Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Cyber Book
I recommend this book to anyone interested in Cyber crime to read it. It will give you insight to the growing and trend of cyber crime.
Published on 18 Jan 2012 by Augustine

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but poor in Kindle format
This book was recommended by award-winning IT journalist Davey Winder, whose columns I have read for many years. It's very interesting but the writing was a little disappointing, it jumped around a lot in an attempt to keep things moving but just felt disjointed.

What bugged me most about the Kindle edition was the formatting. I imagine that the paper version...
Published on 30 Nov 2010 by G. Cooper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but poor in Kindle format, 30 Nov 2010
By 
G. Cooper "coops456" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book was recommended by award-winning IT journalist Davey Winder, whose columns I have read for many years. It's very interesting but the writing was a little disappointing, it jumped around a lot in an attempt to keep things moving but just felt disjointed.

What bugged me most about the Kindle edition was the formatting. I imagine that the paper version includes footnotes within the text - the Kindle version does not. I got about 80% through and found the book ended and the remainder was made up of notes. Without much in the way of context, these were of minimal value.

Worse still was the index - it's just a list of entries without page numbers or hyperlinks. Completely useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Cyber Book, 18 Jan 2012
This review is from: Fatal System Error (Hardcover)
I recommend this book to anyone interested in Cyber crime to read it. It will give you insight to the growing and trend of cyber crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but a bit of a plod, 17 Feb 2011
By 
Duncan Howorth (Chester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fatal System Error (Hardcover)
Hmm - well it wasn't what I was expecting. It was a rather pedestrian tale - but nonetheless interesting for being a factual account. I was very interested as all the anti-hacker stuff was rather close to home - but the various strands of the story didn't quite gel that well. They tended to leap about a bit from time period to time period. All very frustrating as I guess the real world is - in reality months go by and nothing happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, disturbing report on online crime, 3 May 2010
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fatal System Error (Hardcover)
The Internet has become the ultimate mob hangout, a dangerous venue where U.S. Mafiosi, vicious Russian gang members and illegal hackers from many nations, especially from Eastern Europe, ply their dirty deeds. Cybersecurity reporter Joseph Menn examines cybercrime, exposing the bad guys while telling exciting stories about two intrepid investigators - Barrett Lyon, a U.S.-based "white hat" security hacker, and Andy Crocker, a British cybersecurity agent - who have successfully waged war against cybercriminals. Menn's book is both fascinating and disturbing, with its discussion of "zombie armies" of computers, and its exotically named online desperadoes, like CumbaJohnny. getAbstract recommends this gripping saga to those who want to protect themselves from cybercrime. This outstanding book's only deficiency is, ironically, its remarkable, overwhelming abundance of complex detail. If you think you need a cast list, tech manual and dictionary of arcane online terms, never mind; just hang on for a scary, revealing ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read., 14 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal System Error (Hardcover)
Well written . Hope it isnt true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal System Error (Hardcover)
Great response and as new book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars most boring book ever, 9 Aug 2014
By 
Lucas Amos (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal System Error (Paperback)
Such an incredibly boring book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 8 Nov 2010
By 
A. Limont-brown (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal System Error (Hardcover)
Have just finished reading Fatal System Error, and all I can say is, "Brilliant".

From the beginning dicussion of DDOS attacks, to Mafia run gambling websites all the way through to credit card fraud and even military decisions, this book will change the way you think about the internet, and the dynamics of politics and the world.

Menn has a way of drawing you in and making you feel like you are there, a part of the team investigating high profile hackers, or being courted by playboy gambling website owners.

If you enjoyed "The Cuckoo's Egg" (Stoll) then this book takes it up a notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for an it security professional, 4 April 2010
By 
Niels Norgaard "book & it maven" (Copenhagen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fatal System Error (Hardcover)
As an it professional interested in security and a FT reader I find the book to a certain degree interesting, that counts for 4-stars.
But actually I had expected more, and I am not advertising it to my peers (but anyhow to some of my personal friends, in that the book gives insight in the cyber securty issue).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fatal System Error
Fatal System Error by Joseph Menn (Hardcover - 4 Feb 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews