Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And really it can!
A deceptively simple little book that is a reminder that conversation is an ART. We can develop this art and it is essential that we do. This book is empowering and inspiring.
Published on 2 Sept. 2007 by Judy Barber

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Meh
A pleasant enough slim book, which calls for people to have more and better conversations, including a bit about the history of conversation and conversations in different situations (e.g. work, family). However it contains precious little in terms of concrete examples or practical advice (other than a list of 36 rather rarefied questions to discuss at the end), and I...
Published 1 month ago by Ben Finn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And really it can!, 2 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Conversation: How Talk Can Change Our Lives (Hardcover)
A deceptively simple little book that is a reminder that conversation is an ART. We can develop this art and it is essential that we do. This book is empowering and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for poor conversationalists, 20 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Conversation: How Talk Can Change Our Lives (Hardcover)
If you're not very good at conversation (like myself) buy this book. I've found a great way to start a conversation is to talk to people about conversation. It's not a how to book but a great piece of thinking simply written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Meh, 1 Feb. 2015
By 
Ben Finn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conversation: How Talk Can Change Our Lives (Hardcover)
A pleasant enough slim book, which calls for people to have more and better conversations, including a bit about the history of conversation and conversations in different situations (e.g. work, family). However it contains precious little in terms of concrete examples or practical advice (other than a list of 36 rather rarefied questions to discuss at the end), and I can't say I really learned anything much from it.

It includes various slightly odd semi-abstract paintings by the author with titles alluding to conversation, though I think other illustrations would have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conversation: How Talk Can Change Our Lives (Hardcover)
This was a really interesting book. It brings one's awareness to the content of conversation. It was also poetically written. I would certainly recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A little dissappointed, 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conversation: How Talk Can Change Our Lives (Hardcover)
Little real content other than saying conversation is good , slightly repetitive and no insight into how to improve one's conversations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conversation: How Talk Can Change Our Lives
Conversation: How Talk Can Change Our Lives by Theodore Zeldin (Hardcover - 1 Jan. 2007)
Used & New from: £0.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews