Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to how picture elements work together
"Picture This" is so far the most understandable explanation I have read about the effects and interplay of form, colour and other elements of pictures. Bang spends half of the book making the cover picture and explaining how she made the various elements work together to create the atmosphere and feeling she wanted. Another in-depth example focusing on some other...
Published 13 months ago by Pasi Välkkynen

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Einstein would be proud
The book taught me a new skill: how to compose a picture. It took me about 90 mins to read at a slow, careful pace. Rating it is hard. I knocked off one star because I would have liked more examples. Having said that, I think I've learnt what I need to learn just from the one example. Einstein apparently said his objective was to make things as simple as possible, but no...
Published 14 months ago by David


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Einstein would be proud, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture This: How Pictures Work (Paperback)
The book taught me a new skill: how to compose a picture. It took me about 90 mins to read at a slow, careful pace. Rating it is hard. I knocked off one star because I would have liked more examples. Having said that, I think I've learnt what I need to learn just from the one example. Einstein apparently said his objective was to make things as simple as possible, but no simpler. This book is the epitome of that. It's brilliant, and I sort of feel guilty for knocking off that star. I had to knock a star off for the book itself because it fell apart at the seams. It's the way it's made: poorly glued at the spine. I probably could have returned it, but I wanted to keep it. I know that I'm going to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to how picture elements work together, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture This: How Pictures Work (Paperback)
"Picture This" is so far the most understandable explanation I have read about the effects and interplay of form, colour and other elements of pictures. Bang spends half of the book making the cover picture and explaining how she made the various elements work together to create the atmosphere and feeling she wanted. Another in-depth example focusing on some other emotion (this one was about being scary and invoking fear) would have been very helpful. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in how to make their pictures stronger and more emotion-invoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, 28 Nov. 2012
By 
Ms Fern Wood "Fern Wood" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture This: How Pictures Work (Paperback)
This has to be one of the best blind buys I have ever done. The book is so simple and yet says so much. Very useful for my thesis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Better as a teaching aid for key stage 2/3 learning, rather than a resource for the progressing artist., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture This: How Pictures Work (Paperback)
I had great expectations of this book, which unfortunately none were met. I was after a book which would explain basics in composition; colour, dynamics, geometrics, and positioning. This book seems more of an elaborated college project, using geometric shapes to interpret the classic tale of little red riding hood. The whole book is based on the picture featured on it's cover, explaining each step of the process. If other pieces of art were also included it may have had more to offer in tuition.
In saying all of this, I would recommend this book as a tool of reference for students in school. It covers some of the basic principles of composition, ideal for key stage 3 learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture This: How Pictures Work (Paperback)
An easy read. Helpful to me as a student.
Good ideas to help students engage with their work and think about why they are doing that line, choosing that colour, that shape, that composition. Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very worth while., 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture This: How Pictures Work (Paperback)
Very well written work. The principles of composition are explained in an organic way.
The author describes her thought process when making the Cover of the book itself, which is quite funny.
The explanations are not only intuitive, but also takes in quite a bit of expertise from the authors psychology collegue.

The lenght of the book was shorter than expected, but the content made up for it nicely. The principles of composition are actually pretty simple, and the book does a god job of explaining them in such few pages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 22 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture This: How Pictures Work (Paperback)
Really clear examples of how shapes and colours can be used to invoke feeling and emotions. Thoroughly recommended to anyone with an interest in composition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A small but valuable jewel., 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture This: How Pictures Work (Paperback)
So simple and so effective. A great buy for anyone interested in composition, whether it is applied on painting, on 3d, photography or film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Dec. 2013
By 
D. Halfpenny "David" (Derby UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture This: How Pictures Work (Paperback)
Molly Bang introduces the underlying Structure of visual art in a concise way that will appeal to artists all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really nice book!, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture This: How Pictures Work (Paperback)
Simple but fundamental pictures help you realize how a composition works. Really nice book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Picture This: How Pictures Work
Picture This: How Pictures Work by Molly Bang (Paperback - 23 Aug. 2001)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews