Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Polyamory and Ethical Non-Monogamy
This book redefines what it is to love and be loved, to enjoy sex and to be sexual. It explores the history of non-monogamy as well as the beliefs that have convinced people that to love more than one person at a time is somehow wrong. It shows that love need not be exclusive and controlling, but instead how it can be inclusive and liberating. The title is an attempt to...
Published on 29 April 2009 by Polyamory Org Uk

versus
22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Swinging than Poly
Like many, I bought this book after people recommended it as a good book for learning about polyamory. It's been sitting in my garage since that first painful read through. I learned more from website FAQs and friends than I ever did from this book.

If what you're interested in is swinging, or a poly relationship where people are regularly finding casual...
Published on 4 Jan 2011 by S. McLaughlin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Polyamory and Ethical Non-Monogamy, 29 April 2009
This review is from: The Ethical Slut: A Roadmap for Relationship Pioneers (Paperback)
This book redefines what it is to love and be loved, to enjoy sex and to be sexual. It explores the history of non-monogamy as well as the beliefs that have convinced people that to love more than one person at a time is somehow wrong. It shows that love need not be exclusive and controlling, but instead how it can be inclusive and liberating. The title is an attempt to take back the term 'slut' and use it to describe someone who enjoys and explores his or her own sexuality in a consensual and conscious way. I have read several books on polyamory and new relationship forms and this is clearly the one that has been most influential, not just to me, but to the whole poly community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A more honest way of relationships, 30 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Ethical Slut: A Roadmap for Relationship Pioneers (Paperback)
I bought this book because my therapist gave it to me to read as I have been exploring the world of poly relationships. Serial monogamy has not fulfilled me, I also have gender issues and sexuality issues so this book has been the beginning of a new journey for me. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and instructive, 8 May 2009
By 
Ac fry who eh (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ethical Slut: A Roadmap for Relationship Pioneers (Paperback)
I bought this after having come across it years ago, when I thought the idea of polyamory (open relationships) was a good one in theory but far too daunting for me. I came to a stage in my life where I felt it would be worth trying, and the book has been very inspiring and helpful. It shows it can be done - the authors have lived long and happy lives without being monogamous and also raised children. Some of the exercises are a bit "california" but some, like "yes no maybe", are useful if you can force yourself to approach it with an open mind and not crack up with embarrassment. But that's the hard work that needs to be done to open up relationships - breaking through the embarrassment and fear and awkwardness; and the book's straighforwardness makes that easier. A great book for anyone who's ever felt tbey could love more than one person at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Swinging than Poly, 4 Jan 2011
By 
S. McLaughlin "Fluff Dragon" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ethical Slut: A Roadmap for Relationship Pioneers (Paperback)
Like many, I bought this book after people recommended it as a good book for learning about polyamory. It's been sitting in my garage since that first painful read through. I learned more from website FAQs and friends than I ever did from this book.

If what you're interested in is swinging, or a poly relationship where people are regularly finding casual partners, this book may well be very useful for you, and don't let me put you off buying it if that's what you're looking for.

If you're looking for a book that will give you information and guidance on closed or more family based, or long term poly, this book is not it. You will get this book recommended to you regardless of what your situation is anyway. My girlfriend and her partners are generally in a semi-closed situation, and this book couldn't be less applicable for us.

My recommendation would be to start with Xeromag's Poly FAQ and go from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great to dip into: a compassionate guide to alternative love., 27 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Ethical Slut: A Roadmap for Relationship Pioneers (Paperback)
I like it, and it's useful for people who are new to poly, open relationships, alternative lifestyles etc. The chapter on jealousy is particularly insightful.

I started reading it, but didn't finish as I found the style a bit saccharin. It is, however, totally accessible and shows consideration to all genders, orientations, self-definitions and lifestyles. Good to dip into when having a polywobble.

It's also brilliant to have on your shelf when your date comes round as the literary equivalent of pampas grass on your front drive.
When spotted, it almost always prompts discussion, whether that's, 'Gosh, what's this?' or, 'Aaaaah, so you're sex-positive too. Yay.' A good intro for newbies on consent, compassion and sharing the lurve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for anyone with an open mind, 7 Sep 2010
By 
Daniel Brockman (Sandviken, Gästrikland Sweden) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ethical Slut: A Roadmap for Relationship Pioneers (Paperback)
This book is useful whether or not you are interested in polyamory, because much of it is just about human relationships, communication, jealousy, and a range of other things that are important to polyamory but by no means specific to it. I warmly recommend it to anyone with an open mind. On the other hand, if you *are* interested in polyamory, then this book is simply a must-read. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars all this free love notion. iI bought it more of a curious ..., 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ethical Slut: A Roadmap for Relationship Pioneers (Paperback)
A bit hippyish for my taste, all this free love notion. iI bought it more of a curious connoisseur rather than an active member of the open relationship community. However if polyamory is your thing, has useful hand on advice, and even if you're not, deals with personal and relationship issues for growth in a well thought out manner form two authors who have been round the bock and have lots of stories and examples to share. The whole concept of turning the word 'slut' into a positive term is endearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was a good starting point for an introduction into the poly model ..., 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ethical Slut: A Roadmap for Relationship Pioneers (Paperback)
This book was quite challenging to read as it is a long way from what could be considered the "norm". It was a good starting point for an introduction into the poly model of relationships espoused. Would recommend it even that it was a little autobiographical and learning how to negotiate the subject matter from a book can only ever be a road map. I suspect the reality is somewhat more difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excelent, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ethical Slut (Kindle Edition)
Some very good points made. Many of the problems faced in a more complex relationship could easily be distilled even for a monogamous couple so there os much to be learned for anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing book, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ethical Slut: A Roadmap for Relationship Pioneers (Paperback)
I love books which are pain in the lower regions, which challenge the old rusty dogmas, and look at life afresh.

The Ethical Slut is written by very intelligent authors in every sense of the word, mature emotionally and free intellectually. Their world is a better world.

How I wish I read this book 20 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ethical Slut: A Roadmap for Relationship Pioneers
The Ethical Slut: A Roadmap for Relationship Pioneers by Janet W. Hardy (Paperback - 15 April 2009)
£14.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews