Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CCNA Companion Guide 1&2
I followed this course prior to the combination of the manual, but it is even better value and the information is easy to follow and invaluable
Published on 17 Sep 2005 by welshy

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS OUT OF DATE
This is the old version of the course, and therefore no longer accurate or valid for the new course.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Network-Fundamentals-Exploration-Companion-Networking/dp/1587132087

this is the item you need.
Published on 5 Mar 2008 by Mr. M. Holbrook-Bull


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CCNA Companion Guide 1&2, 17 Sep 2005
This review is from: CCNA 1 and 2: Companion Guide (Cisco Networking Academy Program) (Hardcover)
I followed this course prior to the combination of the manual, but it is even better value and the information is easy to follow and invaluable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You need this book for CCNA, but it wont get you the certficate you need on its own!, 18 July 2007
By 
This review is from: CCNA 1 and 2: Companion Guide (Cisco Networking Academy Program) (Hardcover)
I'm CCNA certified and now working towards my CCNP. I started learning CCNA a while ago and I bought this book (CCNA 1 & 2) along with the CCNA 3 & 4 companions. Basically if you want to pass the 640-801 exam you need these books. Read them cover to cover! They are very well presented, and the clarity is fantastic. It gives you the material you need without you thinking 'oh my god this information is too much!!' Buy these books, they're worth their weight in gold. The only thing is that although these books teach you all you need to know, i.e. everything in the exam is covered in these books, you need to do practise test. There are many good sites on the internet that help, and believe me there are some fantastic ones!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saves hours staring at the screen!!!, 19 April 2005
By 
Darren Evans (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CCNA 1 and 2: Companion Guide (Cisco Networking Academy Program) (Hardcover)
Before I bought this book, I was a bit worried about the reviews of previous editions, which apparently didn't follow the cisco online curricullum very closely.
So I studied the first few chapters page by page with the online version, and didn't find any omissions - now I hardly bother looking at the online version!
It pretty much has everything you find online and is a brilliant resource to study from. It does come with a companion cd that has interactive media on it, but to be honest I didn't use it - I did those online.
The companion cd also has a practise final, but that was useless because it covered semesters 1+2 together and though I tried to change the option, once the test started it reverted back to questions from both semesters.
Other than that, if you use it to study for individual module tests, I would highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars University Students - Grab a bargain, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Yay!! (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CCNA 1 and 2: Companion Guide (Cisco Networking Academy Program) (Hardcover)
University professors advised me to grap a bargain and buy CCNA companian guides instead of standard textbooks, as they're now so cheap compared to the latest editions from Cisco.

Cisco have revamped their exam structure - but the CCNA level 1/2 and CCNA level 3/4 are superb for university courses in Bsc (Hons) Computing, IT Security and Networking.

So for all cash strapped uni students - here's a tip for gaining a first in your computing degree. Use these books!! Certainly the Uni professors have seen the gap in the market - gets their students the best tuition at cut price.

So far I've had A16's in all Networking assignment/exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daunting, 24 May 2007
By 
Mr. P. Graham "Peter433" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CCNA 1 and 2: Companion Guide (Cisco Networking Academy Program) (Hardcover)
When you first see this book you may feel rather daunted by it as it is a pretty thick book, but when you actually start to read it you get the feeling the book has been simplified but no so much so that it makes you feel daft, its a very handy book and an interesting read i would recommened how ever that you have a slight knowledge of Networking or PC's before hand as some sections may just cover a topic with out explaininmg its self properly, its good read if your into the subject maybe a bit of knowledge needed, 5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS OUT OF DATE, 5 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. M. Holbrook-Bull (Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CCNA 1 and 2: Companion Guide (Cisco Networking Academy Program) (Hardcover)
This is the old version of the course, and therefore no longer accurate or valid for the new course.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Network-Fundamentals-Exploration-Companion-Networking/dp/1587132087

this is the item you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CCNA 1 and 2: Companion Guide (Cisco Networking Academy Program), 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CCNA 1 and 2: Companion Guide (Cisco Networking Academy Program) (Hardcover)
Cisco is offering the CCNA (Cisco Certified Network Associate Program) professional qualification and therefore they have published the appropriate companions for their on-line curriculum.
CCNA 3 and 4: Companion Guide is a useful companion that has helped me a lot during semesters 3 and 4, as has CCNA 1 and 2: Companion Guide also done, since I am a CCNA student at the moment. The book is well written, in an easy-to-understand way and they try to make things as easy and understandable as they can be.

But, there are huge differences between the book and the on-line curriculum and that shows the poor effort from Cisco in devising the whole new version 3 of the CCNA. The book introduces during semester 3 concepts that will be taugth in semester 4 and this goes on!!!

I am not at all dissapointed that I bought the book, but I am a bit dissapointed in Cisco! They could do a better job. After all, they want to call themselves leaders, right???

Buy the book and try no to pay too much attention to some stuff that you will immediately recognise as "alien"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 11 Jun 2011
This review is from: CCNA 1 and 2: Companion Guide (Cisco Networking Academy Program) (Hardcover)
Would recommend this book to anyone doing a CCNA. As you would expect, it has all the information you need to pass the exams, but can be quite hard reading at times. Aside from that, very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Sep 2009
By 
J. Nan (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CCNA 1 and 2: Companion Guide (Cisco Networking Academy Program) (Hardcover)
Excellent service, book arrived much faster than estimated time (US -> Europe) and looked fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely helpful for Networking, Forensic and specialist IT students ..., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CCNA 1 and 2: Companion Guide (Cisco Networking Academy Program) (Hardcover)
Extremely helpful for Networking, Forensic and specialist IT students.
Consists of all the fundamentals you usually cover in the first year of a Computing degree course.

Delivery was also quick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CCNA 1 and 2: Companion Guide (Cisco Networking Academy Program)
CCNA 1 and 2: Companion Guide (Cisco Networking Academy Program) by Cisco Systems Inc. (Hardcover - 29 July 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews