is fresh, the characters are full of spunk, and the story is fast-paced. There are places you'll laugh, others where you'll cry, and still others where you'll get mad as the story takes you on a phase in the protagonist's life as she tries to deal with a divorce, issues facing women in their late 30's, and simply trying to find her place in the world. The romance goes from downright sizzling to hilarious. The interplay between the characters is so real. The humor is the best! This one's a must-read!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2003
As a book reviewer for a large newspaper, it goes without saying that I love to read. "Chasing Horses" by Christy Tillery French is, for the most part, one very humorous book. However, there are places the reader will cry, commiserate, and become angry as Ricki deals with various situations which occur in her life. French's style is much like Evanovich or Grafton with Southern overtones. Her characters are wacky, her dialogue funny and rich, and the situations the WAR core group involve themselves with hilarious. Better than a lot of those bestsellers out there, I recommend this book.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2002
"Chasing Horses" by gifted first time author Christy French is an amazing story that will have the reader glued to their seats! Fast-pace action, suspense, romance and just the right mix of humor make 'Chasing Horses' A MUST READ!
The characters are very believable, the dialogue moves along nicely and the plot is amazing!
Buy the book and see for yourself what makes this "The MUST READ Romantic/Comedy Of The Year!"
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2004
I am such a CTF fan! I have read all 3 of her GREAT books but this one is my favorite. Don't get me wrong I loved all three; Chasing Horses, Wayne's Dead, Chasing Deamons, but Chasing Horses made me laugh so hard my sides hurt...YES IT WAS THAT ENTERTAINING!!! Buy this one and see for yourself!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.