Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin - but don't overlook real hands-on
This two-book set is the new course text for the Cisco 640-802 CCNA exam, which supersedes the previous CCNA exam from November 2007.

To compare, having had a look at the two-book set for the previous exam (640-801), Wendell Odom and his team have done a pretty good job in updating this in light of new topics.

What's in the box? Similar to the old...
Published on 11 Nov 2007 by Darren H.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CCNA
This library is a worthy investment but i found as starting out material very hard to get to grips with (plus not being a bookworm either...) i found once i covered some of the material via other books and some CBT then this made alot more sense.

Verdict:
Like i said, a good buy and something you will need throughout your cisco career as their is not much...
Published on 8 Jan 2009 by Mr. Mark R. Chennell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin - but don't overlook real hands-on, 11 Nov 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CCNA Official Exam Certification Library (CCNA Exam 640-802) (Exam Certification Guide) (Hardcover)
This two-book set is the new course text for the Cisco 640-802 CCNA exam, which supersedes the previous CCNA exam from November 2007.

To compare, having had a look at the two-book set for the previous exam (640-801), Wendell Odom and his team have done a pretty good job in updating this in light of new topics.

What's in the box? Similar to the old exam library, you get two books and two CDs but this time around you also get a DVD. The DVD gives content you can probably get from YouTube, but is worth a look. The two CDs provide an exam tool and 200 sample exam-tool questions, plus an electronic version of the book text. The exam tool is fine, but won't replace using the real thing when troubleshooting. But it is nice that it is included to get you going. Note that this is not the complete set of questions and the full BOSON exam question set is available to download from BOSON and is an extra cost.

As ICDN1 and ICDN2 have been re-worked, the text of volume one now refers to CCENT as the "replacement" to the ICND1 exam and has been revised accordingly. Initial review of the two books is that they are easier to read and digest. As before, they include the usual "foundation topics" and test questions at the start and end of each chapter. Don't be fooled that these test questions will enable a pass if you just know these - you will need to use the text and the real thing if you've not done this before. The previous "open ended" questions are included but have not been revised from the earlier 640-801 library set.

The stated aim is that the new exam is to focus more on design and troubleshooting rather than just facts. This is probably a good thing in that today's networks are more complex. The previous exam probably didn't prepare for the real world where wireless, VPNs and ADSL are in use.

Will these get you through the exam? Given the small industry of self-test and self-help books for CCNA, it suggests that this is but one of the tools needed to pass the exam. The honest view is that as the exam has got harder over the years, the only way to really know is to use the real thing. The two books and additional material are good, but unless it can be learnt verbatim, then you will need to use the texts with real hardware/software.

That said, this is the standard to which other CCNA books are measured.

Five stars for the revised content, but dropping one star on the basis that hands-on experience to back this up will help newcomers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CCNA, 8 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. Mark R. Chennell (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CCNA Official Exam Certification Library (CCNA Exam 640-802) (Exam Certification Guide) (Hardcover)
This library is a worthy investment but i found as starting out material very hard to get to grips with (plus not being a bookworm either...) i found once i covered some of the material via other books and some CBT then this made alot more sense.

Verdict:
Like i said, a good buy and something you will need throughout your cisco career as their is not much these books don't cover for the CCNA exam, alot of info in alot of detail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YOU NEED THIS INFORMATION, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CCNA Official Exam Certification Library (CCNA Exam 640-802) (Exam Certification Guide) (Hardcover)
Honestly id download everything you need, Being an audio/Visual learner i find reading large sections of information difficult, Personally CBT nuggets worked a treat ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CCNA Official Exam Certification Library (CCNA Exam 640-802) (Exam Certification Guide) (Hardcover)
Great Book - does the job and you break it down and read lowly do digest the massive amount of information in it. 1 Chapter a week will do fine to master this book, and do a lot of review or use the SQ3R Study Method.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars didnt even read it but i still passed., 23 May 2012
By 
Mr. A. Shah "A Shah" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CCNA Official Exam Certification Library (CCNA Exam 640-802) (Exam Certification Guide) (Hardcover)
maybe its just me, but i found this book dry and hard to get into. there are online video sources that are great to learn ccna, and i heard todd lammels is a good book, i found this book hard to read, have never read it deeply and i still passed my ccna.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Exam Simulator, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: CCNA Official Exam Certification Library (CCNA Exam 640-802) (Exam Certification Guide) (Hardcover)
I mainly bought these books for the Boson exam simulator, as we have a training course in work to cover the required subjects for the CCNA. I must say that just for the exam simulator, these books are worth the buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great study material, 30 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CCNA Official Exam Certification Library (CCNA Exam 640-802) (Exam Certification Guide) (Hardcover)
Starts from the basics first then progress to more in depth learning of Cisco networks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 9 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CCNA Official Exam Certification Library (CCNA Exam 640-802) (Exam Certification Guide) (Hardcover)
I've bought this book because I found in some other website a very good recommendation about this book. But I don't think CCNA is really a DO IT YOURSELF sort of thing unless you are really really good in networking. and This is good book and it comes with 4 CD's.I think It's good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!!!, 12 Jan 2008
By 
J. Wadsworth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CCNA Official Exam Certification Library (CCNA Exam 640-802) (Exam Certification Guide) (Hardcover)
Using just this book along with exam braindumps found online I passed the 640-802 exam. The practice exams offer hundreds of practise questions along with simulations. Very good investment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish - Get Todd Lammle's book instead, 4 Nov 2009
By 
B. Burrows (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CCNA Official Exam Certification Library (CCNA Exam 640-802) (Exam Certification Guide) (Hardcover)
These two books are TERRIBLE. I thought that being "official" Cisco books these would be really good, sadly they are not. If your doing the two step path to CCNA they MIGHT work better for you but if your just doing the single exam they are really bad, you have to jump back and forth between each book as the first contains the more basic level stuff (for the first exam) and the second contains the more detailed stuff (for the second exam), if your just doing the one exam the result is continual jumping between books. I would thoroughly recommend Todd Lammle's CCNA book instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CCNA Official Exam Certification Library (CCNA Exam 640-802) (Exam Certification Guide)
Used & New from: 3.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews